Customer Reviews for

First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

First Family

I've been a fan of David Baldacci from the beginning and have read all of his novels. First Family did not disappoint!
Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Secret Service Agents turned private eyes, are contacted by the First Lady - Jane Cox. Her neice has been kidnapped. T...
I've been a fan of David Baldacci from the beginning and have read all of his novels. First Family did not disappoint!
Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Secret Service Agents turned private eyes, are contacted by the First Lady - Jane Cox. Her neice has been kidnapped. The FBI is heading up the investigation, but Cox has dealt with King in the past and trusts him. She wants an extra set of eyes looking that report to her alone.
This was an excellent story, told from both the viewpoint of the kidnapper and those looking for him. The reasons behind the kidnapping are slowly and deliciously eked out, keeping my interest piqued. The character development is excellent as is the secondary plot line involving Michelle.
Ron McClarty was the reader and he did a phenomal job of bringing the characters to life. His voice is rich and pleasant to listen to. Each character was easily defined with a different voice. His inflections conveyed the emotions and nuances of the plot extremely well.
I knew I would enjoy the story as I knew the author from previous reads. Excellent book.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointed

I love David Baldaci and have read most of his books, so I was thrilled to get a copy of his newest novel.
After struggling through 200 pages, I closed the book and decided that my time is too valuable to waste on the nonsense I was reading. This is by far from Baldac...
I love David Baldaci and have read most of his books, so I was thrilled to get a copy of his newest novel.
After struggling through 200 pages, I closed the book and decided that my time is too valuable to waste on the nonsense I was reading. This is by far from Baldaci's best, and I was shocked at the poor quality of the writing.
I very rearely put a book down in the middle of reading it, but this one is not worth the struggle of finishing.

posted by Omarika on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of Baldacci's best.

    As always, I enjoyed Baldacci's books. I am familiar with the area settings in his books so that is an extra attraction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Quite a Book

    For me, it was a little hard to get into as it took some time to develop all the characters, and then be able to see how they all linked together. At first, I thought it rather scattered, but the more I read, it started to come together. Finally, the last few chapters make the complete link.

    The plot was a little slow in its development making it hard to distinguish how all the characters related to one another. Again, it came together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding gald that Michelle and Sean got together

    When you have two crimes going, it is hard to see why this is happing but the writer had to pull it together and used Michelle home and her Moms death to get she and Sean to site of the other crime. The only weakness is you could tell that alot people were going to die at the end and that the power people were not going to get out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    Good Reading!

    Typical David Baldacci, very exciting and fast paced! I enjoyed it as I have enjoyed all of David Baldacci's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Enjoyed the book.......A little departure from his normal Style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Fast-paced action typical of a Baldacci novel

    David Baldacci always has interesting characters in his novels. He does a good job of unfolding the plot and surprising the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Just okay

    I really enjoyed David Baldacci's other book involving these two characters. This book is good, but not great. It's very meaty and involves a lot. It jumps from place to place and takes forever for all the pieces to fit together. Plus there are too many stories inside the story. Gets very complicated at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    Disturbing but interesting

    Disturbing characters but an interesting plot, an excellant sub-plot but a so-so sub-sub-plot that was distracting. Once the book got going I could not put it down and did not figure it out till the end. Be prepared to sit for long hours readind this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Great Read

    Baldacci is great writer able to put the reader into the story. Characters are made real but in this novel compared to privous Baldacci work the story is not as compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    Very detailed and dramatic

    I love David Baldacci books and this just leaves me begging for me. It is important to read his books in order so that you know the plots behind the characters from previous novels. Also don't try to read this around screaming kids you will miss a critical detail that will leave you going say what?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    Baldacci's First Family a dramatic thriller

    Baldacci's story telling ability is well known and he does not disappoint in this latest novel. The plot keeps the reader focused on the book and kindles a desire to reading until the book is finished. THe characters kept you involved in the plot and I found the writing style to be acceptable. I enjoyed being interested in the plot and characters and found the plot of the story. Overall a well written novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Not bad

    Baldacci fans will always enjoy anything written by him, but I found this one a little slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not your typical Baldacci.

    Though the characters remain true, this is not a typical Baldacci read. A real romantic relationship between King and Maxwell isn't quite as exciting as the playful one. The writing was good, the plot exciting. But, this book just left something to be desired for the loyal Baldacci reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Baldatcci at his best...First Family is a great read it keeps you guessing and the suspense never lets up...

    Just love his writing style....his characters always come alive and jump off the page...there are many twist and turns in this book and it keeps you guessing...his books never get boring...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Thought-provoking

    It's a little scary that one could have so much power.
    well-developed characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This is one of his best books so far. I couldn't put it down. Every chapter kept you on the edge of your seat. The end was a big surprise but not unexpected. I would recommend this to anyone who is a Baldacci fan and to those who are looking for something good to read. He is one of the best fictional writers I have read. It is a real page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maxwell and King Team Up Again

    I enjoyed "First Family", which is the fourth installment of the Sean King/Michelle Maxwell adventures by David Baldacci. (The first was "Split Second"; the second, "Hour Game"; the third, "Simple Genius.") Baldacci's writing style keeps the reader turning the pages, with short chapters that alternate between characters and development of the plot. Both King and Maxwell currently work as private investigators but were former Secret Service agents. While the story moves along at a brisk pace, some of the specifics along the way seem to be implausible. As the reader discovers more details about the heartbreaking past of the abductor, he grabs our sympathy and understanding. If you are a fan of Baldacci's books about King and Maxwell, you will enjoy "First Family". We discover more about them as individuals and as a team. If you haven't read the other three books in the series, you will probably want to read them also, after you've read "First Family". Personally, I hope King and Maxwell return sometime in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 144 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8