Customer Reviews for

First Lady

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    One of my long-time favorites

    I recently re-bought this when I couldn't find my copy. It was as fun on re-read as I remembered.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Good, but not my favorite by SEP

    Cornelia Case wants nothing more than to escape her life in the public eye. After her husband, the president of the United States was assassinated Cornelia longs to experience the ordinary. She manages to disguise herself and elude the secret service men tasked with her safety. On her adventure she meets up with Matt Jorvich who finds himself the guardian to two children Lucy and Button. Lucy at 14 whose Mother recently died has been raising Button by herself. Cornelia finds herself on a journey with the Jorvich to find the girls' grandmother. Along the way Cornelia finds herself part of a family.

    First Lady was an enjoyable read. I thought the characters were endearing. The adventures they found themselves in were fun to listen to. First Lady isn't my favorite book by SEP. I can't really put my finger on why. I enjoyed the characters. Although I thought maybe towards the end that Cornelia and Matt were extremely stubborn in their resistance to their feelings for one another, Matt especially about having a family. If they would have just talked about things, misunderstandings could have been avoided. I know this review is short, but I just don't have much more to say about it. I enjoyed the story, but it wasn't my favorite by SEP. That about sums it up for me.

    *Interesting factoid:* Lucy makes an appearance in SEP's latest release Call Me Irresistible as Teddy Beaudine's fiancé.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Not a boring moment

    My husband's cousin has been telling me about this book for a few months but i never really got around to it. One day, at a bookstore i decided to give it a try although the sypnosis did not appeal to me. But once i opened this book i could not stop! It was filled with romance and was so funny it made me laugh out loud, i mean..REALLY LAUGH out loud ( there have been other books that have made me laugh inwardly but never out loud, just something that bubbled in deep inside but never really made it quite to the surface). The characters had a magical identity of their own. Good job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Ranks Right Up There With 'Nobody's Baby But Mine'

    I truly loved this story! The characters seemed so real to me. This was a book that I couldn't put down. The chemistry between Nealy and Mat and the connection Nealy develops with the children in this story is so real. Susan Elizabeth Phillips knows people's real emotions and knows how to write about them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2000

    Moving Story

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips' characters are real people with real problems, poignantly portrayed warts and all. Perhaps in her books love always conquers all - but it's never an easy journey. She writes wonderfully and even poetically of life with all it's ups and downs. Her characters make mistakes, have bad things happen to them - but they triumph. Mat and Nealy are wonderful characters who in the end realize their own potential. Mabel has got to be the first winnebago in literature to be so wonderfully characterized. Even Button is a fully realized character and she hardly talks. There is almost no story that SEP cannot bring fully, vibrantly to life with lust and laughs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    I loved this audiobook. Anna Fields did a fabulous job reading

    I loved this audiobook. Anna Fields did a fabulous job reading it. The book is touching, playful, and humorous. There's just the right amount of sex, not going into every single detail. I look forward to more books by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and read by Anna Fields.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    check it out!

    Just a fun book to read. Never know what will come up next. I didn't think it could end the way it did. Must read it all the way through!
    Maybe you know someone just like the them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Wonderful Book!

    I enjoyed this book so much. It was funny, romantic, loving and so much fun to read. Never read this author before this book but already bought the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Fantastic

    I jut read The Great Escape andcrwalised I had missed this title- the story of Lucy's parents. Loved it- our course it had the classic SEP style and a great heartfilled storyline. A not to miss story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Phillips book

    Enjoyed this one as much as her others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Okay

    Great characters. Story started very intriguing with some unexpected plot twists. Got very predictable as the story developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I really liked this. It was a little predictable and sentimental, but a great read anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    VERY GOOD

    HOLD YOU INTEREST AND VERY EAZY READING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    One of my favorites!

    Phillips chooses a unique twist in this book... Like always, a fast, easy, and entertaining read. This is on the top of my Phillips list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    I laughed, I cried

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written and paced quite well. I ran the gamut of emotions with this one. One moment nearly in tears, the next laughing out loud. Though the characters were not what could be considered 'everyday people' they were still easy to relate to. Witty and full of emotion. This is the first book I've read by this author and I can't wait to read others. I hope you enjoy this one as much as I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    Action Comedy Romance at its best

    Funny, sexy and heartwarming. Lots of action. This book is vastly underrated. It is a delicious read of substance to the very last drop. The sexy masculine hero with his share of human hangups eventually discovers a heart under a gruff exterior for a 'first lady' he can't deny, nor the sexual tension that sizzles between them. That he eventually learns to love (and which he fights against all the way) and accept two abandoned children trusted to his care after their mother died and 'left' them to him makes for a further marvelous read. The heroine is a winner. Having led a life of the wealthy all her life she faces challenges that most of us take for granted as being a part of everyday life when she decides to escape from her oppressing responsilities as a First Lady who's being forced to continue as a standin even after her president-husband has died. Much to his disgust our loner-by-nature hero finds himself unavoidably saddled with a surly teen and a baby (who falls in love with him to his groaning chagrin) and a runaway First Lady (although she hides her true identity) who hitches a ride with the trio in their R.V., gives many hilarious moments - not to mention the steamy ones with the lady hitcher- throughout the story, as they make their way across country. Especially as the FBI and the entire country is pulling out all stops to find their missing First Lady. Toward the end when the hero has tough and heartrending choices to make lends a poignancy you won't soon forget. The ending is fabulous. Not a mediocre page in this entire book. This is one of my favorites. I've read it three times. I loved it. My other favorite is S.L Phillips' Lady Be Good - I laughed until I cried. But all of Phillips' books are classic reads. Also the ones by authors R. Gibson and J. Crusie that offer action/suspense,steaming romance, and great laughs...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2001

    Wonderful

    Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a wonderful writer. THis book was the first of hers I've read and I've been going back ever since. I can't wait to read the books that I haven't fotten to. I've only read four but that's enough for me to know that she is a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Overall it was pretty good.

    This book, though not her best, was very sweet. It's not my favorite from this author, though the real value of the story is in the comedy and the emotion. The way Phillips describes emotion in jesters, looks, and words from the characters makes up for the lack of reality to the situation. Ms. Phillips is a master of making one laugh and then moments later cry. I do not recommend as a first read for this author, but a definite read if you are already a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Extraordinary!

    This is the first of her books I have read and I enjoyed it tremendously. It's nice to find modern people in a truly happy romantic setting. Have since gone on to try to locate her other books and will look forward to enjoying them too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    Another fun novel by susan elizabeth Phillips

    This was a delightful book as they always are. I don't think it was her finest, yet definitely worth the read. The best part of her books are that she develops both main characters and they become so likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5