Customer Reviews for

First Comes Marriage (Huxtable Series)

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Surprised I liked this book!

This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so...
This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so difficult that it deters you from reading. I guess this was necessary to set the scene and time in history. I was surprised that I liked this series(yes,I've read them all). It's very different from anything else I've been reading. I actually started with what I would consider the last book in the series, Seducing an Angel, Then went back and read the other books.

posted by kbest on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another great series for Mary Balogh

Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that th...
Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that the Viscount brings to the residents. At the dance the only lady that he deigns to dance with, is the Widow Dew, one of the Huxtable sisters, but not the pretty one, the very plain one.

The days following he disrupts the Huxtable household by informing them that Stephen, the youngest, is now the Earl of Merton and that they need to move to Warren Hall where Stephen, until his majority, will be trained to take over his responsibilities. Elliott realizes that the sisters will need to be introduced to London society and since there is no one who can sponsor them that they know, he will need to marry sooner than he planned to provide that service. He agrees to marry Vanessa Dew so that she can serve as her sisters' sponsor. Their love story unfolds.

First, let me say that I love Mary Balogh's books. Se writes love stories in a series surrounding a family. She is one of my favorite authors, and this is her newest, the first in the Huxtable Series. I've read 20+ of her books and this is the first one that really disappointed me. I kept waiting for the plot to develop and it never got there. There was no conflict, no mystery just a simple love story that really did have much of a bite. These are the first two Hero/heroine/ that didn't grab me. I just hope that the series is better.

posted by CheliD on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ready for a great romance?

    Fans of Mary Balogh's will delight in her latest series that chronicles the lives - and loves - of the Huxtable family. This close knit family living in genteel poverty has no forewarning of the changes that await them when a Viscount and his secretary come to their small village on business. The series opens with Vanessa's story in First Comes Marriage and will be continued each month through June 2009 with the tale of how love comes to each of the Huxtables.

    Vanessa "Nessie" Dew, nee Huxtable is no beauty. Compared to her siblings, she is quite ordinary, if not plain on first notice. While on the outside she may appear unexceptional, Vanessa has a gift for making people happy and spreading joy wherever she goes. To those who know and love her, her inner beauty is on par with the outward beauty of her siblings. When the arrogant, aristocratic, and stunningly handsome Elliot Wallace, Viscount Lyngate, is maneuvered into dancing with her by her father-in-law, Vanessa is determined not to allow him to intimidate her. Widowed over a year previously, this village assembly is her first entry back into what passes for society in the countryside. For his part, Elliot finds himself strangely intrigued by this woman who is without question the antithesis of all he finds physically enticing.

    When the Viscount's business turns out to be Stephen Huxtable's inheritance of a title, properties, and the money to back them up, the Huxtables find themselves in a whirlwind of change. Swept away from their humble home to a grand estate and with the daunting task of becoming ready for entry into London's society circles within mere months, Vanessa and her siblings are taken under the wing of Elliot's mother, Viscountess Lyngate. Launching the family into the ton would be easier if Elliot were to marry one of the Huxtable girls and he reluctantly sets out to ask the eldest, Margaret to be his wife. Vanessa, knowing that Margaret's heart belongs to another, decides that her sister has sacrificed enough for their family and proposes to Elliot first. Shocked at first by Vanessa's actions, Elliot surprises himself, and Vanessa, by making a formal declaration for her hand.

    What Elliot and Vanessa discover in their marriage of convenience is that there is more to beauty - and to love - than what is on the surface.

    This is a touching love story that breaks the traditional romance novel formula by featuring a heroine who isn't the breathtaking beauty desired by all. Vanessa is a woman readers can all identify with. She feels insecure about her looks, but she doesn't let it hold her back. She cares for those she loves and does all within her power to bring happiness and joy to their lives. Readers will fall in love with her as Elliot finds himself doing and for many of the same reasons. Ms. Balogh also weaves in the beginnings of the other Huxtable stories in such a way that enhances Vanessa's story and makes the reader eagerly anticipate the release dates for the next three novels.

    Reviewed by Mairead Walpole of Crystal Reviews (www.crystalreviews.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    New series!YEAH !!!!!

    I couldn't wait for her to come out with another series. It totally met with what I expected. It was a refreshing new series. You'll love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    First Comes Marriage

    I liked this book very much and it was an enjoyable read. What I like most is that it is a series of four books about the characters we meet in First Comes Marriage, and I don't have to wait four years to read the stories since they are being printed monthly. I have already purchased the next two books to read - talk about instant gratification! The characters are interesting and the story is well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as her others

    This wasn't a bad book but it wasn't as good as her other books. It didn't seem to have much in the plot to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Outstanding

    This book was excellent, I couldn't put it down. The characters just came to life on every page. I can't wait until the next three books in the series comes out, I will be ordering it tomorrow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    She's not Stephanie Laurens

    I thought this bought was ok. I liked the characters. I thought they could have been alittle more devolope and the story line a little better. Not a bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Continuing Characters and Series are my favorites

    I have been reading Mary Balogh for years and I enjoy her many series and continuing characters.

    My son calls these my "mushy books" but we all need a little "mushy" romance in our lives. I like her sensitivity and careful character development - by the time I'm at the end, I want the story to keep going or the next book to be published right away - I hate waiting!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A Good, but Not Fantastic Read

    I'm a Mary Balogh fan. Her Bedwyn Series is fantastic, and I enjoyed her "Simply" books. Being a devoted fan, I will finish this series; however, I was disappointed. Not much going on here. We are introduced to the Huxtables who are likable and will hopefully prove more interesting as the series progresses. This story line was a bit bland for my tastes. Not much adventure or passion found here, but a nice read if you're a fan of historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A good romatic reading adventure

    This is a great, light romantic read. The characters have a lot of personality and the story line is touching. I read this book in one sitting. I am looking forward to the other books in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Another great Mary Balough book

    I love anything written by Mary Balough. Her characters are so well-written -- each so different. Her dialogue is so believable, so...well, fun. Admittedly, some of her novels are stronger than others, but each and every one is a must-read-before-putting-down type of book. If you like this genre, you will love Mary Balough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    Good read on a rainy day.....

    I read this book in less than five hours and liked it. I liked the characters, the plot and the writing style however if you are not a fan of old historical romance novel then this book is not for you. Even though I liked this novel I thought it was a little lacking in emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    not very interesting

    I found this book really boring. Normally, her characters are really engaging and I really enjoy her books- they normally bring realistic characters and emotions. This book, however, was really boring. I didn't find the characters very realistic and I could barely make my way through the book. This is no Slightly Dangerous or the rest of that series. I wouldn't buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Not a favorite - Boring, uninteresting characters

    The plot itself is good, but ruined by poor character development. I could not find anything redeeming or likeable in either main character. Vanessa states multiple times that she makes people laugh, but where is the witty dialouge? Every character is obsessed with discussing how unattractive they find Vanessa. Yes, she's plain, but she's not hunchbacked nor does she have some sort of deformity, why is it such a tragedy to be plain ? Elliot is completely one dimensional. He just can't seem to believe that he would be interested in a plain looking women and feels this way through almost the entire book. I actually liked the secondary characters much more than Vanessa or Elliot. Perhaps the rest of the series would be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Warm-hearted romance

    Mary Balogh stories are usually sweet and make me smile. I enjoyed this book and if you like happy romance stories you will probably enjoy this book as well.
    This is the first story about the Huxtable sibblings. The three sisters and their young brother happily lived in a small English country village until they learn their brother has become an Earl.

    They must learn about London and all that entails. This first adventure follows the not terribly attractive middle sister and her second marriage. She is a character full of love and joy and of course she must teach her new husband how to be happy.Thus, "First Comes Marriage" (and then comes love.... and then comes the baby carriage.)
    I do plan to read the next in the series, "Then Comes Seduction" about the youngest sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    Old fashioned romance novel

    Such an enjoyable book with lovable, memorable characters...can't wait for the rest of the series. First Comes Marriage rings true to the characters and plots that first drew me to romance reading long ago...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    this first book by mary balogh in her new series was wonder-ful! it casts new characters and a new plot with lots of intrigue and witticism. although i would agree with the other reviewer that the 'love' could have come earlier in the novel.. i really felt as if it took to the very, very end for them to love one another. but all in all, it was a great read, and there was mystery and itrigue, and i cannot wait for the next installment, Then Comes Seduction!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    So disappointing

    It was honestly a struggle for me to get through this book. This is definately not one of her better books. I couldn't handle the constant reminders of just how "plain" and "unattractive" Vanessa was from both herself, "the ton", and of all people Elliot. Granted I know in the end he finds her beautiful yadda yadda yadda, but it could've happened a lot sooner without him or other characters constantly pointing out how plain she is. I also felt like the whole conflict with Con and Elliot was left at a standstill and I realize it may come out in the other books but come on! I don't know if it's because I've been reading Julie Garwood lately, but I just did not enjoy the story at all. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First Comes Marriage by Mary Balogh

    A lovely story that will play with your emotions yet keep you smiling. "First Comes Marriage" is the premiere novel in Mary Balogh's new series about three sisters and their younger brother who are lifted from obscurity when he is elevated to the title of Earl of Merton. The first to find love is the middle widowed sister, Vanessa.

    Vanessa is the 'plain Jane' of the Huxtable family. She's heard it all her life and can see in the mirror for herself as well. But she's also the happiest and most joyful, finding pleasure in each day. When the terribly correct and arrogant Viscount Lyngate comes to inform the family of her younger brother's surprising inheritance, Vanessa is just as excited and fearful as the rest of her small family. But when it appears this same Viscount will propose a dutiful marriage to her older sister, Vanessa knows that just won't do. Her older sister deserves to have a chance at love so Vanessa proposes to the Viscount herself!

    Elliott isn't sure which part of his duty is most onerous. Having to locate and guide the new Earl of Merton or having to sacrifice himself on the altar of marriage for his own title. It doesn't take him long to realize that what's really most irritating is the widowed sister of the new Earl. She doesn't stand in awe of him, she talks back to him, and now for some reason he seems to be attracted to her. But he must marry and heaven knows one chit is really as good as another so he might as well lighten his burden by marrying the oldest Huxtable daughter. Well...he would...if that irritating woman hadn't just proposed to him!

    I found laughter and tears in this story; I also couldn't seem to stop reading once I started. Both of those are signs of an irresistible book for me. From the first page, Balogh sets up the premise of this entire new series and draws the reader in with a bit of mystery. While you are reading the story of Elliott and Vanessa, you also get bits of pieces of the mystery tossed in. The relationship between the main characters is complex and engrossing while the deepening of their feelings proceeds at a reasonable and smooth pace. I find myself anxious for the next book "Then Comes Seduction" which is the story of the youngest daughter. It should hit the shelves April and I'll look forward to reading more about the Huxtable family, the Earl of Merton, and the mystery of Constantine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, easy to read

    I got the book at Shoppers supermarket before the 24th and so far like it a lot, it's funny and the story is great. I loved all of her books except for The Ideal Wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7