Customer Reviews for

First Drop of Crimson (Night Huntress World Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 941 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(571)

4 Star

(258)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

great urban fantasy

Over a year ago on New Year's Eve, they were attacked by something paranormal that frightened her best friend Cat; Denise knew that little scares a vampire even a hybrid bloodsucker. Denise's husband Randy went outside where the fray was on going, but told his beloved ...
Over a year ago on New Year's Eve, they were attacked by something paranormal that frightened her best friend Cat; Denise knew that little scares a vampire even a hybrid bloodsucker. Denise's husband Randy went outside where the fray was on going, but told his beloved to stay inside with the runaway kids who take shelter with them and promised to be back. He never kept his promise dying during the zombie assault.

Over a year later, Denise's cousin Paul informs her that he does not believed the doctors or police are right when they insist twenty-three year old Amber died from a heart attack; he thinks she was murdered and he is "Destined for an Early Grave" too. Denise says no way, but the man comes out of the shadows and grabs Paul who stops breathing. She attacks the man who laughs and vanishes. Next she tries CPR as does a stranger, but both end up coughing and Paul remains dead.

Unable to reach Cat or her BF's mate Bones, Denise calls Spade the vampire. Bones' best buddy quickly arrives and realizes that the killer left behind a residual of demon essence from Raum, which proves Paul was right; dead right. They seek Nathaniel, who escaped from Raum. As they search for the predator, each feels an unwanted attraction to one another, which she rejects out of guilt and he denies out of a previous failed mortal relationship.

This is a great beginning of a sidebar series spun from the terrific Night Huntress saga as Denise and Spade have consistently appeared so fans knows each of them. The story line is fast-paced from the attack on Paul and never slows down on either the urban fantasy thriller prime plot or the supporting romantic subplot. Jeaniene Frost provides a powerful tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing, but entertaining

I love Jeaniene Frost, her book "Halfway to the Grave" was what pushed me into the paranormal/urban fantasy genre, unfortunately her spinoff book falls short. From reading the Night Huntress series, I was very aware of Spade and Denise and liked them a lot, because of t...
I love Jeaniene Frost, her book "Halfway to the Grave" was what pushed me into the paranormal/urban fantasy genre, unfortunately her spinoff book falls short. From reading the Night Huntress series, I was very aware of Spade and Denise and liked them a lot, because of that I was excited to read this book and ran to the bookstore to get it the first day it came out.

I was very disappointed. Spade and Denise are no Cat and Bones, which is obvious, but the chemistry and passion that makes the Night Huntress series so amazing, falls flat in the spin off. Though you feel bad for all Spade and Denise have lost and you want them to find each other, it just isn't that interesting. The two characters are all of a sudden waxing lyrical about their true love, when there is no real evidence of them getting there.

While the villain in the story is initially interesting and the deeper look into the undead world is always good, the story is cliche. The book in itself is not original, you can see almost every plot twist coming and there really isn't a sense of any urgency, because you can pretty much guess how it's going to end.

If you are a true Frost fan you will find the book entertaining and I like her Night Huntress books so much that I will try Frost again before writing her off.

posted by naomiloves on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 258 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Good spin off.

    For a spin off it was great. Unless you love spoilers dont read this first, read her other books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shade the romantic. who would have thought

    I enjoyed this spin off. I liked that the first part of the story focused on Denise and Shade. It gave them time to develop separately from the characters of the main series. At the same time, I was happy Frost brought in Cat, Bones and Ian later. Shade was a great lead. It took me a while to be won over by Denise but in the end, I found them to be a wonderful couple. I hope to see Ian with his own book sometime soon.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    This book was not on my list for this month, but after finishing

    This book was not on my list for this month, but after finishing the last Cat and Bones adventure, I needed more so decided to read this spin-off, and all I can say is how much I’m going to miss these vampires when this series is finished. Lucky for me I have all the books now and don’t need to wait because Spade was just as good and Denise made me mad so much. Come on, she’s a big girl and knows too much to simply assume things would be fine in the end.




    I loved watching this different side of Spade. Never would have imagined how much he suffered and he still has hope for humanity. I loved this soft and very gentle vampire falling in love and trying to save his human. Denise was boring most of the book and kept running. Her husband died over a year, so last assume it’s enought time for her to start living again.




    I understand her reasons to step away from this world, but when things got strange the first persons she asked for help, hmm, let’s see, the vampires. Don’r get me wrong. I loved the story, but hate a heroine that only knows how to whine and complain of the fortune life trow at her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Fun read

    Good stand-alone, but even better if you've read the others in the Night Huntress series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!

    If you have already read the other books written by Jeaniene Frost than you are familiar with the characters in this book. If you have not, its really okay. The story of Spade and Denise captivated me from the beginning, as I hoped that it would. If this is your first Jeaniene Frost read, you will become intrigued and want to read the others. I enjoyed the interaction of characters from other books. Nice getaway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    Jeaniene Frost never disappoints & this book was no different. I love the night huntress series, the spin offs are awesome too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Review

    Good book. Looking foward to this series. Captured my attention from the beginning. Kind of reminds me of Anita Blake series from Laurell K Hamilton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Love Charles!

    Great to see Charles' gentlemanly shell cracked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Check it out

    The story draws you in to the lovers drama between the two main characters. There are a few twists in the story to keep your interest going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    I liked learning more about these characters and the story was alot if fun. I am new to the world of Cat & Bones but so far its been amazing. If your a fan of the series you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    AM

    I didn't think this book was up to par with the other books in this series, and I'm talking strictly about the plot, which, if I explain my objections, I would probably let out spoilers. Anyway, Ms. Frost is still my favorite author in the paranormal genre, and I hope she keeps them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    More than I expected

    Wish I had read this before the last night huntress book, but I certainly feel more enlightened about Denis's abilities now. Thanks for another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Like Cat & Bones?

    READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Love to play this Spade

    Spade is such a gentlemen but dnt let that fool u cuz theres an animal inside that well mannered vamp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Very Entertaining

    This is my first book by Ms. Frost and I really enjoyed it. The characters were well formed and the story line was very interesting. I couldn't put it down and finished it very quickly. I will go back now and read the series with Bones and Cat and see if it is as well done and as captivating as this book was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Yes

    For a spin off I loved it! OH BABY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Nice romance

    Nice paranormal romance. Not as good as her other books but still a good read. Maybe it's because I am not happy that the heroine became a demon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Paranormal Romance

    I love Jeaniene Frost. I read the Night Huntress series so many times! I read First Drop of Crimson in one night. I could not put it down. There were moments when I couldn't turn the page fast enough and moments I was laughing. The romance and adventure was a good mix. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book!

    Jeaniene Frost is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I started reading the Night Huntress series and absolutley loved them so since this one is a break off from that series, I read it and loved it too! At first Denise is kind of the helpless female, which I don't really like, but then she finds her strength and courage and kicks some demon butt! Definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    First Drop of Crimson was great!

    I have read all of Jeanne Frost's books. I love the story line of Cat and Bones and always thought that Spade should have his own book. In the beginning, I thought it should have gone a little more into what was after her and what they can do, but after that, the story line took off. I could not put it down. I read the whole book in one day. Spade stuck true to hid character of an english gentleman, even though he's a vampire now. I do like the fact that through all of the years they have been friends, that they were still able to count on one another to be there when they were needed most. Jeanne Frost always puts something funny in there to make you laugh. My husband always looks at me funny when I burst out laughing. The hilarity is wonderful. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 258 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13