BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The First Counsel

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put this one down!

This was intense. I hadn't read Meltzer since finishing Dead Even several years ago. I shouldn't have waited so long. A solid and harried (in the end) story, but well worth a read.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Meltzer's best.

I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there....
I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there. Hope this review helped!

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Not Meltzer's best.

    I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there. Hope this review helped!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not for Me

    It's a good thing I checked this one out at the local library before I bought and downoaded it. I love crime/legal thrillers, but for some reason, I just couldn't get into this one. The description sounded interesting, but I put it down after the seventh chapter. I love Brad Meltzer's show, Decoded, on the History Channel, so I'm not completely turned off of him from this one book. But I am definitely going to read his other books somewhere else before I buy them.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    Disapointing

    I enjoyed Meltzer's Dead Even and The Tenth Justice, but this book was a waste of time.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    509 Painful Pages of a thirty-page story

    Did not enjoy this book at all. Had no reason to care at all about these characters or this story. Title is misleading - no relevance at all to his work as Counsel to the President. You will never see a trial or anything remotely connected to legal work. This is the story of a man who gets duped and then tries to extricate himself from the situation. Not enjoyable or entertaining or even enlightened at all.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Couldn't put this one down!

    This was intense. I hadn't read Meltzer since finishing Dead Even several years ago. I shouldn't have waited so long. A solid and harried (in the end) story, but well worth a read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    The First Counsel

    This book was great from start to finish and was the first Brad Meltzer book I read and after reading this have read all his thrillers. He does an excellent job writing. It is a must read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    WOW! What a page turner!

    Brad Meltzer was recommended to me by a co-worker. This was my first purchase and I'll certainly be collecting more. Excellent plot twists, sympathetic characters, keeps the reader guessing until the very end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting

    Everyone, but especially men, who comes in her orbit (which seems Neptunium in scope) finds the First Daughter Nora Hartson charming and beguiling. White House junior lawyer Michael Garrick is a100 per cent red blooded American and he too cannot resist the lure of Nora. When he gets a date with her, he thinks the world has stopped orbiting.<P> However, Michael allows Nora to lead him on a merry joy ride. First they ditch the Secret Service before entering a gay bar where they see his boss Edgar Simon. They follow Edgar as he drops off a package containing $40,000, but playing amateur sleuth is not enough for Nora, who rips off $10,000 from the cash.<P> Not long afterwards, the Feds catch Michael with the illicit loot. He claims it belongs to Simon, who claims it belongs to Michael. When someone murders the White House ethics chief, the evidence points towards Michael, who fights the FBI, the Media, and his boss and peers in what appears to be a futile attempt to keep out of jail because he forgot the first rule of the bureaucracy: Protect your butt.<P> THE FIRST COUNSEL is an engaging suspense thriller that works because readers will enjoy the insider¿s look into the White House from a non-presidential viewpoint. The story line is fast-paced and the tension mounts as the audience wonders whether the hero will pull a Houdini or take the fall. By using a lower staffer as the key to the tale, Brad Meltzer provides a fresh perspective on what is a growing sub-genre, murder in the White House.<P> Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    So so

    Tco easy to predict the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    This book was horrible.

    This book was all over the place. It was hard to keep up with the characters. I had to read the same line over and over to figure out who was talking. Good ending, just took awhile to get there. Would not read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Exciting Read

    Fast paced, exciting read. In addition to this novel, I also read other Meltzer novels: 'The Tenth Justice', 'Zero Game', 'The Millionaires'. Meltzer is a young, energetic writer who delivers exciting suspense with every chapter. Non stop, pulse beating, not too heavy reading, this book will delight you reading past time. In light of the current political climate, this book is sure to make you connect and relate to the, sad to say, corruption we see in politics.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Wow! What a book!

    I couldn't put this book down. The character developement is incredible. The suspense builds right from the beginning and gradually grows as the book moves along. When I finished the book I was left in awe of the eventual outcome. Moving to say the least! I'll definately be reading more of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2001

    Fast reading but thin plot

    Meltzer's latest outing does not live up to the breathless reviews. The White House inside info is very interesting but not crucial to the plot. Annoyingly, the most fascinating character in the White House -- the president -- is rarely seen or heard from. In fact, the lead character Michael Garrick makes a presentation to the president on a topic that I was sure would be central to the plot. But Meltzer skips over the meeting entirely! Why? Who knows. Here was a chance to portray the highest level intrigues and give us a real feel for the Oval Office -- but it never happens. Garrick, as a well-trained and highly placed lawyer, is reduced to hysterial babbling throughout most of the book. Meltzer is sometimes heavy handed with his prose. An example of Garrick's over-wrought dialogue: 'Is that the lie of the moment? Some maudlin disclaimer?' (p. 450) Nora, the First Daughter, is an interesting character who keeps you guessing. The plot itself centers on a conspiracy and coverup that I won't give away. After 300 pages, you don't know much more than after the first 25. But Meltzer does keep you reading. It's compelling stuff but wears a little thin over the course of the book. The ending ties up many loose ends and was disappointing -- mainly because the conspiracy was more personal than political. So, again, the White House insider viewpoint is almost wasted. Still, a compelling read for Washington thriller junkies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Excelent book

    Thank for the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    interesting

    the author writes a book that keeps you wanting to turn the page especially when the main character gets into trouble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Loved!!

    Love all his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Not to my liking.

    When I read a novel I want it to take me to a place that I want to be. This novel is all about a wimp. I'm actually surprised I finished reading it. Although the main character shows some spine near the end, his lack of courage winds up allowing the villan to do one last horrific deed. The situations are highly improbable and oherwise very contrived. Give me Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Lee Child, Stuart Woods, or David Baldachi any day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Great read! I really enjoyed the twists and turns. Will definit

    Great read! I really enjoyed the twists and turns. Will definitely read more of his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The main character, Michael, made me finishing the book frustrat

    The main character, Michael, made me finishing the book frustrated with him. He is a whimp and allows everyone walk all over him, through out the whole book. That got to be old. At times it was hard to put it down but most of the time I couldn't wait to be done. I rate this book an &quot;eh, so-so&quot;.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great book! First Meltzer book I have read. It was fast paced and I liked the characters. I did not have the ending figured out and that really kept me reading. Will definitely look forward to reading Meltzers other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8