Customer Reviews for

The First Counsel

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put this one down!

This was intense. I hadn't read Meltzer since finishing Dead Even several years ago. I shouldn't have waited so long. A solid and harried (in the end) story, but well worth a read.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Meltzer's best.

I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there....
I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there. Hope this review helped!

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    WOW! What a page turner!

    Brad Meltzer was recommended to me by a co-worker. This was my first purchase and I'll certainly be collecting more. Excellent plot twists, sympathetic characters, keeps the reader guessing until the very end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    interesting

    the author writes a book that keeps you wanting to turn the page especially when the main character gets into trouble

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Scouden

    Great book! First read by this author! Will look for more of his books. Never figured it out until the end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I liked it.

    Read this book in one day. Great read. I will read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Good fun read for summer

    Good read with quick pace for unseasonably warm spring weather. Similar to other Brad Meltzer books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    An interesting look inside the White House

    A young lawyer gets involved with the First Daughter who is dealing with many challenges like drugs and having no personal freedom, because of choices made by her father. A very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good book!

    I read alot of mysteries. This one kept me guessing until the last chapters. A well written book, I will read another one by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Very entertaining

    A good read as it takes you through the twists and turns of Washington politics. It turns out real power does not always sit at a desk in the Oval Office. The book also gives you an inner look of the White House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    This One's a Keeper

    This was my first Brad Meltzer read and I loved the genre. It is a believable scenario that keeps you interested. I recommend this one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    enjoyable read

    Kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2001

    Non-Stop Action - Great Book

    Michael Garrick may think he has it all, but he hasn't met his match until he meets the cast of characters in this book. Definite page turner. Couldn't put it down. Will definitely read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    NOT QUITE FIRST - BUT STILL GOOD

    Well, Brad Meltzer, certainly writes easy to read legal thrillers with a good basic premise. Here: White House insider dates president's daughter and then the bodies start piling up. But it lacks subtly, intelligence, and you just don't care for the cut-out characters. Compare with the best legal thriller I've read this year 'POWER OF ATTORNEY' by UK author Dexter Dias. Here's a thriller that scares you death - all the more so because you CARE about the characters. Meltzer might do well to read POWER OF ATTORNEY to see how it's done. Carole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    Quick moving thriller

    Enjoyable thriller, grabs you quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Close but no cigar.

    After suffering through the escapades of our last cigar weilding president (I don¿t recall the man¿s name) and then having to endure another 40 some odd days of bent and dimpled chads I was ready for something other than a story about a President of the United States. Fortunate I came across a book titled $oft Money. A wonderful story about, none other than, a sitting President. My enthusiasm renewed I was ready for another story about the sordid lives of our elected kings. I¿d been give Brad Metzler¿s book but had put it aside, for the aforementioned reasons. Needless to say I was apprehensive when I first waded into this story. I had read the reviews that run the gamut from one star to five stars. In a nutshell a young man, Michael, dates the somewhat wild and rebellious daughter of the President. The two people observe the strange behavior of a white house aid while they are on a date. Someone gets murdered and the daughter suddenly becomes unavailable to the young man. Michael becomes the suspect and he¿s left to prove his own innocence. I enjoyed the premise of the story. And I found it refreshing that Metzler¿s chose to focus his story on a sibling of the great man rather than on the great man himself. Reviews show a range of bad to good for this offering from Brad Metzler. My advice is to buy the book and make your own decision. For what it¿s worth I enjoyed the book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2001

    you won't be able to put this book down!!!!

    A terrific read - a sure pageturner till then end. I loved it - story kept you guessing - I had NO IDEA who did it until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3