Customer Reviews for

The First Gardener

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Expect the Unexpected ....

    Eepect the Unexpected; I never saw the end coming! Became connected with the characters in the story (I want to read more about this family); grabbed my heart, could not put the book down and yet, in some places I HAD to put the book down. Have not read a book where I was so "Involved" with the characters and storyline in awhile as I was with The First Garener. GREAT READ!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED this book

    I have read all of her books and this is the best! Will of Wisteria is a close second. Keeps you guessing and very emotional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    To the author

    We were stationed at Fort Campbell during bith the ice storm and the flooding of Nashville. It truly is a beautiful state full of some of the friendliest people I have ever encountered. Thank you for taking me back and reminding me of the place I fell in love with. Your story was both beautiful and heartbreaking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Great Read

    Parts of it were very sad, but what a moving book, with an amazing, surprising ending. That's all I will say :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Awesome book

    I was very blessed as I read this book. It was funny and quite entertaining, yet also sad. This book will help those who do not know how to lean and depend on God when they are going through trials and tribulations. This book let's you know that God is always there in any situation and He has everything taken care of and in control. May God continue to bless you Denise Hildreth as you continue to share God in your writings.
    Joyce Griffin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Grief overcome!

    This is one of the saddest books I have ever read. It does deal with grief, love and living! It does show us how we must go on living in the face of grief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Very moving story.   Very easily became connected to the charact

    Very moving story.   Very easily became connected to the characters in this story.  I did not want this book to end.  I look forward to more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Excellent Book

    This is a powerful story that made me laugh and made me cry. God was leaning over the shoulder of this author while she wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Heart Renching!

    I have never read a book that took me to such extremes of deep feelings. I felt that I was not only reading it but living it. It took me days to recover. For those that want to help someone who has suffered a great loss this book can really give you insight into what some have gone through and how fragile the balance can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Tullips, Forgiveness & Perfect Love

    I absolutely would recommend this book. It tugs at your heartstrings but so very inspirational. Kudos to the author for such a well written book on friendship, heartache, healing, hope & Love. God owes us nothing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book I had never read any of her books before. I will be reading more of them in the future.
    The loss of a child is a hard road to travel on. I have never lost a child but have lost a grandchild. It is a very emotional journey to be on. She did a great job of writing it. I was really surpised with ending something I would have never expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Beautiful!

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    great

    Very good story and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Awesome!

    Wonderful, wonderful! A real page turner with unexpected ending....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Wonderful book

    Heartfelt,funny,tragic-this book is all of them. Takes the reader from laughing one minute to tears a few pages later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Keep the tissues nearby!

    I wasn't sure what to expect, and had I known, I might not have read it. It's a story of loss, pain, grief and ultimately God's faithfulness. I enjoyed reading this and asking myself the tough questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    Hard to put down, I devored it with enthusiam.

    Denise Hildreth is an excellent author, she is descriptive and positively alluring with her characters. Denise has a way of drawing you into her stories, that leaves you wanting more. The First Gardener is a book that you dont want to put down, because your wondering, whats going to happen next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Excellent

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    I loved it!

    This book was wonderful... I laughed and cried... Great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book, I laughed, I cried, I laughed again. Ms. Hildreth made us love all the characters of this book, even when we didn't want to. The plot was a little predictable but it was told in such a griping way that I just couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3