Customer Reviews for

First Comes Marriage (Huxtable Series)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Surprised I liked this book!

This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so...
This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so difficult that it deters you from reading. I guess this was necessary to set the scene and time in history. I was surprised that I liked this series(yes,I've read them all). It's very different from anything else I've been reading. I actually started with what I would consider the last book in the series, Seducing an Angel, Then went back and read the other books.

posted by kbest on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another great series for Mary Balogh

Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that th...
Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that the Viscount brings to the residents. At the dance the only lady that he deigns to dance with, is the Widow Dew, one of the Huxtable sisters, but not the pretty one, the very plain one.

The days following he disrupts the Huxtable household by informing them that Stephen, the youngest, is now the Earl of Merton and that they need to move to Warren Hall where Stephen, until his majority, will be trained to take over his responsibilities. Elliott realizes that the sisters will need to be introduced to London society and since there is no one who can sponsor them that they know, he will need to marry sooner than he planned to provide that service. He agrees to marry Vanessa Dew so that she can serve as her sisters' sponsor. Their love story unfolds.

First, let me say that I love Mary Balogh's books. Se writes love stories in a series surrounding a family. She is one of my favorite authors, and this is her newest, the first in the Huxtable Series. I've read 20+ of her books and this is the first one that really disappointed me. I kept waiting for the plot to develop and it never got there. There was no conflict, no mystery just a simple love story that really did have much of a bite. These are the first two Hero/heroine/ that didn't grab me. I just hope that the series is better.

posted by CheliD on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprised I liked this book!

    This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so difficult that it deters you from reading. I guess this was necessary to set the scene and time in history. I was surprised that I liked this series(yes,I've read them all). It's very different from anything else I've been reading. I actually started with what I would consider the last book in the series, Seducing an Angel, Then went back and read the other books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great series for Mary Balogh

    Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that the Viscount brings to the residents. At the dance the only lady that he deigns to dance with, is the Widow Dew, one of the Huxtable sisters, but not the pretty one, the very plain one.

    The days following he disrupts the Huxtable household by informing them that Stephen, the youngest, is now the Earl of Merton and that they need to move to Warren Hall where Stephen, until his majority, will be trained to take over his responsibilities. Elliott realizes that the sisters will need to be introduced to London society and since there is no one who can sponsor them that they know, he will need to marry sooner than he planned to provide that service. He agrees to marry Vanessa Dew so that she can serve as her sisters' sponsor. Their love story unfolds.

    First, let me say that I love Mary Balogh's books. Se writes love stories in a series surrounding a family. She is one of my favorite authors, and this is her newest, the first in the Huxtable Series. I've read 20+ of her books and this is the first one that really disappointed me. I kept waiting for the plot to develop and it never got there. There was no conflict, no mystery just a simple love story that really did have much of a bite. These are the first two Hero/heroine/ that didn't grab me. I just hope that the series is better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Always a great read.

    Her books have the perfect balance of fun and romance. Her heroines are always a bit wicked underneath and her heroes dashing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Not a Great Start

    This is my least favorite book in the series. The heroine is one of the most annoying female leads every written. Her pertetual happiness and optimism became ironically irritating, and made her seem almost simpleminded. and add to that all her deep rooted insecurites and need for reassurance. I felt that the author was trying to balance her oft repeated lack of good look with her having a great personality, but it was not convincing. Having her repeatedly tell the hero "I know how to make a man happy" was silly, why not just demonstrate it through some sort of action. It also didn't help that the hero keeps questioning why he is attracted to her, even after he tells her she is beautiful he questions is she really, that just made the heroine seem pathetic and the hero a jerk.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Downhill

    Balogh is one of my favorite authors. However I was dissapointed in this book. I got tired of Vanessa whinning about how ugly she is, his constant reassuring, and that she never believed him. The characters were not likable and the love stroy unbelievable. I'm hesitant to buy the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I hope the other books in this series are better...

    I agree with the other reviews, this book was boring and insensitive. The rest of the family is gorgeous where as Vanessa is plain so the family always feels sorry for her. Then Elliot comes along and just makes matters worse. I hate that the author has Vanessa practically begging Elliot to marry her for the benefit of her sister. And she has every one repeating over and over how she isn't that pretty but she has a good sense of humor. I always like this authors books, but I have to say I was dissappointed with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BORING-I agree with the above

    This book is boring with a capital B. And I've read all of her other books and this one has no heart. Vanessa is not funny or charming and Elliot is a jerk throughout-completely unlikeable. Everyone disrespects Vanessa based on her plainness and she never gets to shine or have any sort of metamorphisis Where's the chemistry????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    terrific tale of post marriages woes

    In Throckbridge, Viscount Elliot Wallace learns he is guardian of Stephen Huxtable, the new Earl of Merton. Stephen complains to Elliot that his three sisters are driving him insane with their demands. Elliot decides to take the oldest off his hands by proposing marriage to Meg.<BR/><BR/>However, Elliot finds he is attracted to middle sister Vanessa, a widow, who shocks him when she proposes to him. Elliot accepts her surprising off as he feels strongly they will be a perfect match. However, they find happily ever after not quite what each expected after they exchanged I do except for the heating up the sheets. Both begin to understand the need for compromise if their marriage is to work, but will either make the first step towards give and take cooperation outside the boudoir.<BR/><BR/>Once the lead players meet, this SIMPLY PERFECT regency romance turns into a terrific tale of post marriages woes. The cast is fully developed especiacally the lead couple and her siblings However, the first Huxtable story line is owned by Elliot and Vanessa as each came into their marirage sharing a deep hot attraction, but radiclaly differing expectations. Fans will take immense dleight in this deep historical.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    Nice Cover............................................ Had it's

    Nice Cover............................................
    Had it's moments.   For some reason the writer had to state on practically every page that the heroine Vanessa was not pretty.  Apparently every women in merry old England was a 10  and this poor thing was a 5.  Even her parents told her she was unattractive and would probably not marry.  For the record she is on her second marriage by age 24 and her  drop dead gorgeous  and always nice sisters are still at the starting gate.  The family was nice.  The hero was ok.  The villain was wishy washy.   Con the villain was supposed to be a rake a rogue and a thief .  Yet towards the end of the book he is described as protective and wise.  I  assume that  the writer is setting him up to be a hero in another book..  Not for me.  What he did to his cousin Vanessa  was hurtful and mean spirited.  Not criminal by any means.  I was glad in the book she called him on it.  It was an OK read.       

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great Balogh book (and series!) but a very sloppy eBook edition

    I adore Mary Balogh as an author. I own this book in paper as well, already, and enjoy this series considerably.

    But this eBook (Nook) version was disappointing. Missing punctuation. Sloppy italics. Inconsistent paragraphs. Random quote marks outside of dialog.

    Great story. Bad edition. Please do better with conversions, Barnes & Noble. Or is this one Dell's fault? Please take more care turning books into eBooks.

    The Huxtables deserve better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Thought this was great!

    Sweet read, loved the whole Huxtable series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend..

    The series with this book was excellent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    A sweet story

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the rest in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!

    I love this book. It a great story that keeps you interested. I cant wait to read the next one. I love these rags to riches stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Disappointing

    (Originally posted http://book-addicts.com/blog/2010/08/review-first-comes-marriage-by-mary-balogh/)

    The story begins - if you read past the misleading and seemingly pointless prologue - in a very rural and quaint village where three sisters and their brother live and thrive. Margaret, the eldest sister has taken it upon herself to be the brother's guardian after their parent's deaths. At first, I thought Margaret to be the heroine of the story, but then the focus shifted to Vanessa, the only sibling living outside the family home.

    Vanessa is a young widow who has a beauty that lies beneath the surface. Where her two sisters and brother are very striking and noticeable, Vanessa is average. This fact is repeatedly remarked upon throughout the book that readers of lesser tolerance might want to play a drinking game along with to keep from chucking the book across the room.

    Then there's Elliot, the romantic interest of the story. Actually, that's misleading. There's hardly anything romantic about Elliot whose sole purpose in coming to call on the Huxtables is to announce the youngest brother's new status of earldom.

    Upon reflection, it seemed the purpose of teaming up Elliot's stereotypical uppity and crisp sense of duty with Vanessa's playful and jovial personality to follow the typical theme of opposites attract. There was just a very small amount of sexual tension between the two before their hurried nuptials. Then the steamy three-day honeymoon that follows makes me wonder if they got right down to business is because they're going through the motions out of a sense of duty (as was typical for that day and age). With this being a romance, I felt a distinct lack of relationship building between the two main characters, though admittedly the story is about a rushed marriage.

    The problem is there doesn't seem to be any real story to this book. It seemed like a lot of character and world building was put in front of the romance of the two main characters. I did enjoy the closeness of the siblings and their interactions together. But everyone was very friendly and polite and no one hated each other. There was no real tension, sexual or otherwise between Elliot and Vanessa. The animosity Elliot feels towards a secondary character, Constantine, seems to have been misplaced once it's revealed why.

    Over-all this book was a disappointment and very fluff. For what it is, it's a nice light read with a rags-to-riches feel. By the end of the book, the prologue makes sense but I still dispute its importance other than to clue in to readers in an easier format that Constantine is more than meets the eye.

    I do plan on continuing with the series because I am genuinely interested in reading about the other Huxtable siblings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    True to its time

    I have to disagree with the last review. I think the author managed to stay true to the era of this story as well as the nature of the characters. I love the fact that this was not another 'beautiful poor girl meets rich handsome guy' theme. The twist made the story line more interesting & I believe the insecurities Vanessa displayed made her more human than fictional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A definate 3 until it caught its second wind! (if only 3 and 1/2 were possible)

    Well, the premise caught my eye. Actually, the title caught me, and instantly I had an idea of what to expect and became instantly excited. Now ofcorse, being the begining book of a novel (which predecessors titles are play on words *first comes marriage, then comes seducation, at last comes love) There was alot of backstory. I enjoyed it, and it set things up well, but overwhellmed the LOVE. I liked the reverse proposal,it was very daring. Like I said, it took a while for the circumstances to come about, but once they did, it was great. There was a little yo-yo-ing of emotions, just when they made some head-way, something came in between. It was sweet and hurtful to read, but it helped me turn the pages and thats what gave it an extra star. (esspecially the consummation scene). I concur with the review below me, The ending did sort of take me by surprise. It was abrupbt but beautiful and I re-read it thrice!!!

    Read the book, it'll grow on you, and as you go through the series, you'll be glad for the little intrelude you feel you have to muddel through to get to the good loving =)


    ** it also reminds me of The Hathaway series by Lisa Kleypas. if you like this book, try the first book of the hathaways (mine till midnight)

    sidenote: I gave it a 5 star in rainy day catagory because its the type of book, really the type of series, that you can lose yourself in but not really want to return to. Once the book end, it ended. Once the rainy day has pass, its passed and the book is virtually perfect for such purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Sure

    This in inbetween a two and three stars. There was definitely good but there was also a very sudden ending I thought. I did like the characters but Vanessa was a little over the top with her love, joy and happiness speeches. I can see that this is a grouping and am interested enough to read more about this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ready for a great romance?

    Fans of Mary Balogh's will delight in her latest series that chronicles the lives - and loves - of the Huxtable family. This close knit family living in genteel poverty has no forewarning of the changes that await them when a Viscount and his secretary come to their small village on business. The series opens with Vanessa's story in First Comes Marriage and will be continued each month through June 2009 with the tale of how love comes to each of the Huxtables.

    Vanessa "Nessie" Dew, nee Huxtable is no beauty. Compared to her siblings, she is quite ordinary, if not plain on first notice. While on the outside she may appear unexceptional, Vanessa has a gift for making people happy and spreading joy wherever she goes. To those who know and love her, her inner beauty is on par with the outward beauty of her siblings. When the arrogant, aristocratic, and stunningly handsome Elliot Wallace, Viscount Lyngate, is maneuvered into dancing with her by her father-in-law, Vanessa is determined not to allow him to intimidate her. Widowed over a year previously, this village assembly is her first entry back into what passes for society in the countryside. For his part, Elliot finds himself strangely intrigued by this woman who is without question the antithesis of all he finds physically enticing.

    When the Viscount's business turns out to be Stephen Huxtable's inheritance of a title, properties, and the money to back them up, the Huxtables find themselves in a whirlwind of change. Swept away from their humble home to a grand estate and with the daunting task of becoming ready for entry into London's society circles within mere months, Vanessa and her siblings are taken under the wing of Elliot's mother, Viscountess Lyngate. Launching the family into the ton would be easier if Elliot were to marry one of the Huxtable girls and he reluctantly sets out to ask the eldest, Margaret to be his wife. Vanessa, knowing that Margaret's heart belongs to another, decides that her sister has sacrificed enough for their family and proposes to Elliot first. Shocked at first by Vanessa's actions, Elliot surprises himself, and Vanessa, by making a formal declaration for her hand.

    What Elliot and Vanessa discover in their marriage of convenience is that there is more to beauty - and to love - than what is on the surface.

    This is a touching love story that breaks the traditional romance novel formula by featuring a heroine who isn't the breathtaking beauty desired by all. Vanessa is a woman readers can all identify with. She feels insecure about her looks, but she doesn't let it hold her back. She cares for those she loves and does all within her power to bring happiness and joy to their lives. Readers will fall in love with her as Elliot finds himself doing and for many of the same reasons. Ms. Balogh also weaves in the beginnings of the other Huxtable stories in such a way that enhances Vanessa's story and makes the reader eagerly anticipate the release dates for the next three novels.

    Reviewed by Mairead Walpole of Crystal Reviews (www.crystalreviews.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    New series!YEAH !!!!!

    I couldn't wait for her to come out with another series. It totally met with what I expected. It was a refreshing new series. You'll love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7