Customer Reviews for

The First Lady

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is truly a good book! I love Carl Webber

I found the characters to be believable just like in his other books. It was a quick read and it kept my attention which is hard to do.

posted by Always-Phocused on May 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cussing and drinking

I wish i could find a book that doesnt use the sh and the f word in every paragraph. The title had me thinking it was a Christian book. Instead there are liquor-drinking pastors and wanna be first ladies with potty mouths. I made it to page 40 and couldnt take anymore.

posted by 8728570 on September 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is truly a good book! I love Carl Webber

    I found the characters to be believable just like in his other books. It was a quick read and it kept my attention which is hard to do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a READ

    Okay so this book my auntie had and years ago I meant to read it. Well I could not figure out this simple title. Well I can say it was worth the wait and a wonderful read. The flow of the perspectives was wonderful. Seeing things from each person involved was wonderful way to really get in deep with the characters. The First Lady is a book that will guide you in a understanding of what it means to love someone, however also how judging one is not really the proper way to know them. It shows how low women can get to be with the perfect (only in their eyes) man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    A Good Book.

    This was the first book I read from this author after going to a book signing at Barnes and Noble and I was very pleased. Short chapters and straight to the point.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Ok read

    I am not impressedvwith books that just tell a story on the backs of church folks. Yes maybe there are people like these characters in our congregation. But the story line became too predictable and I simply beganfanning the pages just to finish tue book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Great story concept and style!

    Mr. Weber has outdone himself with his unique concept, and style of writing. It is quite impressive. The charactets were well developed and each having realistic personalities of church folks. Albeit, being a first lady myself, and having much experience in church politics, I personally found the storyline a little predictive, however, I was entertained and found myself laughing at the events in the book. I
    recommend this book to others. I look forward to reading more of Mr. Weber's books. Great job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great read

    Carl Webber does it again. Once you get into his books its hard to put them down & this one makes no exception, once I got to the end I wanted more :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Good book! Definitely enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    the first lady

    this was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    AWESOME!!!

    This book is a must read for all readers. Mr. Carl Weber had done it again! I cannot wait to read "The Choir Director".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Very good book that continues the story of 2 of the characters from the book 'So you call yourself a man'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kept me reading page after page. Intriguing Plot.

    When I first started reading "The First Lady" I was about to close the book and forget about it, because it was so boring and tedious to read. I'm glad I didn't, because this story turned out to be a very enjoyable read. By midway, I was getting a good dose of all the spitefulness and scheming that these women of the church could dream up. Cark Weber didn't hold anything back as he unfolded the driving force of these women as they competed to become the new First Lady of Jamaica Ministries. By this time, I was hooked, so I kept reading and wondering which of these women would triumph and be crowned First Lady.
    In my opinion, it's a wonderful, entertaining novel and except for the slow start it will keep you turning page after page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!!

    I must say the ending shocked me but I wasn't by far disappointed. I really enojoyed this book, even though it started out slow, and I put it down a couple of times before really getting into it, but I must say I am pleased once again by Mr.Carl Weber.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD READ

    THIS WAS A REALLY GOOD BOOK. THE WAY THE FIRST LADY KNEW HER HUSBAND SO VERY WELL WAS SHOCKING BUT I GUESS THATS WHAT REAL WIIVES KNOW. I REALLY ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2008

    CARL WEBER FAN!!!!!!

    Carl Weber has done it again!The fight for the bishops love, and the suspense of who the bishop would make as the next first lady made every page of this novel worth it. Would recommend it to everyone. Can't wait to read his next novel.....Something on the side!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2