Customer Reviews for

First Test (Protector of the Small Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 202 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun and Rambunctious Tale about a girl who beats the odds!

    Kel is truly a girl to test the limits of greatness. In this first book we find a girl who won't let a slap in the face deter her from a goal worth fulfilling. This book kick-starts the tale of Kel, who wants to become the first woman knight since Alana. As a protector of good friends and true chivalry, all readers will enjoy how Kel faces the odds and overcomes the obstacles put in her way. Don't let the quiet girl mislead you, she has a iron will and a dangerous punch. Read about a character worth knowing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    first test is a bool you will want to read over and over again

    Kel is an amazing charactor. i love her spirt! I love it when charactors are spunky and stick up for them selves. when i first started reading i could not put the book down! This book comes highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    The best book ever! Kel is feirce and strong just like me! She inspired me to try and persuad my mom to let me take fenceing lessons! Even though I'v tryd thousand times already. Note to anyone who finds this book: BUY IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    awsome

    This is one of the best books I ever read. Its very capturing, I couldnt put it down. I finished the whole series in less then a week. I wish she made more though because it was reallly good. alwell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    The best book i have ever read

    After the first two chapters you will just be hooked to this book. It is very very very creative, and i swear anyone will love it. (actually girls would like it much more) Belive me. After reading this book you will be like, oh my god i have to read the other three books. Pierce has a mix of realitly, courage, determination, fantasy, and friendship in this book. Just the topic of the book is very uniquie, i mean that in a very great way. This is my favorite seires books. Just READ IT. You will be hooked. Yes, when i was reading this book i was the girl reading at lunch and recess ,and at the restrants, in the car, and at dance. I can't even pick words to describe how wonderful this book was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Great Book

    It was a very good book and I found my self feeling bad for Kel. Tamora Pierce really draws you into her books with just the right amount of detail, adventure, and some little but very noticeable sidestory. In First Test, Keladry is not treated fairly by anyone and her hero is not allowd any contact with her. She tries to prove her worth many times and still thinks she is going to be kicked out by her and her fellow pages' trainer at the end of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    I love this book!!

    I think this book is a wonderful beginning to a wonderful, exciting series. I highly recommend it to people who love fantasy and magic. It also demonstrates, along with the other three books of the series, that girls are just as strong and good as boys are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Another great Tamora book!

    Another great girl-power book from Tamora Pierce, this series is set after the Alanna books. Keladry is the first girl to openly train as a knight, and many people aren't happy about it. Foremost among them are her prejudiced master, Lord Wyldon, and many of her fellow male trainees. But Kel also gathers friends about her, including her page sponsor, the wise-talking, witty Neal, and several other pages. With her prowess in weapons to aid her, Kel goes at her obstacles with a will. This book is interesting because Kel has to openly train, whereas Alanna was disguised. Kel must endure taunts, threats, and doubt from all around her. I love her strong, bold character, and the bravery with which she faces her challenges. Once again, Tamora has created a wonderful story with an engaging cast, full of characters to cheer and boo. I hope she continues to write many more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Amazing!!!

    Looking at the title, I didn't think I'd like it, but I decided to give it a try and I read through it in a day. It was outstanding. Guess you really can't judge a book by its cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    BUY THIS SERIES

    This is the first bok fo an amazing series that will capture your heart and hold it forever! It is the storie of a young girl trying to become a knight in a prejuced world, and even though she legally is able to, her master is a sexist fool who gives her challenges that she must overcome. This book is charming and you can overcome all of Kel's fears and celebrate her victories right along with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    C.Bishop

    I loved your book First Test! It makes me feel good about being a girL, because Kel proves that girls can do anything boys can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Best Book! Tammy P has outdone Herself again!

    Now I know what your thinking oh joy, another Tammy P book. It'll be the same, she'll go to knight training and become one. Your wrong! Yes, it's a little like Song of the Lioness. But, her days at knight training takes 2 books! And after that a creepy twisted plot! This book is great! It carrys on the tale of all the knights in Tortall, from Alanna to Kel, this book will have you begging for more! Take my word! It's about a young girl, she wants to become a knight. But shes a girl, Kel must show the boys that shes as good, maybe better, then any boy! Join Keladry, Nealen, Jump, the Sparrows, and many more in this great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    I like this book

    The book 'First Test' is overall a good book. At the beginning it didn't really make much sense. There was a little girl talking to all the adults and it was confusing. When the main character, Keladry, was finally introduced, her personality caught my attention. She was hard-headed and would stop at nothing until she proved she could become a knight. This book explains her beginning in becoming a knight. When Kel arrives at the academy she isn't really greeted with the friendliest of welcomes. The boys point and talk under their breath about how 'that's the girl'. Kel has to be assigned a sponsor to 'show Kel the ropes' and turns out to be a very good friend. When Kel begins her training the boys don't take it light and the head of the academy doesn't argue with it. In fact, throughout the book he calls her the Probationer. The head of the academy watches Kel throughout the entire book just trying to find a way to kick her out of the academy but unsuccessfully finds no excuse. There are a couple of incidents that lead Kel to where she almost was expelled. These incidents occur from a series of other older pages picking on the first year pages. Kel finally tries to stand up for these boys who were getting picked on by fighting with the bullies. When she is called to the head master's office, he asks if she is ready to go home. He is surprised however at her answer. I also like the fact that even though throughout the book, no matter how many obstacles are thrown in Kel's path, she never gives up but just tries even harder. From beginning to end Kel surprises everyone and there's even a surprise for her at the end that she never thought would happen...but it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    What I think.

    The First Test is the beginning of many trials for Kel,but she can handel it with the help of her loyal friends. Kel is the Protecter of the Small. She's brave and she will stand up to those who try to harm anyone who is harmless and can't fight for themselves. Kel is a great role model just like Alanna the Lioness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Best series ever!

    Tamora Pierce is a great auther, and she has out down her self with the Protector of the Small series. Kel is the best of all of Tamora Pierce's Characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    What I thought about Kel and the book

    Kel is a tomboy and a role model for tomboys. Kel is brave, and fights for her gender. She stands up for her friends. This is a fantasy book set in Tortall with its strange creatures-very interesting!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Awesome.

    When I first read this series I hated it, mostly because I felt so loyal to The Song of the Lioness and The Immortals quartets. Somehow (I honestly don't know) I found myself, months after I read it, telling people it was my favorite TP quartet. And so it is. I love Kel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    First Test

    First test was an amazing story about Keladry of Mindelan a Life loving Girl and the first non-seacret girl page she deals with many problems with a girl aposing group and her confedence too. A definate read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Wow o Wow

    If you thought that Tamora's boks couldn't get any better then i suggest you read this book!! I couldn't put this book down at all. As soon as i got it finished reading the same day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    loved it

    I loved the book i wish i could be just like kel.She has so much courage.A lady at the book store told me some of her favorites and I chose between 2 and asked her which one i should pick.One of them was this book. When she chosen this one i was actionly hoping her to chose the other.When i started reading i couldn't stop it is a really a good book. After i read the book i got the other three soon after. Now im happy that she did chose this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 202 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11