Customer Reviews for

The First Counsel

Average Rating 4
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put this one down!

This was intense. I hadn't read Meltzer since finishing Dead Even several years ago. I shouldn't have waited so long. A solid and harried (in the end) story, but well worth a read.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Meltzer's best.

I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there....
I'm usually very easy to please, and enjoy Meltzer's other books, however this book was not very good. It was not exciting or intense drama, but felt like soap opera drama, cheesy and you don't really care about the characters. There are better fiction books out there. Hope this review helped!

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2005

    Couldn't put this one down!

    This was intense. I hadn't read Meltzer since finishing Dead Even several years ago. I shouldn't have waited so long. A solid and harried (in the end) story, but well worth a read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    The First Counsel

    This book was great from start to finish and was the first Brad Meltzer book I read and after reading this have read all his thrillers. He does an excellent job writing. It is a must read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting

    Everyone, but especially men, who comes in her orbit (which seems Neptunium in scope) finds the First Daughter Nora Hartson charming and beguiling. White House junior lawyer Michael Garrick is a100 per cent red blooded American and he too cannot resist the lure of Nora. When he gets a date with her, he thinks the world has stopped orbiting.<P> However, Michael allows Nora to lead him on a merry joy ride. First they ditch the Secret Service before entering a gay bar where they see his boss Edgar Simon. They follow Edgar as he drops off a package containing $40,000, but playing amateur sleuth is not enough for Nora, who rips off $10,000 from the cash.<P> Not long afterwards, the Feds catch Michael with the illicit loot. He claims it belongs to Simon, who claims it belongs to Michael. When someone murders the White House ethics chief, the evidence points towards Michael, who fights the FBI, the Media, and his boss and peers in what appears to be a futile attempt to keep out of jail because he forgot the first rule of the bureaucracy: Protect your butt.<P> THE FIRST COUNSEL is an engaging suspense thriller that works because readers will enjoy the insider¿s look into the White House from a non-presidential viewpoint. The story line is fast-paced and the tension mounts as the audience wonders whether the hero will pull a Houdini or take the fall. By using a lower staffer as the key to the tale, Brad Meltzer provides a fresh perspective on what is a growing sub-genre, murder in the White House.<P> Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Exciting Read

    Fast paced, exciting read. In addition to this novel, I also read other Meltzer novels: 'The Tenth Justice', 'Zero Game', 'The Millionaires'. Meltzer is a young, energetic writer who delivers exciting suspense with every chapter. Non stop, pulse beating, not too heavy reading, this book will delight you reading past time. In light of the current political climate, this book is sure to make you connect and relate to the, sad to say, corruption we see in politics.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Wow! What a book!

    I couldn't put this book down. The character developement is incredible. The suspense builds right from the beginning and gradually grows as the book moves along. When I finished the book I was left in awe of the eventual outcome. Moving to say the least! I'll definately be reading more of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Excelent book

    Thank for the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Loved!!

    Love all his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Great read! I really enjoyed the twists and turns. Will definit

    Great read! I really enjoyed the twists and turns. Will definitely read more of his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great book! First Meltzer book I have read. It was fast paced and I liked the characters. I did not have the ending figured out and that really kept me reading. Will definitely look forward to reading Meltzers other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Best mystery ever

    If you love mystery, love Clancy and Grishom, you'll devour this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Very suspenseful

    This book was filled with intrigue from the beginning. It was hard to tell if the first daughter was plain nutty or if she was being such a dare devil to garner attention. There was suspense in nearly every chapter and I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    A great read ! ! !

    This would make a great movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Very informative and enjoyable book

    In addition to a good story, there is a lot of informative information on the inner workings of the White House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Highly recommended. It is early Meltzer but great Meltzer.

    A varied set of plot lines that are woven excellently by Brad Meltzer. Hard to put down, you want to keep reading to see what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Gripping

    If you are a fan of Baldacci and Connelly then add Meltzer to the list. This was my first Meltzer book and will definetly be reading more of his books. The story moved along easily from start to finish. A great new view of the White House and what could be going on inside its walls. Keeps you quessing all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Outstanding, gripping suspense novel

    This one is hard to stop reading. Good character development, and full of surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    Great Terrific Superb

    This is the first book I have read by this Brad Meltzer. I loved the characters and all the twists in the story. I would never have figured out the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    '...A chilling ride through the D.C. streets that leave you on your seat.'

    A page turning thriller that makes you wonder throughout the book what the secret is. Meltzer does a great job of descibing the White House. An author whos thrill is one of today's best. He's up there with John Grisham and David Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    WORTH EVERY PENNY

    This book is so gripping I finished the book in two days. Loved every second of it. The book has twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat. This is the first meltzer book I have read. After I finished this book I immediately went out and bought his others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    Better Than Grisham

    If you were a die hard John Grisham fan but like me, you've lost found that his writing has lost its edge, there is another author you should definitely check out. Brad Meltzer's 'The First Counsel' is a page turner! You are hooked from the very beginning. The characters are real. It is interesting to see the First Family and the White House experience from another perspective other than the POTUS. The relationship that grows between Michael and Nora is touching and intense at times. But you find that you really relate to their emotions. A great story! You won't figure out the story line until the very last few pages. A lot of twists and turns! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4