Customer Reviews for

The First Days of School: How to Be an Effective Teacher

Average Rating 3.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

This book is amazing. It makes you think about things that you already assume students know. I would recommend this to all new teachers and even seasoned teachers.

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

How to be an Effective Rookie!

This book is for those that were naive enough in primary and secondary educational institutions to take their teachers for granted.......any one of us could have written this book......Chapter 19 is one of the most obvious chapters ever written! No where in this book d...
This book is for those that were naive enough in primary and secondary educational institutions to take their teachers for granted.......any one of us could have written this book......Chapter 19 is one of the most obvious chapters ever written! No where in this book does it teach a young educator on how to be an effective teacher amongst children in the inner city.....a teacher's main concern is how do I motivate the students to succeed.......only folks that lack people skills find themselves recommending this book or coveting this book as acceptable reading material for our future educators......no wonder the American educational system is in disarray......ineffective instructors still don't know how to be effective......but that is what they get paid to do....yikes! If you want to be effective, find a way to get students to listen first......i.e. spark up their attention and find a way to make students slightly enthusiastic for their educational well-being....

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2004

    Amazing!

    This book is amazing. It makes you think about things that you already assume students know. I would recommend this to all new teachers and even seasoned teachers.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    I agree with him!

    To the substitute who thinks Wong is wrong, you're in the minority! I am a substitute myself, and this man is inspiring! I am actually taking classes to get my Master's in Education, and my professor recommends this, so teachers must think his ideas work. We watched part of one of his videos, and this man has some great ideas!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Teacher's must have!!!

    This updated version of Dr. Wong's book provides teachers with how to organize and manage a classroom. It is a must read for all teachers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Great, great, great Book!

    This book is a must for educational students, first time and seasonal teachers! Harry Wong gives great points in this book. Dvd's are also available that highlight everything in the book. In the dvd's Harry Wong presents the information to teachers in a seminar style setting. I recommend the dvd's for people who don't have time to read and using the book as a refresher. Either way the information Mr. Wong presents is invaluable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Guide to Classroom Management - Hands Down

    The 4th edition of The First Days of School improves upon an almost perfect course in classroom management. Why don't Teacher's Colleges offer this instruction? This manual includes procedures for attaining success in the classroom from day one. It is useful for all teachers from preschool through high school, especially for grades 3-12. Everything you need to know to organize a classroom for learning is included in the book. It is enhanced by an outstanding video and online support. Harry and Rosemary Wong are master teachers of students and master guides of teachers. This resource is effective for new and experienced teachers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    Practical Advice for the Classroom Teacher

    I have taught high school for 10 years and middle school for 6 years in public schools both in suburban and urban settings, and I must say that this book is fantastic. The courses at my university provided an interesting background about the history of education and theories of learning, but it wasn't until I did my student teaching (over 200 seventh-graders and five different preps!) that I began to understand that a successful teacher is a successful leader in the classroom. I was lucky enough to have a wonderful cooperating teacher who showed me the ropes, but when I got my first teaching job and had my own classroom, I was sure I knew it all. Ha ha! I learned a lot from my mistakes, but not without a share of unnecessary stress and some gray hairs in my 23-year-old head. As years went by and I refined my style, I began mentoring other teachers, and I was introduced to this book. The authors have hit the nail on the head! The lessons I learned from the school of hard knocks are right there in an easy-to-read format. Yes, if you have an excellent mentor, if you have perfect students, if you anticipate every situation and come up with the right method of addressing problems on the first try every time, then you won't like this book. But if you want useful ideas on classroom management--everything from best practices in setting up seating to how to handle a parent phone call when a student has been a veritable beast in your classroom--this book is extremely helpful. The advice in here is much of the same I was given by the master teachers in my building who helped me (and my fellow rookies) navigate my early teaching career. I no longer needed the book's advice after I had established my own rhythm and processes for the beginning of the school year and beyond, and I had plenty of strategies in my back pocket by year five of teaching. But I highly recommend it for new teachers, student teachers, or veteran teachers who are looking for a way to establish processes and codes of conduct and communicate those with their students in a positive, assertive way--the first days of a new semester or a new school year. It's also great for a substitute teacher in terms of helping share what works well in a classroom and what will most likely backfire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Incredible and Time saving

    Absoloutely on the target. I have been teaching for 5 years and it saved me the first year from quitting. Wong can't be wrong!!! It works--I have two copies and still use them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Great introductory book

    this book is great for the first time teacher and can even help old time teachers learn new tricks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    Must Have

    If you are serious about teaching then this is definately a must have. This is one of the best books I have seen for the new teacher. It has something for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    A Great Resource For Any Type Of Teacher!!

    I Found this book to be extremely useful! I am currently student teaching and constantly find myself refering to this book. It has excellent ideas! I recommend this book to everyone who teaches, but especially to those who are going into thier first years of teaching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    A student teacher gives it two thumbs up!

    I was required to buy this book by my university - Texas A&M Commerce. I am in my second half of student teaching and have read the book three times so far! My elementary school campus also bought the program, both books and videos for all of their teachers. So, it has been a joyful experience to learn both in college AND in the classroom with my mentor. The section about classroom management is invaluable. The layout of the book is both easy to read and easy to reference. Many of the tips offered come from actual classroom experiences and teachers. Although the book shows a definite structure for procedures in the classroom, the student-centered delivery of the procedures allows me to know I will be effective when guiding them! So often, beginning teachers just need to know how to start the first days of school. This book helps me prepare for my experience next year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Fantastic!

    I would highly recommend this book to any teacher - first year or veteran. I've been teaching for 5 years and found many pointers in this book to be useful. It is also great as a refresher on what I already know. Definitely a must buy! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Awesome book!

    I have been teaching for 15 years. I re-read this book every summer and find it very helpful and encouraging. I find something new in it every time I read it. I have also given this book as a graduation gift to students who major in education in college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Days of School and Beyond

    This book was required reading at the beginning of last school year. Being a veteran, I thought it would be a waste of time. It's one of the best investments I've ever made in my professional life. Reading this book, and taking it seriously will change the way you teach and more importantly, the way your students behave so you can actually teach. In the classroom, it all boils down to the teacher, and this book will help you become the best you can be. Well worth the price and the time to read and it and use the strategies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    This Book empowered me

    I took a class based on this book to begin substitute teaching. Years ago, just out of college I did sub work without a clue. I did not have a teachering liscence and I felt like my main job was to babysit. I knew nothing about what I was supposed to do in a classroom. I depended on the student to tell me what I should be doing ( this is always a bad move for anyone who would like not to have a day from Hell). I now feel totally prepared to not only control my class, but to actually teach. Even if no lesson plan has been left for me, I know what to do.
    As my own children went through school, I saw so many teachers who spent their entire day putting out fires, and waiting for the day they could retire.
    New to the profession, or been there forever, this book will empower you to enjoy your career.
    In the process of getting controll of your class in what may seem like something everyone should already know, you will be able to teach any student in any area of life. For seasoned teachers, sometimes a refesher can be a big help to move out of your routene that may have become ineffective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    From a teacher with 21 years experience

    Most of the previous reviews miss the point. This book is to help teachers as the title says, the first few days of each school year. Those of us who have taught for awhile, find this book to be right on target. If you start out the year following his suggestions, you set the tone from the start with your students, which makes classroom management not only more effective, but also, easier with more successful results. If you don't have control of your class from the start, you have lost classroom management for the rest of the school year. Also, if you ever have the chance to view the DVD's of Wong's presentation or see him in person, you will praise his tried and true methods. I teach inner-city students, and this method is wonderful! I highly recommend this book/method. Give it a chance through practice and see if you don't agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Inspired to Teach

    Dr. Wong's common sense approach to classroom management has made me rethink my choice to give up teaching. It is interesting that most of the negative reviews of this book come from graduate students without any real classroom experience. This only proves that they are in what Dr. Wong calls the 'fantasy' stage of their careers. I would recommend this book as a resource for all teachers old and new. It is written by successful teachers for teachers who chose to be successful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Classroom Management is essential for learning

    This book gives many great ways to improve classroom management. To some, the techniques will seem like common sense, while to others they are completely new ideas. For anyone wanting to teach effectively, this book will help you be more efficient in the classroom and stop wasting time with the menial tasks through the school year and get onto the meat of the content. Without good classroom management, you can forget about students learning to their fullest potential. Remember that training and procedures which are highlighted in this book have nothing to do with cutting off creativity or turning people into mindless drones. If you feel that way, I am surprised that you could handle writing a review of this book since BN.com has procedures for writing reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    A Great Summer Read

    I love to review this book every summer. Many of the ideas are common sense however, with my busy life - it is nice to have it written out by someone else, plus it helps get me mentally ready for the next school year. The reading is easy to follow and something you can take while your kids are playing at the park or at sporting practice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    NEW Teachers shouldn't have all the fun!

    I've been a shared teacher-middle school/high school-for 11 eleven years. Not a week goes by that I haven't found myself reading this book..if only for a clearer sense of purpose. Buy It! Use It like an indispensable tool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2