Customer Reviews for

The First Part Last

Average Rating 4.5
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(171)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

First part last

The book First Part Last by Angela Johnson was really good. Anyone looking for a good book that is short and and still fun to read, this is the book for you. You learn alot about teenage pregnacy, and all of the things you have to over come. The main characters name is ...
The book First Part Last by Angela Johnson was really good. Anyone looking for a good book that is short and and still fun to read, this is the book for you. You learn alot about teenage pregnacy, and all of the things you have to over come. The main characters name is Bobby, he is 16 and since he had intercourse with his girlfriend Nia, his life has changed forever. Bobby has to get rid of friends, sports, and his studies. Once his girlfriend Nia has the baby, he has to take care of it, he never sleeps anymore because Feather is keeping him awake. Bobby is raising this baby all by himself. When the baby was born they were going to put Feather up for adoption. Bobby loved Feather at first sight, so he decided that he wanted to take care of him. That might have been the worst decision he has ever made. People think that they wont get pregnant but this story shows that it happens often. I Liked the book alot, I reccomend this book to teenagers that are thinking about having sex for the first time, it could change your mind.

posted by mike68 on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I really wanted to fall in love with this book, but... I never did. From the beginning of the story I disliked Nia and couldn't understand why the daughter, Feather (dumb name by the way) lived with her father instead of her mother as that is not typically the case. I u...
I really wanted to fall in love with this book, but... I never did. From the beginning of the story I disliked Nia and couldn't understand why the daughter, Feather (dumb name by the way) lived with her father instead of her mother as that is not typically the case. I understand it now, but I still don't really like Nia. The book is written with parts of Then and Now alternating... but each part of the story is told so quickly, it's a little confusing. Overall the book could have been better, but it wasn't the worst book I've read.

posted by 8085658 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Loved it!!!

    Overall this was a great book... im happy to see a males point of view in raising a kid... no men dont give birth but this book shows just how a woman steps up and takes resposibiliy so can a man... great read :)

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    The World's Greastest Book on Young Parenthood

    This book is one of the best books that I have read. It had capture me in Part 1. I've read this book in three days. I wanted to keep reading it and bring it home so I could finish it. But, I couldn't It was time for me to leave and go. But, this book is great. I gave it 5 stars because, it deals with the pressure of going to his parents and Nia's. Him crying for his mom because, he now has to be a grown up even though he's just a kid hisself.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great

    Awesome book i read when i was 12 ...and its a great story with a lot of cuss words thou

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book!

    I usually buy and read about 2 to 3 books a week and this is in my top 10 favorites. Everyone usually focuses on the mother when it comes to teen pregnancy, but this book is told by the father who is raising his baby alone. The entire book is great, but the ending is amazing! I think teenagers and Adults both would enjoy this very touching story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    fantastic book

    i loved this book! its a great read! =) it made me think about the choices that we make in life as teenagers...i think teens should read this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Great

    It is ver moving. It is very powerful and enjoyable. I would recomend this to anybody and everybody.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Click on this review

    Tell me the summary of this story, including ALL of the juicy details. The headline should read: SPOILER ALERT!!! Thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I work in the field of adoption so I enjoy reading about teens/unplanned pregnancy in my "free time." This book was an excellent read for really any teen who is sexually active or thinking about it, or has a friend who is. This book gives the unique perspective of the birth father. And the ending is both sad and unexpected. A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Amazing

    This book captures the mind of teens towards talking about teen pregnancy. Its important to explain to your child the struggles and changes you have to do just because of that one mistake of getting pregnant while still being a teen. This story explains the life of uthis boy named bobby and the life changing moments he has to do while raising his daughter by himself.......... :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    first part last

    this book is off the chain and the hook it involves teen pregnacy and bieng a mother and a father stepping up to the plate doing the right thing owning up to there responsibilities....i really like this book and i think that you will too so check it out................?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    it was an amazing book i love this book i can read this book ove

    it was an amazing book i love this book i can read this book over and over again!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    This book sucked

    Stupied

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    An amazing book

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Great book

    Just amazing. great story. great characters and everything read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Awsome book ever

    I love this book it a heart felt book and the baby on the front cover is so ctue i looooove this book.....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This was post by kiarah lemon love u all !!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    You have to read this book!

    It is such a good book. It teaches you alot about teen parents... it is SO good. You HAVE to Read It......HAVETO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    I've read this several times. It only takes about a day to read,

    I've read this several times. It only takes about a day to read, but it lacks nothing. A great story told of teen fatherhood, not something that gets written about as often as teen motherhood. The First Part last is poetic, touching, and very real. This is not a preaching sort of book. It is one to cherish. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Excellent book! I love the way she wrote it, going back and fort

    Excellent book! I love the way she wrote it, going back and forth between now and then, because isn't that the way we live our lives? We go through something and then look back to what changed in our lives to get us there. Then we use that to determine whether we made a good choice or a bad choice, and apply it to the current situation. I am a HS Family & Consumer Scienes (Home Ec.) teacher, and I read this to my parenting classes. It's a little more difficult for them to keep up with since we can only do a small amount each day, so I usually recap the previous day's reading prior to starting. They all love the book and rush to the library to check it out ... especially if we "don't have time" to finish it ;-) (whatever I can do to get them reading!) I believe it accurately shows the changes that come from being both a single parent and one still in school, especially high school. Additionally, the characters are black, which further relates to the majority of my students. I would recommend this book to students as early as 8th or 9th grade (1 slightly steamy section prevents me from recommending any lower).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Addictive

    I love this book to death. It gave me a point of view that i never haf befire. I dint want to put the book down when i started to read it. Must read book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Amazing

    This was one of the best books I have ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9