Customer Reviews for

First Comes Marriage (Huxtable Series)

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Surprised I liked this book!

This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so...
This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so difficult that it deters you from reading. I guess this was necessary to set the scene and time in history. I was surprised that I liked this series(yes,I've read them all). It's very different from anything else I've been reading. I actually started with what I would consider the last book in the series, Seducing an Angel, Then went back and read the other books.

posted by kbest on August 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another great series for Mary Balogh

Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that th...
Elliott Wallace, Viscount Lyngate has come to the small town of Throckbridge and all the young ladies are in a twitter because there is to be an assembly with dancing and the Viscount is coming. Little does the town realize this is just the start of the shakeup that the Viscount brings to the residents. At the dance the only lady that he deigns to dance with, is the Widow Dew, one of the Huxtable sisters, but not the pretty one, the very plain one.

The days following he disrupts the Huxtable household by informing them that Stephen, the youngest, is now the Earl of Merton and that they need to move to Warren Hall where Stephen, until his majority, will be trained to take over his responsibilities. Elliott realizes that the sisters will need to be introduced to London society and since there is no one who can sponsor them that they know, he will need to marry sooner than he planned to provide that service. He agrees to marry Vanessa Dew so that she can serve as her sisters' sponsor. Their love story unfolds.

First, let me say that I love Mary Balogh's books. Se writes love stories in a series surrounding a family. She is one of my favorite authors, and this is her newest, the first in the Huxtable Series. I've read 20+ of her books and this is the first one that really disappointed me. I kept waiting for the plot to develop and it never got there. There was no conflict, no mystery just a simple love story that really did have much of a bite. These are the first two Hero/heroine/ that didn't grab me. I just hope that the series is better.

posted by CheliD on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprised I liked this book!

    This is the first book in the Huxtable family series.(you do not need to read them in order to follow the story.) This novel is set back in the times when lords and ladies and lavish balls were given. The writing style is a little different and challenging, but not so difficult that it deters you from reading. I guess this was necessary to set the scene and time in history. I was surprised that I liked this series(yes,I've read them all). It's very different from anything else I've been reading. I actually started with what I would consider the last book in the series, Seducing an Angel, Then went back and read the other books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2014

    What a charming story.  Balogh had me hooked.  Her fantastic sto

    What a charming story.  Balogh had me hooked.  Her fantastic storytelling combined with the unique and yet straightforward descriptions brought this world to life in a realistic yet vividly fantastic manner.  Readers are transported to The Season amidst London’s ton scene.  Balls come to life in a breathtaking manner that you can’t help but picture.  This is one of those stories that you know must end with a HEA but can’t quite figure out how it will happen.  The twists and turns that this story took, although not necessarily earth shattering, definitely kept me on my toes.

    I love the way that Balogh describes people.  She catalogues their features the way one would think about them if you met them at a gathering and wanted to be sure to remember them.  Physical features and apparent personality traits are at the forefront.  I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the main characters in this story.  Individually they were entertaining and one of a kind.  However, his broodiness combined with her cheerful disposition in such a remarkably inviting way that I couldn’t help but smile.  

    I definitely can’t wait to delve further into this series & into this author’s work.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Great Balogh book (and series!) but a very sloppy eBook edition

    I adore Mary Balogh as an author. I own this book in paper as well, already, and enjoy this series considerably.

    But this eBook (Nook) version was disappointing. Missing punctuation. Sloppy italics. Inconsistent paragraphs. Random quote marks outside of dialog.

    Great story. Bad edition. Please do better with conversions, Barnes & Noble. Or is this one Dell's fault? Please take more care turning books into eBooks.

    The Huxtables deserve better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Thought this was great!

    Sweet read, loved the whole Huxtable series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    A sweet story

    I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the rest in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    True to its time

    I have to disagree with the last review. I think the author managed to stay true to the era of this story as well as the nature of the characters. I love the fact that this was not another 'beautiful poor girl meets rich handsome guy' theme. The twist made the story line more interesting & I believe the insecurities Vanessa displayed made her more human than fictional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A definate 3 until it caught its second wind! (if only 3 and 1/2 were possible)

    Well, the premise caught my eye. Actually, the title caught me, and instantly I had an idea of what to expect and became instantly excited. Now ofcorse, being the begining book of a novel (which predecessors titles are play on words *first comes marriage, then comes seducation, at last comes love) There was alot of backstory. I enjoyed it, and it set things up well, but overwhellmed the LOVE. I liked the reverse proposal,it was very daring. Like I said, it took a while for the circumstances to come about, but once they did, it was great. There was a little yo-yo-ing of emotions, just when they made some head-way, something came in between. It was sweet and hurtful to read, but it helped me turn the pages and thats what gave it an extra star. (esspecially the consummation scene). I concur with the review below me, The ending did sort of take me by surprise. It was abrupbt but beautiful and I re-read it thrice!!!

    Read the book, it'll grow on you, and as you go through the series, you'll be glad for the little intrelude you feel you have to muddel through to get to the good loving =)


    ** it also reminds me of The Hathaway series by Lisa Kleypas. if you like this book, try the first book of the hathaways (mine till midnight)

    sidenote: I gave it a 5 star in rainy day catagory because its the type of book, really the type of series, that you can lose yourself in but not really want to return to. Once the book end, it ended. Once the rainy day has pass, its passed and the book is virtually perfect for such purposes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as her others

    This wasn't a bad book but it wasn't as good as her other books. It didn't seem to have much in the plot to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    A good romatic reading adventure

    This is a great, light romantic read. The characters have a lot of personality and the story line is touching. I read this book in one sitting. I am looking forward to the other books in the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Warm-hearted romance

    Mary Balogh stories are usually sweet and make me smile. I enjoyed this book and if you like happy romance stories you will probably enjoy this book as well.
    This is the first story about the Huxtable sibblings. The three sisters and their young brother happily lived in a small English country village until they learn their brother has become an Earl.

    They must learn about London and all that entails. This first adventure follows the not terribly attractive middle sister and her second marriage. She is a character full of love and joy and of course she must teach her new husband how to be happy.Thus, "First Comes Marriage" (and then comes love.... and then comes the baby carriage.)
    I do plan to read the next in the series, "Then Comes Seduction" about the youngest sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, easy to read

    I got the book at Shoppers supermarket before the 24th and so far like it a lot, it's funny and the story is great. I loved all of her books except for The Ideal Wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3