Customer Reviews for

First Drop of Crimson (Night Huntress World Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 943 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(572)

4 Star

(259)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

great urban fantasy

Over a year ago on New Year's Eve, they were attacked by something paranormal that frightened her best friend Cat; Denise knew that little scares a vampire even a hybrid bloodsucker. Denise's husband Randy went outside where the fray was on going, but told his beloved ...
Over a year ago on New Year's Eve, they were attacked by something paranormal that frightened her best friend Cat; Denise knew that little scares a vampire even a hybrid bloodsucker. Denise's husband Randy went outside where the fray was on going, but told his beloved to stay inside with the runaway kids who take shelter with them and promised to be back. He never kept his promise dying during the zombie assault.

Over a year later, Denise's cousin Paul informs her that he does not believed the doctors or police are right when they insist twenty-three year old Amber died from a heart attack; he thinks she was murdered and he is "Destined for an Early Grave" too. Denise says no way, but the man comes out of the shadows and grabs Paul who stops breathing. She attacks the man who laughs and vanishes. Next she tries CPR as does a stranger, but both end up coughing and Paul remains dead.

Unable to reach Cat or her BF's mate Bones, Denise calls Spade the vampire. Bones' best buddy quickly arrives and realizes that the killer left behind a residual of demon essence from Raum, which proves Paul was right; dead right. They seek Nathaniel, who escaped from Raum. As they search for the predator, each feels an unwanted attraction to one another, which she rejects out of guilt and he denies out of a previous failed mortal relationship.

This is a great beginning of a sidebar series spun from the terrific Night Huntress saga as Denise and Spade have consistently appeared so fans knows each of them. The story line is fast-paced from the attack on Paul and never slows down on either the urban fantasy thriller prime plot or the supporting romantic subplot. Jeaniene Frost provides a powerful tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing, but entertaining

I love Jeaniene Frost, her book "Halfway to the Grave" was what pushed me into the paranormal/urban fantasy genre, unfortunately her spinoff book falls short. From reading the Night Huntress series, I was very aware of Spade and Denise and liked them a lot, because of t...
I love Jeaniene Frost, her book "Halfway to the Grave" was what pushed me into the paranormal/urban fantasy genre, unfortunately her spinoff book falls short. From reading the Night Huntress series, I was very aware of Spade and Denise and liked them a lot, because of that I was excited to read this book and ran to the bookstore to get it the first day it came out.

I was very disappointed. Spade and Denise are no Cat and Bones, which is obvious, but the chemistry and passion that makes the Night Huntress series so amazing, falls flat in the spin off. Though you feel bad for all Spade and Denise have lost and you want them to find each other, it just isn't that interesting. The two characters are all of a sudden waxing lyrical about their true love, when there is no real evidence of them getting there.

While the villain in the story is initially interesting and the deeper look into the undead world is always good, the story is cliche. The book in itself is not original, you can see almost every plot twist coming and there really isn't a sense of any urgency, because you can pretty much guess how it's going to end.

If you are a true Frost fan you will find the book entertaining and I like her Night Huntress books so much that I will try Frost again before writing her off.

posted by naomiloves on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Ry

    Alii

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't live up to my expectations....

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Heidi

    First Drop of Crimson is the first book of Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress spin-off series, Night Huntress World. The series is set in the same world that Night Huntress is, but focuses on the side characters that are in Bones’ and Cat’s lives. This one is about Bones’ best ‘mate’, Spade and Cat’s best friend, Denise.

    After Spade tragically lost his human lover, over 150 years ago because he was too late to save her, he has sworn never to get romantically involved with another human because they are too fragile and he can’t bear that kind of heartache again.

    But when Denise calls him in trouble and frantically searching for a way to contact Bones or Cat, he goes to her aid to keep his friend’s much deserved trip with his wife from being cut short. But he never expects Denise to be quite so in over her head.

    Members of Denise’s family are mysteriously dying of supposed heart attacks. But when her suspicious cousin, Paul, is murdered right in front of her eyes Denise can no longer pretend it’s a genetic defect causing the deaths. And, when a demon shows up at her house threatening to kill the rest of her family, she has no choice, but to agree to help.

    One of Denise’s ancestors made a deal with the demon and didn’t keep his end of the bargain. Now Denise has to forge into the vampire world to find him and deliver him to the demon. She is branded to make sure she sticks to her promise and the longer it takes her to find Nathaniel, the more demon essence her body will absorb.

    Denise is still recovering from the loss of her husband and has shunned the vampire world ever since Randy’s death. Now she must embrace it to be free of the demon’s power once and for all.

    Can Spade and Denise fight the things they most fear and embrace the attraction they feel for each other or will their torrid pasts be their undoing?

    I really loved Spade when he was introduced to the Night Huntress series, so I was excited to see a story about him. I never imagined him and Denise together, but once I thought about it, it made sense. But I’m sad to say I found this book to be a bit of a disappointment.

    I found the first half of this book to be pretty bland. This whole I like him, does he like me, oh he couldn’t possibly and pretty much the same coming out of Spade as well. To say nothing of his she WILL be a vampire mentality. After Giselda, I can understand why he’d fear being with a human, but he was being a bit too domineering and not even cluing Denise into his plans when they so heavily involved her and her future.

    I was happy when the duo finally gave in to their desires and decided to be a couple and I felt the story picked up from there. They both lost former loves in a tragic way and it seems that the two of them were meant to be together. And I loved the whole shower bit in their hotel suite in Vegas:)

    As for Nathaniel, once they had him I knew that Denise wouldn’t be able to hand him over to Raum. So I assume he will become yet another unexpected sidekick like Fabian.

    I’ve never been a big fan of Ian’s, but I really enjoyed his humor in this one. I especially enjoyed the payback scene when he went banging on Spade and Denise’s door and then walked away.

    I just felt with a main character like Spade that this book had a lot of potential, but it was squandered as the story just didn’t live up to my expectations.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Disappointed

    This could have been a Great book. Story was good, love characters but the whining got on my nerves Denise took Way to long to get over the grieving & PTSD. Hilarious though when Spade had to put her in a cat carrier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1