Customer Reviews for

First Family (Sean King and Michelle Maxwell Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 477 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

First Family

I've been a fan of David Baldacci from the beginning and have read all of his novels. First Family did not disappoint!
Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Secret Service Agents turned private eyes, are contacted by the First Lady - Jane Cox. Her neice has been kidnapped. T...
I've been a fan of David Baldacci from the beginning and have read all of his novels. First Family did not disappoint!
Sean King and Michelle Maxwell, Secret Service Agents turned private eyes, are contacted by the First Lady - Jane Cox. Her neice has been kidnapped. The FBI is heading up the investigation, but Cox has dealt with King in the past and trusts him. She wants an extra set of eyes looking that report to her alone.
This was an excellent story, told from both the viewpoint of the kidnapper and those looking for him. The reasons behind the kidnapping are slowly and deliciously eked out, keeping my interest piqued. The character development is excellent as is the secondary plot line involving Michelle.
Ron McClarty was the reader and he did a phenomal job of bringing the characters to life. His voice is rich and pleasant to listen to. Each character was easily defined with a different voice. His inflections conveyed the emotions and nuances of the plot extremely well.
I knew I would enjoy the story as I knew the author from previous reads. Excellent book.

posted by Tidbitsofscott on September 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointed

I love David Baldaci and have read most of his books, so I was thrilled to get a copy of his newest novel.
After struggling through 200 pages, I closed the book and decided that my time is too valuable to waste on the nonsense I was reading. This is by far from Baldac...
I love David Baldaci and have read most of his books, so I was thrilled to get a copy of his newest novel.
After struggling through 200 pages, I closed the book and decided that my time is too valuable to waste on the nonsense I was reading. This is by far from Baldaci's best, and I was shocked at the poor quality of the writing.
I very rearely put a book down in the middle of reading it, but this one is not worth the struggle of finishing.

posted by Omarika on August 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Anya

    Hello! My name is Anastasia, but most people call me Anya. My close friends call me Stasia. I'm 16; I have blonde hair and green eyes; I'm pale, tall, and slender, bordering on lanky; i'm intelligent, but I tend to be silly; I'm not athletic; I may seem a little superficial at first, but unique things and people intrigue me; I trust people a bit to easily; I wear vintage clothes and I love thrift shops and antique shops; I'd take pearls over diamonds any day; I'm a reader, a writer, and a thinker; I love mysteries, but I scare easy; I sometimes stare at people, because I like trying to figure them out; I like playing like a little kid sometimes; I'm a Christian, and I'm not going to judge you; I'm insecure; I care too much;
    These are all entirely honest facts about me. In real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Amazing

    Best thiller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Definite twist; a real must read

    Thought I had it furred out but keep me propelled to the very end ; surprise ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Exciting--Right to the very end. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    A kidnapping of the President¿s niece draws ex-secret service ag

    A kidnapping of the President’s niece draws ex-secret service agents turned private investigators Sean King and Michelle Maxwell into a plot that even their highly trained eyes are hard-pressed to solve. It takes them on a crazy journey around the east side of the United States of America. On their journey they experience crazy plot twists that not even the experienced mystery genre readers could not comprehend until the very end when it all comes together in an explosive conclusion that will leave readers with their mouths wide open. Not only does this book leave the reader in suspense, Baldacci’s masterpiece also shows readers through the main characters’ dilemmas on top of this national security nightmare that perseverance through personal problems is sometimes required for the greater good of others. The crazy plot twists this book has left me turning pages until the very end. I enjoyed how Baldacci did a great job of getting his themes through without making the novel sound to preachy or over the top. He intertwines action, romance, and mystery beautifully into one page-turner that I will definitely be reading again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Another fantastic read

    The First Family is just as thrilling as I expected. David is an excellent writer and I have loved everyone of his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good Baldacci Story

    Very excited to read this Sean King/Michelle Maxwell story as I have loved the Camel Club series and Shaw books. This book did not dissappoint...many interwoven storylines that all came to excellent conclusions. Great attention to the different settings in which this story takes place as well as excellent suspense and action writing. I am really becoming a Baldacci fan and look forward to reading other books in this series as the main characters a very compelling and interact very well together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Yet another great book!

    I recommend to read the series from beginning to end to fully grasp the full story as intended by the author..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    SLEEP DEPRIVED & LOVING IT

    Without doubt David Baldacci has written another nail biting, thriller with Sean King and Michelle Maxwell characters; this time involving the President and First Lady of the U.S.

    I am never disappointed in reading any of Baldacci's books - this one I couldn't put down and ended up only sleeping 2 hours so I could finish reading it.

    This is a great mystery thriller read for anyone who loves those types of books. I shall sing praises of this to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have read over a dozen of the Baldacci novels. They are the best example of ;"the not put them down until finished. read cover-to-cover in one sitting." To the author, please keep them coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Excellent, suspensful. Clsassic Baldacci

    This book was riveting. The way the characters intertwine brings it all together. That's Baldacci for you. Well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    His best ever

    As an avid reader of David Baldacci's books, I found "First Family" to be the most captivating and absorbing novel written by this author. Not only were his characters very down-to-earth and believable, they stayed in character throughout. The reader was kept in the dark about secrets that were alluded to but never revealed until the final pages, which was intriguing. The very political president, Dan Cox, and his supportive, but often furtive wife, Jane, were caught up in an election year bind that affected their reactions to the murder of Jane's sister and the kidnapping of Jane's favorite niece, Willa. In spite of the FBI involvement, Jane begged her old friend, investigator Sean King, to find the perpetrator and rescue her niece. Sean and his fellow investigator, Michelle Maxwell, both of whom had emotional problems from the past, were faced with many roadblocks as they desperately raced the clock. So many facts of which they were not aware, and the reticence of the FBI to share information, made their job difficult. There are circumstances and characters behind the actual crime that affect the outcome; the author smoothly incorporates these, as well as the challenges facing Jane and Sean and Michelle in their personal lives, giving the reader a very full and satisfying experience. This is a spell-binding read that you don't want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    First Family is fantastic!!!!!

    The book is fast reading. Plot was well developed. Could not put it down. Every page kept my attention. For people that like intrigue, First Family is definitely the book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Another great Baldacci novel. Can hardly wait for the next one.

    Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great read once again

    I love all david baldacci books and this one thrilled me again. i love the recurring charectors and the story was very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Another excellent story by Baldacci

    Fast moving - excellently crafted. He actually knows correct english grammer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Great book.

    I am glad that there was a new King and Maxwell book. I have yet to find a Baldacci book that I haven't finished. This one is fast paced and well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Good read

    I prefer the Camel Club characters, but this was a good, fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Baldacci has nailed it again!

    Well crafted suspense novel. Don't plan on putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Baldacci does it again!

    "First Family" is amazing.....Baldacci is amazing...what a wonderful read. It is one of those books, you simply cannot put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10