Customer Reviews for

First In: An Insider's Account of How the CIA Spearheaded the War on Terror in Afghanistan

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    AN HONOR...

    This book offers an inside view from such a privilaged vantage point seldom experienced by the public. It is a story that serves as a vivid reminder of the sharp, brave and selfless operations officers that put it all on line everyday for this great nation. Thank you and be safe...who ever you are.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Insiders View

    I loved reading this, it is a non-bias, insider's view of Afghanistan just days after 9/11. To read the intelligence that was retrieved, it is amazing. A true tribute to the intelligence community.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    Highly recommended

    I read this book in the hopes of gaining a deeper understanding about the complexity of our relationships with middle-eastern countries, such as Afghanistan, as well as satisfy my curiousity about the intelligence and political worlds, and this book fulfilled both of these things for me, and more. I absolutely love the way it is written and I was engaged in every page. There is humor, suspense, respect and humility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Thunder/Lightning

    Thunder gives her bro a friendly shve and yowks his name. Lightning looks suprised and honered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Wave

    Smiles and howls their names

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Clover

    Nice catch! She woofed tail wagging. She firmly gripped the deers back leg and looked up to Spear. Ready. She nodded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Spears Annoucement (REDO)

    Spear lept onto a large rock, he watched the moon reach its peak. He howled "All wolves gather before the moon." He watched the wolves gather, his blue gaze glinted with exciment. With a quick bark "Arrow step forward. Do you promise to use your skills to become the best wolf you can be?" Arrow nodded "Yes." Spear nodded "Bloodfang, will you be Arrows mentor?" "Yes." Barked Bloodfang. He woofed "Sparrow step forward." Sparrow stepped forward, "Do you promise to ecome the best wolf you can be?" Sparrow yipped "Yes!" he grinned "Clover will you mentor Sparrow?" Clover barked "Yes." He paused for a moments "Wave you have agreed to be Alpha Female, but rember it doesn't mean we are mates. Lightening and Bloodfang you two shall be the packs betas." He bowed his head "Thank-You."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    This book is fantastic. It is a rare look into the CIA's work ab

    This book is fantastic. It is a rare look into the CIA's work abroad. Very well written and never dull. A must read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Much better than Berntsen's book

    Great

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    warts and all

    A you are there account of the battle in the real war on terror. The great success gained by this cia team and sf soldiers against the taliban and al qaida have been squandered because the administration turned it's attention elsewhere. Now afghanistan is in play and we will have to see if the u.s. joins past powers the soviets and brits in an ignominious exit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3