Customer Reviews for

The First Husband: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Lots of fun!

    The First Husband is full of laughs and serves as a "peek inside" your own life.

    Annie Adams, 31, leads an exciting life. As a writer for a syndicated travel column, she has the opportunity to visit exotic places and secret hide-a-ways in search of the perfect story. Upon her return from each adventure, she comes home to her live in boyfriend, Nick Campbell, who is a struggling movie director in Los Angeles. Annie seems to be living a dream life...an exciting and fullfilling career and the perfect relationship with the perfect and handsome guy..and then..

    An announcement from this perfect guy that he needs to put their relationship on hold because he's not sure he's over an old flame, sends her to the closest bar to ease her pain. She meets Griffin, a chef with an overload of charm and charisma at a beachside restaurant. She learns her job is in potential danger since the paper has been taken over by a new owner.

    Griffin needs to return to his home town in Massachusetts to open his own restaurant. Annie doesn't want to lose this connection so she takes a chance and goes with him, stopping by Las Vegas, first at a little wedding chapel and makes it official.

    Upon their arrival, their love is put to the test with frenzied family drama. As the warts come out, the real Griffin is revealed. Annie starts to question whether her rash decision to marry a man she hardly knew was the right one. A lot more to come.Enjoy!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Highly Recommend The First Husband

    Author Laura Dave first captured my attention with London Is the Best City in America, continued to enchant me with The Divorce Party, and has once again exceeded my high expectations with her latest novel, The First Husband. The story of Annie Adams, just shy of 32 and fresh off a breakup from her live-in boyfriend, could easily slip into cookie cutter territory, but Dave steers away from the predictable and embraces all the nitty-gritty, rough edges of relationships, exploring love and loss with reality-colored glasses on. Put simply, have you ever read a book and thought to yourself, "In the movie version of this, who can I see playing the protagonist/main character?" You proceed to check through a list of celebrities, then come as close as you can to casting perfection. Well, with The First Husband (as well as Dave's other amazing books), I can see myself as the main character-not in a narcissistic way, but in a relatable, real way. It's like Dave crawled inside my head and plucked out various thoughts and feelings I've had over the years regarding love, life, career and family. In short, Dave writes for her readers, not at them. In The First Husband, I adore Dave's ability to seamlessly reference Saved By The Bell while explaining a friendship's back story, her observation of the perils of the Internet ("Nowadays you've got to try not to get emotionally involved with someone else; you have to try not to reach out to an old fling and start shrieking about maybe we're meant to be."), how she ponders the advice: "be the opposite of you", her use of a Wilco concert as a major plot point, and the way she notes the use of Facebook "status" (as a way of proclaiming you're "over" someone else). Among the highlights of The First Husband: the intriguing "worst/best thing" question, which would have made my life much easier had I had it as my litmus test for men back when I was dating; an observation on breakups: "That's the brutality of a breakup, right? The people leaving think they did everything possible, the people left behind think what is possible hasn't even been tested yet"; an observation about the path we choose: "When you saw where the truth was, you wanted to get to it as quickly as you could, before you lost sight of it again"; and a gem about life in general, or whatever problem you're faced with: "When you're willing to do the work, it's amazing what can be saved." I can't imagine how Dave will top The First Husband, but I can't wait to find out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    Annie Adams has spent her entire life moving around. It's no surprise when she lands a job traveling the world writing a syndicated travel column. She is living with good looking long term boyfriend, Nick and their dog. Nick's career as a film director is about to take off. They seem to have it all.or so Annie thought. Nick pulls the rug under her when he reveals he has reconnected with an old flame and needs to see where it leads. Reeling over his announcement, her best friend Jordan tells her to go have fun. He'll be back! Feeling as if she has no idea how to be fun, Jordan tells her to be the opposite of herself.and she does exactly that.
    Three months later, Annie is living in a small Massachusetts town married to Griffin. She took her friends advice all right. Suddenly, Annie is in a world she has never known. Her brother-in-law and his twin sons live with them, her new mother-in-law appears to wish Griffin had chosen his once upon a time long term girlfriend that oops Griffin forgot to mention how long they dated! Could their marriage really just be a rebound relationship for both of them? Jordan thinks so and so does Nick who comes back to claim the women and the life he wants back.
    All this sends Annie moving, the only thing that feels safe to her. She has to ask herself who is the man she is really meant to spend her life with.
    The story itself was not all that different than other books I've read. But what this book has is the protagonist, Annie do some self exploring. She asked herself some tough questions and looked for real answers. She had a best friend giving her advice counter to what I would have said to her-something I can't say I've seen a lot of. Usually the best friend acts as an agent of the readers, I found this completely refreshing! This is a book that has everything a good book should have and more.
    I have heard fabulous things about Laura Dave. This was my first Laura Dave book, and it did not disappoint. This was such a great book and I know I'm going to be reading Laura Dave's books from here on out. Not only am I going to recommend this book, but I'll go one further and say if you can't get your hands on a copy of this book read one of her others! This isn't just a good book this is a good author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    I couldn't put it down!

    I literally read this book cover to cover without stopping, but for to take care of my children. But every spare moment I had, I was reading, until I finished it the same day I started it. I have loved everything I've read by Laura Dave, and this was no exception. Just a great view on life and the roads we take along the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An Interesting Debut! Laura Dave┬┐s novel is an interesting read

    An Interesting Debut!
    Laura Dave’s novel is an interesting read. Thank you to Penguin for sending this novel to me.
    Synopsis:
    Annie sat down to watch her favorite movie Roman Holiday. There is one catch; every time she watches the movie something bad happens. So the movie is often pulled out with some hesitation. After recently watching the movie her husband Nick arrives to tell her that he wants to separate. He needs freedom to explore what he truly wants. Annie is devastated and goes out at the encouragement of her best friend Jordan. She goes to the usual hotel for a drink and meets an unusual bar tender. They soon develop a relationship which leads to a very unusual family. Who will she choose the bar tender or Nick? How will her career play into her decision?
    My Thoughts:
    As I said that this novel was an interesting read. The plot is the most fascinating aspect of the novel. Would you choose to go back to your first husband? Or continue with the second husband? How does career play a part in both? I was interested to see how the author would draw this novel to a conclusion. I also felt that this plot line is a little new to me.
    I am afraid this novel did not keep my interest as much as I would have liked. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had hoped considering all the rave reviews from great authors like Emily Giffin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Surprisingly sweet & good

    There were times reading the book when I had to pause and reread to see if there was some double meaning to what the author wrote. Maybe her writing could have been a bit more clear because I felt like she was going too subtle with her approach. Anyway, I was shocked to find this was one of those rare few whose story made me believe in a fast paced true love thing. I really believed Griffin and Annie love each other, if only they had just met. The author did an amazing job showing us how and why they loved each other and what that meant. You immediately love Griffin and root for Annie, enjoy Jordan as her best friend, and even grow to accept Nate for what he will represent in Annie's life. It was clear who you were to favor in the love triangle, but the author placed emphasis on what Annie wanted and had to realize for herself before she could share it with someone else. That made you hope, hope for her self happiness and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Terribly cliche and poorly written.

    I was very excited to read this because of all the wonderful reviews, however was dissapointed in the overall story. The plot lacked real depth and emotion and the character development was lacking. I think maybe I would have liked this book in my late teens or early twenties but I am now seeking something with a bit more uumph!
    Read this if you need something light and mindless.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    I really liked this book!

    I really liked this book. I wish it were a bit longer though, I felt like there were parts that should have been expanded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definite chick lit read!

    Review by Valerie:
    If you're looking for a great chick lit book, this one's a definite read! What is chick lit, you might be wondering...One of the blogs I follow says that the chick lit genre is "writing told in a more confiding, personal tone. It's like having a best friend tell you about her life. Or watching various characters go through things that you have gone through yourself, or witnessed others going through. Humor is a strong point in chick lit, too." This book has it all, I was hooked from page one!

    Annie has what others might consider the perfect job, really. She has a magazine column where she writes about places others might want to travel to giving them the good, the hidden, and the unexpected for each location. The job requires a lot of traveling, which in hindsight, means that she can sort of be there for her permanent boyfriend of five years - the man she will eventually marry - or is she really? While the thoughts circle around in her head, he makes an unexpected announcement. Well, was it totally unexpected? She had been watching her comfort movie, Roman Holiday, the classic. Each and every time she treated herself to the movie, during her entire life, something bad happened afterwards.

    In some ways, I thought the story might be predictable and I am so glad I was wrong. I enjoyed Annie's attempt to be "the opposite" of what she felt she was and the outcome, a quickie marriage. I laughed aloud as she moves to a town so small that other people can't even get the name right and then deals with her new husband's family. But, as good chick lit does, I also felt incredibly sad when things come to a head and she has to make a decision regarding her need for freedom and her need to settle down. No spoilers here but it's a trip you'll enjoy making with her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet with great ending

    Easy to read and relatable for anyone who has loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly Recommended - favorite book of the summer, favorite book of the year...

    People Magazine called this one of the best books of summer - and for good reason. I cannot describe how much I loved The First Husband. Laura Dave's writing simply is unmatched. There is a wisdom and beauty to how she writes about love and family. And the fact that this novel is a page turner seems like the ultimate bonus.

    The First Husband is a funny and moving story about a travel writer who learns to stop looking outside of herself to figure out what she needs. After a traumatic loss, she finds love in a surprising place -- and manages to find herself.

    The First Husband made me reflect on my own life. I can't wait to share it with my book club when I get to pick our read for next month. I simply can't recommend this book highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3