Customer Reviews for

The First Gardener

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Expect the Unexpected ....

    Eepect the Unexpected; I never saw the end coming! Became connected with the characters in the story (I want to read more about this family); grabbed my heart, could not put the book down and yet, in some places I HAD to put the book down. Have not read a book where I was so "Involved" with the characters and storyline in awhile as I was with The First Garener. GREAT READ!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED this book

    I have read all of her books and this is the best! Will of Wisteria is a close second. Keeps you guessing and very emotional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A gifted writer!

    About the book - Mackenzie London is dying. She is not dying of cancer, not of Aides, not of any other kind of disease. She is dying of a broken heart. Mack is in all but a catatonic state after the death of her daughter. This is not only about the grief that Mack is suffering from but also the grief of all those around her, her husband, Gray (the Governor of TN), her mother, Eugenia, and even the gardener, Jeremiah. They are all suffering from a broken heart as well. First they all lost a beautiful little girl in the tragedy of a car accident and now they are loosing Mackenzie to her depression as she crawls deeper and deeper into herself.
    This book is about the deepest kind of sorrow you can find - the loss of a child and then loosing the will to live.

    My review - This is just about the saddest book I have ever read. I have read almost all of Denise's books and they have all touched me in some way. She is a very gifted writer! I consider her to be one of my favorite Christian Authors
    .
    Denise has a way with the characters in her books. You absolutely feel the pain and loss felt by Mackenzie and Gray. I loved Mack and was sad for her but was also frustrated with her at the same time. Part of me just wanted to shake her and yell "Snap out of it! Life goes on." I know that some people loose their faith in God after a great tragedy. But it is also God who is always there for us and will help us through if we allow him. We can't shut him out like Mackenzie did in our greatest time of need.

    You also feel Gray's pain. He is not only grieving the death of his daughter but now the loss of a wife. What can he do to help her as she no longer touches him or talks to him, never leaves the bedroom and won't even eat. Can he help her in time before she slips away for good? And with an upcoming election, he has the decision of running for office again or being there for his wife, or can he do both?

    Eugenia, Mack's mother is my favorite character! What a feisty old woman she is. She reminds me of Shirley McLaine in the movie "Steel Magnolias". She is trying to be the strong one, giving up her own life and moving in to take care of her adult grieving daughter, bathing her, feeding her, dressing her, all while deep inside she herself is hurting and unable to show it.
    Even thought I spent a good 3/4 of this book bawling my eyes out I also spent some time chuckling thanks to Eugenia!

    Then there is sweet old Jeremiah, the black, southern gardener for over 25 years now. He has seen pain before in the death of his own wife, but Mackenzie's grief is stealing his heart. Jeremiah is trying desperately to help Mack to heal.He listens as God speaks to his heart and tells him what to say and what flowers to give her according to their meaning.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    highly recommend

    This was such a heart warming gut wrenching story. I would put this in christian fiction. It was a love story and a life lesson story. There was no foul language and the writer eluded to lovemaking between 2 people who loved each other. I would consider this a clean book, and a great read. Jeremiah was so full of wisdom with his correlation between gardening and life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Such a wonderful story!

    This book had a great story line. I look forward to reading more of this author's writings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    To the author

    We were stationed at Fort Campbell during bith the ice storm and the flooding of Nashville. It truly is a beautiful state full of some of the friendliest people I have ever encountered. Thank you for taking me back and reminding me of the place I fell in love with. Your story was both beautiful and heartbreaking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Great Read

    Parts of it were very sad, but what a moving book, with an amazing, surprising ending. That's all I will say :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    Awesome book

    I was very blessed as I read this book. It was funny and quite entertaining, yet also sad. This book will help those who do not know how to lean and depend on God when they are going through trials and tribulations. This book let's you know that God is always there in any situation and He has everything taken care of and in control. May God continue to bless you Denise Hildreth as you continue to share God in your writings.
    Joyce Griffin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    A great story about marriage and how tragedy can affect it. See

    A great story about marriage and how tragedy can affect it. See how God uses others in an intricate way to draw the married couple to him. An excellent and unexpected twist at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    The first gardener

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Grief overcome!

    This is one of the saddest books I have ever read. It does deal with grief, love and living! It does show us how we must go on living in the face of grief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Very moving story.   Very easily became connected to the charact

    Very moving story.   Very easily became connected to the characters in this story.  I did not want this book to end.  I look forward to more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Excellent Book

    This is a powerful story that made me laugh and made me cry. God was leaning over the shoulder of this author while she wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Heart Renching!

    I have never read a book that took me to such extremes of deep feelings. I felt that I was not only reading it but living it. It took me days to recover. For those that want to help someone who has suffered a great loss this book can really give you insight into what some have gone through and how fragile the balance can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    jraubenolt@yahoo.com

    Friend me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Tullips, Forgiveness & Perfect Love

    I absolutely would recommend this book. It tugs at your heartstrings but so very inspirational. Kudos to the author for such a well written book on friendship, heartache, healing, hope & Love. God owes us nothing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book I had never read any of her books before. I will be reading more of them in the future.
    The loss of a child is a hard road to travel on. I have never lost a child but have lost a grandchild. It is a very emotional journey to be on. She did a great job of writing it. I was really surpised with ending something I would have never expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Beautiful!

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    A good story even though it was depressing. Turns out okay with an unexpected revealation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    great

    Very good story and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5