Customer Reviews for

First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 580 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(345)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Fresh, fun, exciting-more please!

I am so impressed by the fact that this book read like a 'bestseller': it kept the pages turning, the dialogue was quick and witty, and I felt I might run into the characters the next time I was in Albuquerque--they felt that real. But at the same time, this book does N...
I am so impressed by the fact that this book read like a 'bestseller': it kept the pages turning, the dialogue was quick and witty, and I felt I might run into the characters the next time I was in Albuquerque--they felt that real. But at the same time, this book does NOT read like yet another from your favorite author. Darynda Jones has found a new, fresh flavor to write with, and this book is completely unique. Charley and the other characters are personalities you've never had the please of meeting before (and you will love them!). They get into (and out of) situations you never thought possible, and their interactions feel true to life . . . well, if you are willing to believe that the grim reaper is a hot PI who shines like a beacon to the dead! Charley Davidson is smart, sassy, sexy . . . the only thing I don't like about her is that I can't BE her. And her amazingly tasty mystery man had my mouth watering! I loved the outstanding character development; the story is interesting and will keep you hooked from page one to the very end--I read straight through, and now I am craving more! Can't wait for Second Grave, and Third, and Fourth, and . . .

posted by LaurenJ11 on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I have no idea

Sadly, I can't even open the book. I have done everything I can and the book refuses to open for me. I have done all the research possible to try to fix it, and I feel like I just wasted my money nothing. Which I did. It seems that this only happens to certain books and...
Sadly, I can't even open the book. I have done everything I can and the book refuses to open for me. I have done all the research possible to try to fix it, and I feel like I just wasted my money nothing. Which I did. It seems that this only happens to certain books and it's not the nooks problem, so buy at your own risk of even being able to read it once you do buy it.

posted by 7074251 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Fresh, fun, exciting-more please!

    I am so impressed by the fact that this book read like a 'bestseller': it kept the pages turning, the dialogue was quick and witty, and I felt I might run into the characters the next time I was in Albuquerque--they felt that real. But at the same time, this book does NOT read like yet another from your favorite author. Darynda Jones has found a new, fresh flavor to write with, and this book is completely unique. Charley and the other characters are personalities you've never had the please of meeting before (and you will love them!). They get into (and out of) situations you never thought possible, and their interactions feel true to life . . . well, if you are willing to believe that the grim reaper is a hot PI who shines like a beacon to the dead! Charley Davidson is smart, sassy, sexy . . . the only thing I don't like about her is that I can't BE her. And her amazingly tasty mystery man had my mouth watering! I loved the outstanding character development; the story is interesting and will keep you hooked from page one to the very end--I read straight through, and now I am craving more! Can't wait for Second Grave, and Third, and Fourth, and . . .

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the sarcasm, what a great story. I can't wait for the next one.

    I liked it, very sarcastic, set in the first person. It reminded me of the way I think, I don't vocalize what I think, most of the time(it would get me into as much trouble as it does her). Charley Davidson is a kick butt PI and a grim reaper. She's fast and funny with a quick comment to make about everything. I liked her uncle and the cop that she butts heads with. Reyes is hot, hot, hot and boy what a shock when you learn his origin. Not much real sex, supernatural love, at least a bit. This was funny, fast paced and interesting to read. I look forward to the next book she writes to see what happens in Charley's life. Thanks to the publisher for sending me this advanced copy.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book in this genre in a long time, and I read alot of UF. Let me interject however - Don't give an author a bad review because you can't open the book!

    This book won the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart award for best paranormal romance, and it's easy to see why. A must-read for lovers of this genre, and I'm counting the days until Book 2 comes out.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Fabulous Debut

    First, let me say I don't usually read paranormal, but I won an ARC and thought I'd take a peek. That peek lasted five hours--until I finished the book.

    Sassy, irreverent, poignant, funny, heartrending in places, Darynda Jones has it all. I couldn't put it down. Kudos!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A winner

    Private investigator Charley Davidson knows she cannot quit her haunting 24/7 job as her potential clients will never go away. That is the plight of being the Grim Reaper, who helps dead people complete their business on earth so they can move on. Most of her deceased customers died due to ugly causes like murder and want their perpetrator skinned alive though they will settle for them being brought to justice; thus they turn to Charley who tries to resolve the issue so they can go into the light. Her recent dreams are XXX rated starring a paranormal Entity, who has been in her life forever only lately it has been different; she has no idea why or how; nor how to find out.

    Three people killed in a triple homicide ask her to investigate the crime. At the same time she learns who Entity is the offspring of, and his claim they are ironically soul mates.

    Charley is the queen of humorous biting sarcasm even when in the heat of sex (live and dreaming) and never lets up on her mocking the living and the dead summed up by the heroine at the onset with her comment about her wet dreams being "death by divine pleasure". In other words a ghost in need is a pest as she makes or breaks the tale depending on your tastes. Fans who appreciate an acerbic heroine will relish this strong investigative urban fantasy; otherwise need to pass. The Jones mythos is set nicely so the reader will believe in the mocking Ghost Whisperer who is not a tender Jennifer Love Hewitt but still solves homicides enabling dispirited spirits to cross into the light.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Harriet klausner

    Of course harriet klausner just has to ruin another book with her cliff note book report. Bn cant you please put a stop to this obnoxious plot spoiler and deleyte her plot spoiling posts? She ruins every book she supposedly reviees and has started other people doing it now too. Please bn, please stop her and delete her ruinous posts.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I have no idea

    Sadly, I can't even open the book. I have done everything I can and the book refuses to open for me. I have done all the research possible to try to fix it, and I feel like I just wasted my money nothing. Which I did. It seems that this only happens to certain books and it's not the nooks problem, so buy at your own risk of even being able to read it once you do buy it.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Hilarious

    This book was just great from start to finish. A definitly great new author I must now await a new book from sigh...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    very funny and quirky character.

    First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson # 1) by Darynda Jones Charlie Davidson has a sixth sense and is not afraid to use it. She can see dead people and uses the ability to help them and the loved ones they left behind. I honestly did not think I would enjoy this plot, but I have to tell you, Charlie Davidson is a very funny and quirky character. She has a way of dealing with issues at hand. In this book, she works with her uncle as a private PI specifically to solve a case of 3 murdered lawyers. And helping her are the lawyers themselves... Mysteries eventually solved but the best outcome is finding out THE ONE in her dreams. This book is written in first person POV which I usually do not enjoy. However, Ms. Jones did a phenomenal job keeping me interested and drawn to the characters and scenes at hand. Even the secondary characters here are great and just as funny. Now, this is not an erotica, but Ms Jones gave us a great and sexy ending that will leave you wanting for more. I was skeptical about this book, no pretty male models or H/h fondling each other on the cover that I enjoy looking at. It actually has the foot of our heroine which did not do anything for me. But it was recommended to me by my friend Fran who seems to know what I would enjoy. I am glad I did. The cover did not do this book justice. I can’t wait to get to Second Grave to the Left.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great read!

    Another awesome author - Highly entertaining and left me looking forward to a sequel.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    A sexy,suspenseful,laugh out loud, cannot put down, addictive book and series,

    This is one of the best books i have read in a very long time. I def recommend the entire series...u will not be disappointed! It keeps you on the edge and is a laugh out loud, cannot put it down type of books. I eagerly await the next one!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Bow-chica-bow-bow!

    When you mix mystery, paranormal, and comedy into a story, you get the best drink of fun this side of happy hour. I just love Darynda Jones and zippy-do-dahed through First Grave then Second Grave on the Left. And guess what? Ms. Jones acknowledges some of my favorite authors for inspiration... Hmph...It figures. That's why I like her so.

    I'm hooking up friends with this tasty tale like a dealer, 'cause I'm absolutely hooked too! This was the best advance funds I've ever spent. I love the story of Charley, Reyes, Cookie, Swopes, Ubie and others and cannot wait (I'm shaking like an addict here) for Third Grave! Thank you, thank you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting series start

    Charley Davidson starts out as a heroine very reminiscent of Stephanie Plum--snarky and more than a little irreverant. The idea of a modern woman being *the* Grim Reaper (and a P.I., and a police consultant--after all, she does see dead people) is a fun one with lots of promise. As the book continued, though, Charley's attitude started to bother me a bit. It just got to be a bit much. Overall though, it was a fun read and I'll be looking forward to trying the second book in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I am hooked!! Give me more!!! I wasn┬┐t expecting to love this

    I am hooked!! Give me more!!!
    I wasn’t expecting to love this book. But I do!! I wasn’t sure what I was in for honestly, let me tell you I loved it I am hooked! Darynda Jones has hooked me in. I love her style of writing. Something new, something I haven’t read about before.
    I think I am in love with Reyes, no I am not telling you who or what he is you will have to read it to find out. But I am loving this character. Charley is awesome, love her. She is like that sarcastic friend who always has a great comeback for you. I love her sense of humor she made me laugh out loud several times. All the characters in this story are really likable. Storyline is fantastic!
    Hot steamy sex scenes are always a plus for me! Nothing like them!! This story has them! I am looking forward to reading much much more on these guys! I can’t wait! ……….you still reading? ……….GO….. get this book!!! You are going to love it! I promise!

    Enjoy!!!! ~ Ann Marie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    The only mystery is why this book is listed as a mystery!!! It'

    The only mystery is why this book is listed as a mystery!!! It's should be list in romance. Horrible, horrible horrible!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    A Must Read

    I troll bookstores looking for books like this one. Treat yourself to the beginning of a fascinating and origional series and allow plenty of time to read it all in one weekend. Sexy, sassy and smart from beginning to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Excellent!

    OMG!!! I cannot say enough about this author and this series. The characters are absolutely wonderful and the author draws you in with such good mystery and suspense and adds her touch of humor. I loved the characters and could not wait to read the next book. Fun and could not put it down until I finished.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Thrilling!

    Charley Davidson's job as the grim reaper not only allows her to be a Private Investigator and help the dead cross over but then she also helps the police department while trying to make sense of the dark mist that scares her more than anything upon every visit. I could not put this down! Can't wait for the sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    What a fun read!

    Ms. Jones has hit one out of the park with this book. The main character Charley had a great sense of humor and boy did she need it. And when can I meet a guy like Reyes?? This is an excellent book and I can hardly wait for grave 2 and 3. Blazeccm

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    BookHounds

    Smart, sophisticated, sexy, snarky, snazzy, special, well, you get the point and I can't think of any more adjectives that start with "s" to describe the book any more. Imagine if MaryJanice Davidson and Lisa Lutz wrote a book together about a paranormal P.I. that is part Spellman Files and Queen Betsy, but with less shoes. I cannot even begin to describe my joy with this new series and the wonderful dialogue and even inner dialogue that takes place in First Grave on the Right. You can throw in a bit of Stephanie Plum for good measure as well.

    Charley Davidson is THE Grim Reaper and when she isn't helping souls cross over to the other side, she helps solves their murders and helps with domestic abuse cases. The story centers around three lawyers, recently demised that somehow connect her with an entity known as Big Bad. Ok, I immediately thought of Mr. Big from Sex and the City since Big Bad has a similar name and effect on Charley. Charley introduces us to several characters that are pretty dead and not crossed over that help her solve her murders. I expect to read more about them in upcoming stories. The next one is Second Grave on the Left due sometime in August, 2011.

    I received this book at no charge from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29