Customer Reviews for

First Date

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved this book! Great story based loosely on the Bible story of

    Loved this book! Great story based loosely on the Bible story of Esther, told in the present day. A very funny and endearing book. Can't wait for July when the sequel "Starring Me" about the character of Kara!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    really loved this book! Being a christian is not easy. I am in no way perfect. In fact, it is daily choice to live right. And any other christian will tell you that there are days when you just want to give up. In this book, the reader meets Addy. A young lady of faith who is struggling with who she is.

    One thing I loved about this book is that the author didn't paint to main character Addy to being a "perfect little christian." Addy is messed up. She said things she shouldn't have said. She has attitude and most importantly she fought against God. I can totally relate to that. When my husband got chosen to be the worship leader in the new church, I was immediately was upset. I prayed and said,"God, just what do you think your are doing? I don't want to be a leader. I don't want responsibility. I don't want people looking at my family. I DON'T WANT THIS!" I fought God. I told him, " I didn't ask for it and I don't want it." But God works in mysterious ways and TADA! Were in a new church plant, with me standing by my husband as the new worship leader. I'm scared. YES! Me. Little Savannah scared out of my mind. Why? Because I'm not perfect, I'm broken. Messed up. Then my good friend told me something. She said," Savannah, that is the exact reason why God chose you. People don't want to see perfection. They want to see someone who has been through trouble times and made it out. Just like Moses, who didn't want to lead people out of Egypt, he fought God, like you. Moses was great not because of what he did, but because of who he was in God." And deep breathe...

    The book showed Addy's struggle with who she was and her past. I like that she wasn't perfect and carried her past with her. Through Ms. McGee's writing, the reader felt emotions of Addy's struggle with God, her life and her future. She prayed constantly, asking for help. I also adored that there wasn't super supreme being moments, like reigning shine of glory moments. Addy moments with God were small, precious, and life changing. The things he did in her life brought Addy closer to God. And through his grace, Addy was able to fine her way out.

    My favorite line in this book was," If your not talking to God about it, how do you expect to get through it?" It's so TRUE! That line, makes my heart ache. Cause like so many people out there, I like to do things on my own. And then, when I am drowning and can't find my way out is when I finally pray. *Sigh* You think I learn by now, but my walk with God is getting better and better every day.

    If you want a real christian book with real life struggles read this book! I can't tell you the amount of times I had some sort of revelation as to what do about certain things in my life. I like that it wasn't fake but a real relationship with the Lord. The struggles of life, a hurtful painful past and learning to love when you have nothing left. It all happen with the grace of God.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Love

    Amazing book. Vary well writen. Fits the story of Esther but it modernized.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I really really enjoyed this book. Looking forward to the next one she writes... Highly recommend for a teenager who wants a clean, but still funny and romantic, book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Beautiful Story

    Its kind of hard to find food teen fiction these days, but this a nice clean story, that makes you keep reading. I highly reccomend for someone trying to find an appropriate book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Very Recommended - a wonderful read!

    Pretty soon I'm going to have to give in and read, and then review, and nonfiction book. For now I have attacked a fiction book by Krista McGee entitled, "First Date".

    This wonderful book is a cross between the TV show "The Batchelor" and the book of Ester from the Bible. Jonathon Jackson is the President's son. Addy Davidson is a bookworm who avoids the spotlight. Both of them find themselves on a reality TV show called "The Book of Love" to find Jonathon a date for his senior prom.

    Jonathon must pick one lucky girl from the pool of 100 young ladies from all over the United States.

    This was a very fun read. I could not put it down. This would be a wonderful book for a young teen girl to be encouraged when trouble comes. I enjoyed the modern day twist on the book of Ester. It brings the lessons we are supposed to get from the Bible in to better focus. As Christians, this book reminds us to not answer anger with anger, and to try to understand those who might be against us a little better.

    While there are lessons to be learned from this book, it is not a heavy read, nor one filled with suspense or terror. I enjoyed the well crafted storyline and the way the author mixed the contestant interviews between the chapters to allow us to get to know the girls a little better.

    If you have just finished a long book that required lots of contemplation between chapters (or sentences, for that matter) and need a "refresher" book to help clear your mind and bring a little joy to your heart, this is the book for you. I recommend this book to anyone who just wants a light read. It will get you to thinking about yourself and how you handle those troublesome people in your life.

    As you read this book, you will cheer for Addy, feel for Jonathon, and despise Hank. Then you will finish the book and find that your initial reactions may have been off base.

    I am looking forward to reading many more books by Krista McGee. If they are anything like "First Date", I'm sure to enjoy them all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Kept me guessing

    I actually read the second book (Starring Me) before reading this one. I liked it much better, but this was good to. The writing was good in that I never expected what was coming. The storyline was more interesting in Starring Me, but I would recommend reading this one first to help answer some questions that you might have in the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    TO: i really want it

    Me too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Adam

    I cant talk today bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Andrew

    Here...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Devon

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Hope to chaz

    Date her im ganna date someone else

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    To nadia

    Hey i sent you a friend request please accept it! ill talk to you later and im glad you and chaz fixed everything! Lisa ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    THE REAL NADIA TO CHAZ

    HEY! YOU DITCHED ME=(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Good Book! Nice, easy, and fun read with a great moral message.

    A very enjoyable read with some great insights on the world of reality tv. The characters feel very real and I loved watching Addy change over time. The prose was simplistic and the novel isn't going to be considered a classic, but it is still a worthwhile read. It is very clean with little or no cursing, drug use, or sex and it's simple romance was very refreshing. It has a very religious message that still remains real and doesn't feel too preachy. The characters definitly have their flaws but they are not goody two shoes. It is a light read but worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This novel is a modern retelling of the story of Esther, from th

    This novel is a modern retelling of the story of Esther, from the Bible, and I think the story would have been better if it wasn’t.

    If this had just been a cute, cheesy, Christian, realty show story, it would have been way better. But with needing to keep to the story of Esther, the plot became terrible. In the real tale of Esther, death is present. But in this fuzzy-feelings retelling, there is no scary almosts, no threat of death, and so the entire plot seems kind of foolish and silly. Also, in real life, King Xerxes was a bit of a creep, so it’s weird having him translated into a cute President’s son.

    All the characters were a fraction of who they could have been, the plot was predictable, the resolution was way too simple, and the “deep” moments just weren’t deep. I think it comes down to the writing. Krista McGee is not a good writer. Maybe with time she could get better, but as it is, her dialogue is unrealistic and her plotlines are terrible.

    I did enjoy some of the dramatic personalities of the girls on the show. I loved Kara, Addy’s best friend on the show, a very dramatic actress-type. I also enjoyed seeing the “behind-the-scenes” of the realty show.

    If you’re looking for a quick, cheesy read with Christian messages, than this is the book for you. If you’re looking for a great retelling of Esther or a great contemporary romance, this is totally not it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    First date!!

    This is a great book!!!!! I loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    FYI: This is a Christian contemporary fiction. I know some peopl

    FYI: This is a Christian contemporary fiction. I know some people like to know that upfront.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fun and light. I liked the characters and wanted to see how it would all turn out. Addy wasn't exactly happy to be on a reality tv show to win a date with the President's son. This wasn't just any date though; it was a date to Jonathan's senior prom! The story line was so fun. The realty show started off with 100 girls from all over the nation, and basically Addy was the only one not excited and falling all over the first son. The villain in the story was great. He was annoying, mean, bitter, and laughable all at the same time.

    This story is about friendship and overcoming your fears, and I enjoyed taking the journey with Addy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    My new favorite retelling of old storys!!!!!

    This book is based on the story of esther and it is almost funny when some parts of the story mirrored the story of esther . This book i must say is my new favorite and i can't wait to read starring me also by krista mcgee hope you read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2