Customer Reviews for

The First Part Last

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(170)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

First part last

The book First Part Last by Angela Johnson was really good. Anyone looking for a good book that is short and and still fun to read, this is the book for you. You learn alot about teenage pregnacy, and all of the things you have to over come. The main characters name is ...
The book First Part Last by Angela Johnson was really good. Anyone looking for a good book that is short and and still fun to read, this is the book for you. You learn alot about teenage pregnacy, and all of the things you have to over come. The main characters name is Bobby, he is 16 and since he had intercourse with his girlfriend Nia, his life has changed forever. Bobby has to get rid of friends, sports, and his studies. Once his girlfriend Nia has the baby, he has to take care of it, he never sleeps anymore because Feather is keeping him awake. Bobby is raising this baby all by himself. When the baby was born they were going to put Feather up for adoption. Bobby loved Feather at first sight, so he decided that he wanted to take care of him. That might have been the worst decision he has ever made. People think that they wont get pregnant but this story shows that it happens often. I Liked the book alot, I reccomend this book to teenagers that are thinking about having sex for the first time, it could change your mind.

posted by mike68 on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I really wanted to fall in love with this book, but... I never did. From the beginning of the story I disliked Nia and couldn't understand why the daughter, Feather (dumb name by the way) lived with her father instead of her mother as that is not typically the case. I u...
I really wanted to fall in love with this book, but... I never did. From the beginning of the story I disliked Nia and couldn't understand why the daughter, Feather (dumb name by the way) lived with her father instead of her mother as that is not typically the case. I understand it now, but I still don't really like Nia. The book is written with parts of Then and Now alternating... but each part of the story is told so quickly, it's a little confusing. Overall the book could have been better, but it wasn't the worst book I've read.

posted by 8085658 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    First part last

    The book First Part Last by Angela Johnson was really good. Anyone looking for a good book that is short and and still fun to read, this is the book for you. You learn alot about teenage pregnacy, and all of the things you have to over come. The main characters name is Bobby, he is 16 and since he had intercourse with his girlfriend Nia, his life has changed forever. Bobby has to get rid of friends, sports, and his studies. Once his girlfriend Nia has the baby, he has to take care of it, he never sleeps anymore because Feather is keeping him awake. Bobby is raising this baby all by himself. When the baby was born they were going to put Feather up for adoption. Bobby loved Feather at first sight, so he decided that he wanted to take care of him. That might have been the worst decision he has ever made. People think that they wont get pregnant but this story shows that it happens often. I Liked the book alot, I reccomend this book to teenagers that are thinking about having sex for the first time, it could change your mind.

    29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this challenging book!

    The first part last by Angela Johnson, is an amazing book. I really recommen you to read it. The author really explains everything with details its very esay to understand she makes you feel like you were one of the characters in the book. Bobby the main charaters would change your mind about babies, if your a person that don't like babies he will make you feel how wonderful having a kid is,but mostly he's going to give you a lesson when to have one too. Its not that easy, so read this book its very intersting and emotional.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    The First Part Last

    I recently read this book and i thought it was really good! The book was very realistic! Things like teenage pregnancy and death during labor are real life things that are not planned or predicted! I felt that the father was very smart and deep and that he didnt quite know what he was doing or what he'd gotten himself into but he did the right thing for himslef and his baby! All in all its a great book not very long but has a very lomglasting impact!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Inspiring

    Every teen should read this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Great Book

    Sad in the end made my eyes water

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Its good

    Asome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    this book was really good, and emotional. if you like books that

    this book was really good, and emotional. if you like books that have lots of drama this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Love angela johnson

    Loved this book...did a book review in high school..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is such a GREAT book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Great book

    This is a good book and ths book shares what could happen in someones life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    I loved this book! This book is about a boy name Bobby and his

    I loved this book! This book is about a boy name Bobby and his girlfriend Nia. Bobby is about to be a father is very confused and not sure on what decision to make. I would recommend this book to any teen mothers or teen fathers that are struggling through this world. It really gives you an insight of what life would really be like if you had a baby. My favorite character is Bobby because no matter what obstacle he came to face he stood up to take care of his daughter but even though he wasn't prepared to be a father, he stayed strong through it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Take the time to read this!

    Read this because it is on a school summer reading list. I am glad I did. I am trying to find an extra week to add this to the currixulum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    J

    I cried so hard! My first teen pregnancy book :)
    As a young parent I can relate to the protagonists perspective of teen parenthood and wanting to do the right thing no matter what the consequences are

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    The First Part Last begins with Bobby celebrating his sixteenth

    The First Part Last begins with Bobby celebrating his sixteenth birthday party. When he goes outside he sees his girlfriend, Nia, sitting on the front porch. She looked very intense in her thoughts. Bobby asked what was wrong and she told him… she was pregnant. Bobby was a typical teenage boy. He was always in some type of trouble. After finding out he was going to have a baby he cleaned up his act. I really like how the book showed how hard it really is to have a child at such a young age. I think that this book is a wake up call to all teenagers. Bobby is forced to make unselfish decisions because he knows that is what is best for the child. This book does not focus on Nia as much as Bobby although. I wish it would have because becoming a mother and going through nine months of pregnancy is very tough for any women young or old. Another aspect of the book that I did not like as much was that the tone throughout the book was very monotonous. It could have had more expression in the book to show more emotion. It was a great book and a MUST read for every teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Emotional allready

    I only read the sample but it allready sounds good. It is good bcause it is what really happenes to people. But people dont realize how sad and hard it can be. Teenage pregnancy is common and thats how kids ebd up having tough live. Because the teenage parents usually arent ready to take care of a child. Sounds like a good book.
    Thanks for reading. :0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Very Captivating

    It was a good book to the inside of the life of a single teen father. It can be hard to follow at times, but it is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Very good read

    The book The First Part Last by Angela Johnson is a story about a teenage boy and his life as a father. Around his 16th birthday his girlfriend tells him she is pregnant which changes his life forever. The story flips back and forth from present time to the past to show why things are the way they are. In this story he finds it hard to balance his school work and taking care of his baby since his parents do not help much. this book shows how hard it is to raise a baby as a teenage couple and what they go through.I recommend this book to all teenagers because it shows how much a baby can change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Was Moved By The Ending

    Bobby is raising his baby, Feather. Teenagers Nia and Bobby are going to be parents. The chapters of this book don't follow the typical sequential order. Throughout the novel sixteen year old Bobby tells what's going on in his life 'now', and what happened 'then'. The story jumps from present to past, letting the reader know how things are for Bobby as a teen parent as well as how his life was during his girlfriend, Nia's, pregnancy. He fathers a child and, taking responsibility for his actions, he chooses to raise his daughter(without a whole lot of help from his parents)instead of giving her up for adoption. The author shows the reader teen parenting from a young man's point of view. The story is thought-provoking, and the selfless decision Bobby made in the end moved me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    powerful

    i read this book in 5th grade and i will read it again. this book will teach kids to think before they do any thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for people who are about to have a baby

    The First Part Last is about teen pregnancy. Bobby (the baby daddy) and Nia (the baby momma) both had that thing and Feather (the baby) was born. The book would be about growing up because you GOT A BABY TO TAKE CARE OF.
    It talks about both parts the before the baby and after the baby birth. Bobby gets tired of taking care of Feather due to school and her keeping him up all night.
    I gave it four stars because the chapters are jumpy it talks about the baby (now) and before (then) jump back and forth back and forth.
    The First Part Last is a good book but the chapters can confuse you. If the chapters started then and ended in now I'd give it five stars.
    Over all I think it's a good book but the chapters were very confusing to me. The chapters alter between then and now. Sometimes I had to read two or three chapters over again. I give it four stars due to its confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3