Customer Reviews for

First Contact (In Her Name: The Last War, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Sci-fi Gem, Not To Miss

The "In Her Name" series falls in to the genre of Space Opera similar to David Weber or John Ringo books. Being self-published, this series is quite good. Starting with First Contact, the author begins a solid space narrative that carries through six volumes of 700-10...
The "In Her Name" series falls in to the genre of Space Opera similar to David Weber or John Ringo books. Being self-published, this series is quite good. Starting with First Contact, the author begins a solid space narrative that carries through six volumes of 700-100 pages. Amazingly he is able to develop alien characters of depth and feeling while still retaining thier "alien-ness". The human charaters are like-wise well concieved. What is a little thin is the technology definitions for the humans. There really is no attempt to explain FTL travel or space combat other than shooting very big guns at eachother. The alien technology is actually much better composed.

Overall this series is very good.

posted by k2nax on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Lacks Cohesion

This book has all the cohesion of a bowl of marbles. It reads more like a collection of vignettes than it does as a novel. Characters are constantly being introduced with great detail, then being killed-off in the story. There appears to be little cohesive plot or ch...
This book has all the cohesion of a bowl of marbles. It reads more like a collection of vignettes than it does as a novel. Characters are constantly being introduced with great detail, then being killed-off in the story. There appears to be little cohesive plot or character development. Comparisons to historical military figures and units from France and the US are gratuitous, contributing nothing to the essential story line (what little of it there is). Reading this book was a lot like reading a comic book, but without the pictures. The author needs to work on his writing skills.

There are several places in the e-book where the font mysteriously becomes bold for a few sentences, then returns to normal. There are a few editing errors, but not too many. The book is just too disjointed.

posted by deesy58 on August 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    A Sci-fi Gem, Not To Miss

    The "In Her Name" series falls in to the genre of Space Opera similar to David Weber or John Ringo books. Being self-published, this series is quite good. Starting with First Contact, the author begins a solid space narrative that carries through six volumes of 700-100 pages. Amazingly he is able to develop alien characters of depth and feeling while still retaining thier "alien-ness". The human charaters are like-wise well concieved. What is a little thin is the technology definitions for the humans. There really is no attempt to explain FTL travel or space combat other than shooting very big guns at eachother. The alien technology is actually much better composed.

    Overall this series is very good.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Prequel done right.

    By about 2/3 of the way through First Contact it had replaced Confederation as my favorite of the In Her Name books, granted this might change with Legend of the Sword but this is where I stand now. The book still feels like it is part of Hicks world but it also feels very different from the original Trilogy. Where as those books had a very Star Wars feel by the end First Contact felt more like Warhammer 40,000, which isn't a bad thing for a story that is more out right military Sci-Fi.

    I really enjoyed the new characters that were brought into the mix and how detailed that battle got which is something that I felt was lost from the massive scale that was the first trilogy. While it took me a little while to get going on First Contact once I did I couldn't put the book down and was up till almost 3:30 last night finishing it off.

    Like a good prequel it sets up the story for what is to come while building off of it, and not trampling on what made the original good, or filling the pages with massive retcons. Though knowing that this was written long after the First group of books, you can feel the tech seem to increase exponentially, due to one being written in the 90s and the other the 2000s, kind of like the Original Star Trek and Enterprise, but it wasn't horrifically distracting.

    Can't wait to see where this trilogy goes with Legend of the Sword and then Dead Soul in the fall.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    Great Books! Anyone who loves a good old fashioned, rousing sc

    Great Books!

    Anyone who loves a good old fashioned, rousing science fiction read should give this a try. What is impressive to me is how much you become invested in these characters, both human and alien throughout the series. Michael Hicks has created an alien race that is terrifying yet still strangely sympathetic...at first contact they are your worst nightmare of an advanced alien civilization bent on the destruction of mankind but we come to slowly understand and even empathize with this extremely violent race of alien female warriors and on the other side, the human characters are just as well written.

    You get much more than a fabulous military sci-fi adventure (although for those who love action, battle scenes and even gore, there is plenty to be found) but at the heart of this series is simply a fabulous story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Wow

    This book was better than i thought it would be. Now i can't put it down. This book is AWESOME!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Read this!!!! Buy them all!!!!

    Holy smokes this is an INSANE series!!!! I burned thru these electronic pages like wildfire. ... Game of Thrones WILDFIRE!!!!
    This author is THAT good. You connect with EVERY character. You hurt with them. You celebrate with them. You cry for them. You bleed with them.
    Incredible. Read. Them. ALL.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Gripping and suspenseful

    I am not sure what the few negative reviewers feel makes a good book, but when it comes to First Contact, they are dead wrong.

    This story grips you from the start, giving you the knowledge that only one among the crew will live. The author then builds the suspense by leaving you to wonder who. By the time the narrative prophecy occurs, the plot is fully in motion giving you more questions and causing you to turn each page hoping to find the answers.

    For me, a good book involves making me forget that Im reading words on a page/screen and having the scenes begin to play in my head like a movie. This author does that and more, giving reader an emotional attachment to the characters and plot.

    This author is a must-read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Highly Recommend.

    I read a lot and I really enjoyed this book. I find it fascinating that someone can invent technology in their writing that has not yet been been invented. I also enjoyed that the author incorporates much of what is familiar with different cultures, today, as still being followed by those cultures in the future. I would definitely read the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    what a nice find

    This book is really good! It pulls you in and takes you on an action packed ride through the cosmos with a host of characters brought to life with skill. I'm hooked, looking forward to the rest of this saga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Great read

    The action was non stop with a good story. Great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    !

    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    A great place to start. This series has over 9 novels in it. An

    A great place to start. This series has over 9 novels in it. And if they are half as good as this one, you and I are into a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Amazing. Get this book now!!!!! Best book ive read in a long time

    This book is amazing. Full of action amd suspense. Dont listen to bad reviews this is amazing. Good for almost anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    First coo First conta ct

    I was captivated. I want to know how iit ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Loved it

    I try to stay away from blood and gore - yet I could't put this down, The Nook has a "find' bottom that allows you to back check the members of the cast. So you don't get to lost with the next page. My only problem was where to go next. I chose 'Chaos Born'. Great choice if you want the background on the Keelas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Wonderful series

    This book wastotally engrossing i could not put it down, i read it cover to cover and could not put it down, highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    I enjoy sci-fi and fantasy fiction but space themes are not my u

    I enjoy sci-fi and fantasy fiction but space themes are not my usual genre.
    This story has changed my opinion and I am glad to add this series
     (and this author to my list of " must continue to read stories."  I strongly recommend
    reading this book if you are looking for a new author to follow or a new series of characters
    to get to know and enjoy. I really enjoyed this book and I think you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Well written and engrossing, this story is a great read in the same calibre as Starship Troopers and other space epics. I could hardly put it down, and look forward to reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Reader

    Battle action, space fights, awesome aliens, and memorable heros. Exciting page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great book

    I am hooked. I really appreciate that this author has created an alien culture that is in no way a reflection of human values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Excellent

    Very good book lots of entangled plots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3