Customer Reviews for

First Night of Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Addictive. You simply cannot put this book down. It has you hook

Addictive. You simply cannot put this book down. It has you hooked from the first couple chapters. I quickly established a connection with the characters who I found very well-written with human flaws. I will pass this book on as one of my new favorite suspense authors....
Addictive. You simply cannot put this book down. It has you hooked from the first couple chapters. I quickly established a connection with the characters who I found very well-written with human flaws. I will pass this book on as one of my new favorite suspense authors. Book club recommended.

posted by Tiff757 on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great read but pages missing

The story was gruesome but riveting. Unfortunately, pages were missing from the ebook that marred the read. I hope that can be fixed. I am using a Nook tablet.

posted by 9538530 on August 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Landon Parham plays by his own set of rules in this debut suspen

    Landon Parham plays by his own set of rules in this debut suspense novel, First Night of Summer. The sequences were intricately woven with captivating characters and full of rich detail. Sometimes graphic in nature---walking right up to that line but careful not to cross it. Ricky Doors is a new level of villian as that people like him actually exist in our toxic society. Humanity can be cruel and inhuman whether we choose to recognize it or not. Isaac Snow and his family are forced to recognize it when Ricky Doors attempts to kidnap one of their twin daughters, forever changing the course of their life.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    In a world where every second person is a self-proclaimed writer

    In a world where every second person is a self-proclaimed writer, myself included, it's easy to forget what makes a debut author stand out among all the other newly published books. It is because they have distinct talent and are good. Let me rephrase that, they are damn good and it sets them apart from the rest of the newbies. Landon Parham is a case at point. While this book may appear to be your run-of-the-mill thriller at first glance, it thoroughly disabuses you of that notion within just a few chapters. He moves the plot forward through a mixture of point-of-views, leaving you hanging on every last sentence waiting to see what will happen next. First Night of Summer is a sad, haunting tale about an ex military man, Isaac Snow and how he must find a way to protect what is left of his family before he loses everything to a dark and demented evil. Some violent parts can be difficult to read, but you will not be able to put it down. It is a fast-paced read with a strong plot driven story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    A compelling tale of murder, family, paranoia and real-life terr

    A compelling tale of murder, family, paranoia and real-life terror. Graphically written with horrifying detail, it can be difficult to read in some parts but I had to know what was going to happen next. I sped my way to the end. The writer leads you down a dark, sinful path--leaving you wondering if the sun will ever shine upon this broken family again. You walk side by side with the Snow family and suffer along with them as pain and heartache take over their lives. Justice is served in the end, and it leaves you wanting more. Good book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Horrifyingly realistic in its prose. Dark, twisted and sweetly

    Horrifyingly realistic in its prose. Dark, twisted and sweetly sentimental at the same time. I was sucked right in from the very beginning and carried along on an icy wind all the way to the end, unsure where my journey would take me. Great literary prowess for a first time novelist, it surpassed my expectations and I am keeping an eye out for his next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Haunting and eye-opening in his storytelling . I will NEVER look

    Haunting and eye-opening in his storytelling . I will NEVER look at a white van the same again.  I took this book on vacation and completely neglected my family because I was so engrossed in this sadistic villain.  I will never take my kids for granted, and you can never be too safe in this evil world we live in. It could happen to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    This was a disturbing book. That is a good thing. When a book ca

    This was a disturbing book. That is a good thing. When a book can affect my emotions like this book did, then I know that this author is doing something right. I liked how the author switched from Isaac's perspective to the killers. Isaac tugged at my heart and I felt so bad for him. There were mysteries that even I could not predict, and the author seamlessly tied them up at the end. I did not see that coming. The "blood" scenes were so descriptive that I could see the splatter. I give Isaac credit towards the end. What great character development. He was a different man. I am giving this book a 4/5. I was given a copy to review, however all opinions are my own. This is a very gruesome book, including a psychopath that rapes children, and is not for all readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Very well-written with a great story line. Fast paced and kept m

    Very well-written with a great story line. Fast paced and kept me guessing. Note: If you are of the sensitive nature, I would skip this one, as it does concern some child violence. If not, then give it a read! One of the best books I have read in awhile. I will be following this new author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Overwhelming read. It will explore all your emotions. I have rec

    Overwhelming read. It will explore all your emotions. I have recommended it to many of my fellow readers who like a challenging book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Perceptive, emotional storytelling and a refined prose. This is

    Perceptive, emotional storytelling and a refined prose. This is a challenging read, with a bold topic but worth it in the end. It will leave you heartbroken and changed forever...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I had a love/hate relationship with this book at first. I would

    I had a love/hate relationship with this book at first. I would have to put it down because of the disturbing sequences but I kept thinking about its story and had to keep returning to its pages. It touched me in ways that most books do not even come close to. Parts were difficult to think about and read but the overall plotline was enthralling. A very intense and engaging story following Isaac Snow and his family as they are chosen to be the next victims from an obsessed abductor, Ricky Doors. His unthinkable intentions are the horrors that haunt this family until the father, Isaac, turns the tables and decides to become the hunter. He will save what is left of his family or die trying...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Chilling and engaging storyline------ a real wake-up call to all

    Chilling and engaging storyline------ a real wake-up call to all parents. Absolutely terrifying, I felt as though I was part of their family and I could not put it down. Every chapter left you hanging by a thread, waiting to see what will happen next. I appreciated the quick pacing and unique writing style of this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Gruesome, disturbing and enthralling. I could not set it down. H

    Gruesome, disturbing and enthralling. I could not set it down. Had to see how it ended. Best book I have read in awhile. Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    I did not see this book coming. I was a bit caught off guard at

    I did not see this book coming. I was a bit caught off guard at first by the nature of this bad guy but then I got so drawn into this family's plight I couldn't set the story down. I wanted this guy dead just as much as they did. The suspense delivers in the second half and you will not be disappointed with the ending. Bravo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    A good suspense read but disturbing violence.

    A good suspense read but disturbing violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1