Customer Reviews for

First Contact (In Her Name: The Last War, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Sci-fi Gem, Not To Miss

The "In Her Name" series falls in to the genre of Space Opera similar to David Weber or John Ringo books. Being self-published, this series is quite good. Starting with First Contact, the author begins a solid space narrative that carries through six volumes of 700-10...
The "In Her Name" series falls in to the genre of Space Opera similar to David Weber or John Ringo books. Being self-published, this series is quite good. Starting with First Contact, the author begins a solid space narrative that carries through six volumes of 700-100 pages. Amazingly he is able to develop alien characters of depth and feeling while still retaining thier "alien-ness". The human charaters are like-wise well concieved. What is a little thin is the technology definitions for the humans. There really is no attempt to explain FTL travel or space combat other than shooting very big guns at eachother. The alien technology is actually much better composed.

Overall this series is very good.

posted by k2nax on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Lacks Cohesion

This book has all the cohesion of a bowl of marbles. It reads more like a collection of vignettes than it does as a novel. Characters are constantly being introduced with great detail, then being killed-off in the story. There appears to be little cohesive plot or ch...
This book has all the cohesion of a bowl of marbles. It reads more like a collection of vignettes than it does as a novel. Characters are constantly being introduced with great detail, then being killed-off in the story. There appears to be little cohesive plot or character development. Comparisons to historical military figures and units from France and the US are gratuitous, contributing nothing to the essential story line (what little of it there is). Reading this book was a lot like reading a comic book, but without the pictures. The author needs to work on his writing skills.

There are several places in the e-book where the font mysteriously becomes bold for a few sentences, then returns to normal. There are a few editing errors, but not too many. The book is just too disjointed.

posted by deesy58 on August 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Very Engaging

    They gave me the first one free to get me hooked. It worked. I am definitely buying the rest.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book kept my interest and am looking forward to reading the next book in the series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Fantastic read

    I truly enjoyed reading this book, unlike others I enjoy details and the time the author takes to describe battles or what individuals feel at the moment. Yes it may seem slow to get started but then anyone who has read The Dune series or Lird of the Rings know most great stories take a while to develop a world for you to connect to. As for the comment on wasting time developing characters just to kill them off well that is real life, get use to it people die as do heriones and heros in life but they inspire others to carry on. Looking forward to the next book in the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Better than I expected

    I enjoyed this story so much that I decided to buy the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Good read

    Very good read and wll purcase book 2 of this trilogy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Excellent read. Well wrkitten. - Town Crier

    Starts a little slow, but boy howdy does it ever pick up the pace. Humans get their butts stomped by a warrior race of aliens, and deservedly so. I look forward to the nezt book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    This is a series you won't be able to put down once you begin. I

    This is a series you won't be able to put down once you begin. I bought the second right after I finished this one and now I'm on the third. There are a few places where the story doesn't move forward much, but those parts do add a bit to character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    Enjoyable book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Its ok makes me want to follow the series. Not a great novel bu

    Its ok makes me want to follow the series. Not a great novel but very entertaining for several night instead of watching tv.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Good read, and one bad review

    I dont know what the one bad reviewer was ranting about. Maybe books that are leagues above See Spot Run will forever be beyond thier abiluty to appreciate. Very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great read

    Thought this was a very engaging read. I thoroughly renjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good read

    Lots of detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great Science Fiction, Not What I Expected...

    As I read this book, I was struck with a sense that this was definitely something different. The characters on both sides were written in a clear, vibrant style. A great war story wrapped in good science fiction. Such detail in the story of the invading aliens is such a rarity in any book. I loved it and look forward to the next book in.this series. Well done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this a wonderful read. This is a good book to start with

    I found this a wonderful read. This is a good book to start with, as I could not put it down. The entire series is worth the money to own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    great story

    Scifi is not normally on my top list for reading. I down loaded this one by accident, and liked it so well I down loaded his second book. Well written, story easy to follow, characters are personalble, and once you start reading you don't want to stop. look forward to other books by michael r hicks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    must read

    Enjoyed this book .Had trouble putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2