Customer Reviews for

First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 582 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(346)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Fresh, fun, exciting-more please!

I am so impressed by the fact that this book read like a 'bestseller': it kept the pages turning, the dialogue was quick and witty, and I felt I might run into the characters the next time I was in Albuquerque--they felt that real. But at the same time, this book does N...
I am so impressed by the fact that this book read like a 'bestseller': it kept the pages turning, the dialogue was quick and witty, and I felt I might run into the characters the next time I was in Albuquerque--they felt that real. But at the same time, this book does NOT read like yet another from your favorite author. Darynda Jones has found a new, fresh flavor to write with, and this book is completely unique. Charley and the other characters are personalities you've never had the please of meeting before (and you will love them!). They get into (and out of) situations you never thought possible, and their interactions feel true to life . . . well, if you are willing to believe that the grim reaper is a hot PI who shines like a beacon to the dead! Charley Davidson is smart, sassy, sexy . . . the only thing I don't like about her is that I can't BE her. And her amazingly tasty mystery man had my mouth watering! I loved the outstanding character development; the story is interesting and will keep you hooked from page one to the very end--I read straight through, and now I am craving more! Can't wait for Second Grave, and Third, and Fourth, and . . .

posted by LaurenJ11 on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I have no idea

Sadly, I can't even open the book. I have done everything I can and the book refuses to open for me. I have done all the research possible to try to fix it, and I feel like I just wasted my money nothing. Which I did. It seems that this only happens to certain books and...
Sadly, I can't even open the book. I have done everything I can and the book refuses to open for me. I have done all the research possible to try to fix it, and I feel like I just wasted my money nothing. Which I did. It seems that this only happens to certain books and it's not the nooks problem, so buy at your own risk of even being able to read it once you do buy it.

posted by 7074251 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    Harriet klausner

    Of course harriet klausner just has to ruin another book with her cliff note book report. Bn cant you please put a stop to this obnoxious plot spoiler and deleyte her plot spoiling posts? She ruins every book she supposedly reviees and has started other people doing it now too. Please bn, please stop her and delete her ruinous posts.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I have no idea

    Sadly, I can't even open the book. I have done everything I can and the book refuses to open for me. I have done all the research possible to try to fix it, and I feel like I just wasted my money nothing. Which I did. It seems that this only happens to certain books and it's not the nooks problem, so buy at your own risk of even being able to read it once you do buy it.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    The only mystery is why this book is listed as a mystery!!! It'

    The only mystery is why this book is listed as a mystery!!! It's should be list in romance. Horrible, horrible horrible!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Shameful

    It is unfortunate that this author decided to depict the crime of attempted rape as an erotic experience. It is also disgusting that her readers apparently see nothing wrong with this.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    This book is broken. Do not purchase.

    This book is broken. Do not purchase.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    would love to read the book, but sadly, it won't even open on th

    would love to read the book, but sadly, it won't even open on the NOOK. and FYI, B&N won't stand behind it and refund the purchase! So if you are interested in the book, don't buy the everison!!!! It won't work, we are on the second copy purchased because B&N convicned my sister it was her nook, not the book, well, GUESS WHAT B&N, IT'S THE BOOK!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    waste

    drug out.....could finish the last 40 pages....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    I'd love to be able to review this book, but as of 5/21/14 I hav

    I'd love to be able to review this book, but as of 5/21/14 I have to say don't bother. After going several rounds with customer service, they finally had to admit defeat and refund my money for it. I'm very disappointed and frustrated, but hopefully I'll at least save someone else the trouble-- since they are still apparently willing to sell it to you, even if they can't make it work. I just spent an hour with them, so I don't know why they still have this up for nook purchase, since it will not open. I reported the problem 2 weeks ago, it isn't as if they don't know there's an issue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    couldn't open the book. read the 2nd in the series. was ok.....

    couldn't open the book. read the 2nd in the series. was ok.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    ? ? ?

    Undead

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Harriet Klausner Responder

    To person who posted a complaint about this Harriet Klausner on May3,2014.Now what's the deal with this character?I'm almost certain I have seen this name pop up a time or two and must not have paid much attention.You know there is strength in numbers so they say surely if enough people made a call to 1-800-The Book and she is spoiling story lines like you say and I have no reason to doubt you,I'll be placing my call right after I post this as I hope others will. Granny B.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    How can every "free for an honest review "

    Come up every time with a five or four star? This is illogical. If you honestly read the whole book and wrote cliff notes outling whole book so one doesnt have to bother reading it you can give a three star as honestly full filling the requirement .....free for a review. If you skipped most of book and took review from editors review a one star or two if you are honest

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Terrible book

    Stupid plot, what little there was. Sex with a supernatural...the son satan. Waste of time and money.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I am a big fan of the Sookie Stackhouse novels and the Stephanie

    I am a big fan of the Sookie Stackhouse novels and the Stephanie Plum series so when I read the reviews I thought this series might be similar. I was extremely disappointed! I thought the main character was rude, not clever. There was very little development of the characters and I was bored. I wish I could get my money back. I am debating whether or not to push through and try to finish it or just delete it off of my nook. I feel bad giving this review but I just don't understand what everyone else is seeing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written, stupid story.

    The author has a capability to be a top drawer humorist and author. Unfortuately this book is for fans of the bachelorette

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    I read the sample

    41 pages and I did not realize the main character was a woman until page 38 so I feel that the writing came up short even though the idea is good and the novel moves along at a fast clip.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2