Customer Reviews for

The First Patient

Average Rating 3.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Uniquely Brilliant

Michael Palmer outdoes himself with this one! This book is brilliantly crafted and well written. The plot is unique, filled with suspense,twists and turns,and VERY VERY SCARY. The reader is held captive with the question: COULD THIS REALLY HAPPEN? The suspense builds an...
Michael Palmer outdoes himself with this one! This book is brilliantly crafted and well written. The plot is unique, filled with suspense,twists and turns,and VERY VERY SCARY. The reader is held captive with the question: COULD THIS REALLY HAPPEN? The suspense builds and builds. The height of surprise and pathos comes near the end when the mastermind behind the president's mysterious illness is revealed.

posted by Anonymous on April 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

N

Right off the bat, we have harriet klausner ruining another book. Another lost sale for bn because i refuse to buy a book after this self righteous poster reveals every detail of the book. Why waste money? Harriet klausner seems to think other ppl are too stupid to read...
Right off the bat, we have harriet klausner ruining another book. Another lost sale for bn because i refuse to buy a book after this self righteous poster reveals every detail of the book. Why waste money? Harriet klausner seems to think other ppl are too stupid to read, so she takes it upon herself to divulge every detail of the book.

posted by 8888649 on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I read this book from the CDs in my car on an crosscountry holiday trip. I did not finish before I arrived at my destination and found myself creating reasons to drive in my car so I could hear the book. Now that's a great book. If you like thinking about clues and enjoy credible characters embedded in mystery setting, you will like this one.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Uniquely Brilliant

    Michael Palmer outdoes himself with this one! This book is brilliantly crafted and well written. The plot is unique, filled with suspense,twists and turns,and VERY VERY SCARY. The reader is held captive with the question: COULD THIS REALLY HAPPEN? The suspense builds and builds. The height of surprise and pathos comes near the end when the mastermind behind the president's mysterious illness is revealed.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Riveting plot, disturbing if not frightening when we consider the reality that can, and probably does, permeat high political office and those who would sieze and hold power, at any cost.

    We do not often get a treat that comes in the form of a new look at a subject, particularly the timeless subject of political intrigue. Although the story, at times, rides on the edge of fantastic, it it wholly believable. My difficulty in providing a more comprehensive review comes from the fact that the story holds some surprises and it would be unfair to the readers to reveal too much. Michael Palmer has been placed high on my list of favorite authors.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The First Patient

    I loved this book. Palmer never lets me down. I thought that the plot was original, the characters entertaining and the conspiracy completely believable. I would definitely give this book as a gift.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Excellent book

    This was my first m. Palmer book and I am a forever fan. I plan to read Everything he write. Thanks to the advice of a wonderful taxi driver I met while in Boston, I ordered The Patient today and cant wait to get started. Mr. Palmer, keep wriring!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book keeps you guessing right to the end. Good, fast page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    I was hoping it would be a good mystery and I was right

    I was surprised all the information it revealed; about the white house. It would make sense for them to act like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read! One of Palmer's best.

    The plot on this book is creative. I have read many of Michael Palmer's books, and this one is in the top 3. It had enough edge of your seat moments that made you want to keep reading, but did not quite make you look over your shoulder to make sure you weren't being followed. The plot is plausible, especially for anyone who is a government comspiracy theorist. Once you start it, you won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read!

    Couldn't put this book down. Characters are interesting and writing style weaves a great story! Right when I thought I knew who was the "bad" guy, the story would "turn" in another direction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Fast and Fun

    Great beach read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A great vacation read

    A fast moving book, with lots of twists and turns. Truly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Politics, medicine, and suspense

    In an election year, Michael Palmer has added politics and a bit of nanotechnology to the excellent medical fiction he writes. I found the writing to be extremely good, the characters well-drawn, and the surprises just kept on coming until the very end. I'm looking forward to Palmer's next work. My advice is to suspend your disbelief (hey, this is fiction) and enjoy the ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Exciting thriller

    Michael Palmer has always been one of my favorite authors for years, and this one did not disappoint! It grabbed me from the very beginning and I was so enthralled that I never wanted to put it down. It's full of twists and turns and surprises, intertwining all of the different stories seamlessly. Just when you think you know who 'the villain' is, you'll find yourself wondering if it could be someone else, which to me made it all the more interesting. I was anxious to get to the end and see if I had figured it all out! If you are a fan of Michael's, you won't be disappointed. I recommended this to a co-worker, and we both want it to be made into a movie! It was that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Riveting. Couldn't put it down.

    I am now reading all the books by this author! They are books I can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. It was fast paced and kept my interest up

    I enjoyed this book. It was fast paced and kept my interest up to last page. Couldn't put it down. Have passed it on to friends so they can enjoy too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Interesting concept & great reading

    I've liked Michael Palmer books, but was intrigued by the thought of having only one patient, and at this level, let's just say I didn't want to put it down for meals, sleep, anything! Definitely worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    A new twist plot!

    Really enjoyed this book because it had a plot that I had not read anything like before. If you like who done its you will like this one. I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2008

    Couldn't Put it Down

    Another outstanding read from this author. No subtle hints either, I suspected everyone, even the First Lady. A little futuristic with the idea of dosing this medication, but who knows? A real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    Hold on to your seats!

    THE FIRST PATIENT should come with a warning label, because it grabs you and refuses to let go. If you¿re familiar with Michael Palmer¿s unique writing voice, then you already know to clear time for this fast-paced medical thriller. In his latest book, Palmer takes the most complicated of topics, nanotechnology, and weaves it in to a modern-day suspense story with live bodiless brains and an underground, secret lab. Throughout the story, the logical part of my mind was screaming this couldn¿t happen in real life. All the while, the other part of me wondered if it could. The end result had me believing it¿s a very real possibility. The story opens with the President of the United States, Andrew ¿Drew¿ Stoddard, enlisting the aid of an old friend, Dr. Gabe Singleton. The President¿s previous physician has disappeared and he needs someone he can trust. Reluctantly, Gabe accepts the job. After arriving at the White House, but before settling in, he discovers the President isn¿t well. For the past three months, the President has had four mysterious episodes resembling a seizure. Dr. Ferendelli had been working on the mystery when he disappeared and now Gabe is left with this responsibility. With pressure to invoke the Twenty-fifth Amendment, Gabe is in a race against time to find out what¿s causing this mystery illness. Before he can get answers, an attempt is made on his life. He¿s rescued by a nurse, Alison Cromartie, who¿s actually working for the Secret Service. A step closer to the truth is a step closer to danger. Uncovering the truths will also shed light on an accident that happened many years ago when Gabe and Drew were in the navel academy. It¿s hard to tell who will live and who will die until the last chapter. One thing is for certain, nothing will be the same again for the President or his physician when the dust settles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Captivating...possible?

    Excellent, keeps one engaged from start to finish. Wonderful way to spend time reading! Michael Palmer just keeps getting better and better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4