Customer Reviews for

First Light

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One book that is hard to put down!

Stead hit a home run in my humble opinion by mixing a science fiction type of thread with an issue that many kids are really concerned about - global warming. The characters are multidimensional and believable. It is not a predictable story line which kept me engaged. T...
Stead hit a home run in my humble opinion by mixing a science fiction type of thread with an issue that many kids are really concerned about - global warming. The characters are multidimensional and believable. It is not a predictable story line which kept me engaged. The middle school students that I have shared First Light with have all really liked the story a lot.

posted by kaski002 on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A nice bit of science fiction based on flawed "scientific" facts.

The concept of a group of people with special characteristics living under the ice of Greenland is unique. The idea of the melting ice pack as a result of global warming is fictional at best and is just another way to put the wrong ideas into a child's head by indocrina...
The concept of a group of people with special characteristics living under the ice of Greenland is unique. The idea of the melting ice pack as a result of global warming is fictional at best and is just another way to put the wrong ideas into a child's head by indocrinating him or her with this flawed and dishonest theory. I give the story five stars and the global warming nonsense one star. Parents should warn the children that is, indeed, fiction. It is not suitable for any child under the age of 12.

posted by JTomCooper on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    One book that is hard to put down!

    Stead hit a home run in my humble opinion by mixing a science fiction type of thread with an issue that many kids are really concerned about - global warming. The characters are multidimensional and believable. It is not a predictable story line which kept me engaged. The middle school students that I have shared First Light with have all really liked the story a lot.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    amazinggggg

    a awesome story how 2 worlds colide makes you belive it could really happen!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "First Light" Book Review

    I thought that this book was amazing! It was extremly suspenceful and I couldn't put it down! I loved the discriptive words and all of the personification and similies! Although fictional, this book seems like it could be real, the way Rebecca Stead describes the modern time period and the "real" characters. I would recomend this book to anyone 10+! This book has two main characters, a boy named Peter, and a girl named Thea. Peter is from modern times New York and is going with his parents on an expidition to Greenland. While Thea lives in a secert world under the ice called Gracehope. This book is about how their two very different worlds collide with an interesting, new twist! This is the best book that I have ever read and I'm looking forward to reading all of Rebecca Staed's other books too! I had already read her book called, "When You Reach Me", and I would also recommend that book as well! I have loved all of her books and thought that they were awesome!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    !

    This book will change yoir life... please read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Stead,Rebecca

    This is a great book so far. I also think you should read "When you Reach me."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the most amazing books ever!!!

    I'm not mujch of a reader, so I thought I wouldn't enjoy an over 300 page book! I proved myself wrong, when I picked up this book and started reading it. First Light is a MUST READ!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Characters and Settings

    My son and I read this book over the summer with some of his friends in a kid's book club. All the boys in the club really enjoyed the book. It was a great read for both parents and kids.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Amazing Just Plain Amazing

    This book is a good and exciting book for the whole family I'm a kid who loves to read and I just found this book in the libary at school and thought i might check it out and it turns out i just plain love this book is so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    First rate

    Really good book, but it needs a seaqul , something to just wrap up the story , still, five star book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Really great book q This book is a must read!

    Best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Izzy

    It was a very interesting book. It kept me quessing around every courner. I wish there was a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I dont now how to read

    Readit no want to die no

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I am OMIGOSH!!!!!

    I luv his buk. It is so moving and awesome, I loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    V

    I have read this book 3 years ago..... checked it out from the library

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Hi im Rebbeca Stead

    If you want to talk to me let me know i enjoy the fans!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Really good :)

    I read this book in 4 sittings and it was really amazing... i love you rebecca stead!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Holly wow

    Great love it could not live with out her writing i love it soo much





    From someone u do not need to know

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    I love it!

    This book is very hard 2 put down! I love it soooooooo much! Buy it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    I LOVE REBBECA STEAD!!!!

    Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Wow. Just, wow.

    And did I say wow? The first half is interesting, then from about the time he sees his mother's drawing of the ring, it picks up speed and has you opening your eyes wide to read as fast as you can. What an incredible first novel! I have stayed up late to finish it and write this review, and tomorrow I am making it the book of the month at our library. Wow!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2