Customer Reviews for

First Rider's Call (Green Rider Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it.

    Green Rider was a great book, and First Rider's call is an awesome sequel. In the first book you were introduced to the characters but in this book they were more developed and you learned to know and love them. I love the relationship between the riders, and all the different green riders have distinct personalities. It makes me want to be a Green Rider myself. The only thing I found wrong was the romance. Most fans love Zachary and Karigan, but I wanted Karigan and Alton together as hinted in the first book. I love this series and still find myself thinking about it often even though it's been weeks since I reread it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    It was OK

    I liked book one and had high hopes for book two, but in the end it didn't get me at all excited for book three. I am curious who and where the characters end up and how the wall bit gets resolved, but it's the getting there that's becoming tedious. I might continue the series somewhere down the line...don't know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Loved it! simply love interest, the book definitely fits into a

    Loved it! simply love interest, the book definitely fits into a young adult category, but it's still fun and the main character is lovable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Great Read

    A spirited continuation of the Green Rider series. If only I could write with this imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Cool

    I liked the first book. The second was better than the first. I cant wait to read the next book. I like how the horses act. Its kind of funny. I think a lot of people would really like this book. I also like how the riders have all different kinds of powers. The king is super cool too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    Definitely a good follow up to the first book and as other's hav

    Definitely a good follow up to the first book and as other's have mentioned one really needs to read book 1 before reading 'Rider's First Call'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable followup to "Green Rider" -- I liked it; I d

    Enjoyable followup to "Green Rider" -- I liked it; I did not start reading series until 1st 4 books were published or I think I would have been ticked off waiting 4 years between books. Did not perfectly seem to fit with first book and did not seem to be a complete story arc in and of itself (definitely would not read without first reading first book in series).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    book 2

    These books are great! Especially for horse lovers. The story line/ plots are excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    I can't wait for the next book in this series. I love the world that Britain has created. Strong, brave yet humble Karigan is one of the best lead characters. A touch of magic, really smart horses, ghosts that help out every once in a while, GREAT STUFF! I really love these books. If you like fantasy, you will love these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great continuance

    I loved the continuance of this series. It is on my shelf and I am waiting on #3. This set is definitely a keeper. The storyline lets you think of what may be occurring in the future but is not a "I thought so".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Great read for fans of Mercedes Lackey and Tanya Huff

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I had trouble putting it down until I finished (when I wasn't at work). The storyline was filled with nonstop action and sometimes things happened that were not what I was expecting. I cannot wait to read The King's Tomb next as I'm hoping that book will resolve a few things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    One of the greatest books ever, that few people have heard of

    I absolutely adore this book. When you sit there and try to think of all the things you love about it, it's hard to explain. It just works. It has great characters, an original storyline, and isn't so extremely shallow and overdone like so many books out there today. Sure, it might confuse some small minded people, but it really gives your brain something to chew on. When you read it you're not like *yawn* 'Been there done that.', instead you're like 'Whoa! That's new!' Kristen Britain really knows what she's doing. I think that the only reason this series isn't doing as well as it deserves is because the first book was a little bland and boring. It's definitely worth reading just so you can get to this book, and the third book. Trust me, ya gotta read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Wait for the next book to come out cause to me it leaves you hanging i mean in the last sentence all you r doing is staring at the ceiling!!!!!!! i started screaming words sailors would lower their heads in shame to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    I LOVE IT

    This book keeps my heart pumping! It draws me into the magical world of mystery, courage,fear,magic,and love. I'm very frustrated though that it left me hanging! COME OUT WITH THE 3rd one NOW!!! I love them and hope you will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Some unintelligent people out there....

    I didn't find anything at all confusing about this book, even though I have not completed it yet. I have 20 pages left and so far nothing has left me scratching my head as it seems to have done with all of its other readers. The problem is not so much the book, which I am enjoying so far, but the people whose reading levels aren't adavanced enough to comprehend what is happening. Believe me, it all makes perfect sense if you can actually READ IT and read it CORRECTLY. Honestly, it is a bit more advanced than your average fantasy novel, but if you can't understand it and you're not getting as much out of it as you could, than don't read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    AMAZING!

    This book was awesome and I can't wait for the third one to come out! I agree that the ending was a bit frusterating, but I'm sure the third book will show up for it. I think the third book is coming out some time in November 2007. I hope so! Anyway, this book was awesome and I recommend it to any body that loves fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    An Engaging Tale

    I loved the first installment of this series, but the second was even better! It gave much more structure and 'rules', to the arcane aspects of the story, making it much more beleivable and easier to become part of the story. It doesn't drag for a moment, (which is often the downfall of many potentially good books), and it leaves you craving more. It goes into several story lines and love triangles, just as in real life, but doesn't give you terribly frustrating or complex names, or story lines, to memorize. I love to read, but I have ADD and books that have more than five names I could not possibly remember, much less pronounce, irritate me to no end. If you have trouble following this engaging story though, you might need to find a book of a lower reading level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    The Perfect Book

    I really enjoyed First Riders Call and have recommended it to everyone I know. So many people have enjoyed it and I love the combination of genres Kristen Britain creates. A little bit of romance, (not so much that it's sappy) alot of action, (always good) a few bits of comedy here and there, (not enough to take away from the mood of the book) and a fast moving plot that keeps you guessing. If you're looking for a book to get someone as a gift this and Green Rider (the first book in the series) would be perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Jolly good most of the time..

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first one, and this one was pretty sweet as well, but the skipping around of perspectives was a little too much--almost confusing at times. There were some unneeded characters that she added, but it was still a wonderfully gripping novel. It pulled you in and wouldn't release until it ended, and made you hungry for more. Very good, and I'm waiting for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Say What?

    green rider was a great book, but the second one left somthing to be desired. the plot was a bit too hard to follow, and the main character's personality changed completly in a short time. there were too many people, places, and things to keep track of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 225 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12