Customer Reviews for

First Things First: The Rules of Being a Warner

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

It was fun to take a peek into the lives of Kurt and Brenda Warner...

Kurt and Brenda have one goal with their book "First Things First": to let people know the "real" Kurt and Brenda and show that their life is fairly normal - or as normal as can be expected. Each chapter begins with Kurt talking about a subject and then Brenda gives her...
Kurt and Brenda have one goal with their book "First Things First": to let people know the "real" Kurt and Brenda and show that their life is fairly normal - or as normal as can be expected. Each chapter begins with Kurt talking about a subject and then Brenda gives her take on it. They wanted to take the time to clear up the rumors as to how they met, talk about how they run their household and how they make their marriage work. They both readily admit there's not a perfect formula for how to be the best parents or how to have a happy marriage. But they've found out what works for them. Kurt and Brenda have rules for each other as well as for their children. One rule in their marriage is the importance of a weekly date nights and for Kurt spending time with his guy friends while Brenda spends time with her girl friends. Though they've had disagreements, their love for each other hasn't wavered. He says when they have their date nights or take time away without the kids, he's putting her first. "That's what it means to love someone - it means to choose that person first over and over again." Some of the Warner rules include sharing the favorite part of the day at dinner and having to hold hands with a sibling for ten minutes if unable to get along. Brenda shares her frustrations as a NFL wife and sharing Kurt with his fans. She talks about how when the family is out, Kurt is often approached for an autograph - it's something she knows comes with the territory but she still struggles with. They talk about their faith and the role God plays in their lives. Kurt talks about what he'll do after football and Brenda shares her hobbies outside of the home. Through it all, Kurt talks about how he wants Jesus' love to shine through everything he says or does - with his family and on the field.

It was fun to take a peek into the lives of Kurt and Brenda Warner. I really liked hearing both of their sides on topics. I love how Kurt talks about Brenda - it's so apparent how much he loves her. One thing he said stood out to me. He was talking about how he told her she was beautiful when her hair was a mess and she had on no makeup. "You're such a freak," she'll say, because she's always surprised that at the time she feels least attractive, I find her most beautiful." It's just so sweet to hear a guy make that effort. I also applaud his stand on his faith. He says, "I love that Jesus says we should love God so passionately. It's not like some girly "let's hold hands" kind of love; it's full contact. Jesus wants us to love God with our entire being - our heart, soul and mind. That's how I want to love him." This was a really good read - made me laugh, made me tear up at times - definitely one I'd recommend.

posted by snidbits on November 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I was anxious for this book to come out and looked forward to the release. That being said, I could not believe what I was reading after purchasing the book.

The title should have been "Brenda's Rules For Kurt Since I Was Cheated On By My First Husband". Kurt can...
I was anxious for this book to come out and looked forward to the release. That being said, I could not believe what I was reading after purchasing the book.

The title should have been "Brenda's Rules For Kurt Since I Was Cheated On By My First Husband". Kurt can play quarterback in NFL and lead teams to the Super Bowl, but can't have his own email account? She has to monitor every email he sends/receives? She confronts him about a contestant on a game show he teamed with after she sent flowers as a thank you with a phone number. I understand that could have been taken as a possible advance, but to call this out in a book is drama overkill. If the person continued to try to contact him, yes - one bouquet, no. She consistently calls out players (Larry Fitzgerald), friends and fans for their "horrible" acts and statements, admitting she will always say what is on her mind - meanwhile her behavior is worse than all of these combined. What she needs is a "Brenda" to control Brenda.

I thought one of the major components of a successful marriage/relationship was TRUST? Kurt shows his love and devotion to his wife through his actions and words daily only to be judged by the actions of Brenda's first husband. Unbelievable.

Brenda is either constantly whining about the price of fame (on and on and on about autographs - geez, I'm tired of hearing about) or bragging about the perks that come with same fame.

I applaud the Warner's for their constant charity efforts (monetary and time), but after hearing about each one in detail, it started to seem like a infomercial for their acts of kindness. I know of numerous people who give time and gifts who don't feel the need to be recognized and applauded by the public. Awareness of the fund is fine, but after 200 pages, it didn't feel that way.

I did like some of the family rules the Warners have, but they seemed to get lost within the World According to Brenda. I began the book with a desire to be fed useful information that could be applied to the everyday common person/family - after finishing the book, I find myself still hungry.

posted by number14 on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    It was fun to take a peek into the lives of Kurt and Brenda Warner...

    Kurt and Brenda have one goal with their book "First Things First": to let people know the "real" Kurt and Brenda and show that their life is fairly normal - or as normal as can be expected. Each chapter begins with Kurt talking about a subject and then Brenda gives her take on it. They wanted to take the time to clear up the rumors as to how they met, talk about how they run their household and how they make their marriage work. They both readily admit there's not a perfect formula for how to be the best parents or how to have a happy marriage. But they've found out what works for them. Kurt and Brenda have rules for each other as well as for their children. One rule in their marriage is the importance of a weekly date nights and for Kurt spending time with his guy friends while Brenda spends time with her girl friends. Though they've had disagreements, their love for each other hasn't wavered. He says when they have their date nights or take time away without the kids, he's putting her first. "That's what it means to love someone - it means to choose that person first over and over again." Some of the Warner rules include sharing the favorite part of the day at dinner and having to hold hands with a sibling for ten minutes if unable to get along. Brenda shares her frustrations as a NFL wife and sharing Kurt with his fans. She talks about how when the family is out, Kurt is often approached for an autograph - it's something she knows comes with the territory but she still struggles with. They talk about their faith and the role God plays in their lives. Kurt talks about what he'll do after football and Brenda shares her hobbies outside of the home. Through it all, Kurt talks about how he wants Jesus' love to shine through everything he says or does - with his family and on the field.

    It was fun to take a peek into the lives of Kurt and Brenda Warner. I really liked hearing both of their sides on topics. I love how Kurt talks about Brenda - it's so apparent how much he loves her. One thing he said stood out to me. He was talking about how he told her she was beautiful when her hair was a mess and she had on no makeup. "You're such a freak," she'll say, because she's always surprised that at the time she feels least attractive, I find her most beautiful." It's just so sweet to hear a guy make that effort. I also applaud his stand on his faith. He says, "I love that Jesus says we should love God so passionately. It's not like some girly "let's hold hands" kind of love; it's full contact. Jesus wants us to love God with our entire being - our heart, soul and mind. That's how I want to love him." This was a really good read - made me laugh, made me tear up at times - definitely one I'd recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    Disappointing

    I was anxious for this book to come out and looked forward to the release. That being said, I could not believe what I was reading after purchasing the book.

    The title should have been "Brenda's Rules For Kurt Since I Was Cheated On By My First Husband". Kurt can play quarterback in NFL and lead teams to the Super Bowl, but can't have his own email account? She has to monitor every email he sends/receives? She confronts him about a contestant on a game show he teamed with after she sent flowers as a thank you with a phone number. I understand that could have been taken as a possible advance, but to call this out in a book is drama overkill. If the person continued to try to contact him, yes - one bouquet, no. She consistently calls out players (Larry Fitzgerald), friends and fans for their "horrible" acts and statements, admitting she will always say what is on her mind - meanwhile her behavior is worse than all of these combined. What she needs is a "Brenda" to control Brenda.

    I thought one of the major components of a successful marriage/relationship was TRUST? Kurt shows his love and devotion to his wife through his actions and words daily only to be judged by the actions of Brenda's first husband. Unbelievable.

    Brenda is either constantly whining about the price of fame (on and on and on about autographs - geez, I'm tired of hearing about) or bragging about the perks that come with same fame.

    I applaud the Warner's for their constant charity efforts (monetary and time), but after hearing about each one in detail, it started to seem like a infomercial for their acts of kindness. I know of numerous people who give time and gifts who don't feel the need to be recognized and applauded by the public. Awareness of the fund is fine, but after 200 pages, it didn't feel that way.

    I did like some of the family rules the Warners have, but they seemed to get lost within the World According to Brenda. I began the book with a desire to be fed useful information that could be applied to the everyday common person/family - after finishing the book, I find myself still hungry.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    Great Book For Warner Fans

    I enjoyed this book! It is what it is: A book about a famous NFL/Christian family and what their rules for living are. They talk about things like lending money to friends and family, handling autograph seekers while eating out, having a child whose favorite player is not his father, cheering for players on the team playing against their daughter's team, how often other people have sex, and Brenda's love for Spanx. (How many women out there feely admit to a belly roll? Brenda does!)

    The most touching parts of the book are about their son Zack who is a special needs young adult. They freely discuss what happened to him and how they, as a family, have delt with it. Reading the stories of how Zack loves to pick up trash and how they accept this and feel that, well, maybe someday he'll have a job picking up trash in a movie theater is very touching. This story illustrates the totally matter-of-fact way they handle their lives.

    Kurt is one of the best-known Christians in the country and they write about how he lives his life as a religious person on and off the field. They also talk about the demands placed on him by his fans. And yes, they talk about groupies and Brenda's discomfort with the attention Kurt receives from women.

    What struck me most about this book is how honest they both are about their life and their family. There isn't a lot of sugar coating. If you come away not liking Brenda (or Kurt) after you read this book I don't think it's going to bother either one of them very much.

    For Cardinals fans their is a great story about how and why he decided to re-sign with the team.

    My favorite story in the book concerns a certain Thanksgiving dinner, BBQ and the local food court. Hilarious!

    If you love Kurt Warner or if you just want to read a good book on the life of one famous American family you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    Wow, what a life-changer!

    I recommend this book to everyone I know. It is absolutely amazing! Kurt and Brenda were so honest and sincere and I feel like I really know them! It was a very easy read, and I finished the book in a matter of a few hours! Their kids seem awesome, too, especially their oldest daughter, Jesse, who wrote the forward. I hope that everyone reads First Things First, because it is a wonderful story.

    GREAT BOOK. You'll love it, I promise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Gay

    Kurt warner is GAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    A Family of Faith in Action

    What I loved MOST about this book was the faithful, down-to-earth, journey this family has made (and used for God's glory - not their own)! Being a professional football player in this day and time is considered one of the most glamorous careers ever! Not only are they highlighted as "stars", they are given a lot of power, prestige and influence. Being a person that enjoys education and learning, most often I find myself upset that professional athletes are so grossly over-paid (In my opinion) compared to educators (which are much more valuable for educating our children to change our world for the better). However, I must say how extremely excited I am to see this man (Kurt Warner) rewarded for his talent - because he knows what to do with the fame - HELP OTHERS (as we have been commanded by our Creator). One of the many parts I enjoyed was when Kurt Warner informs us his Super Bowl ring is located under the family coach (he thinks). That is humility! He is a man who knows what's important (and that's CHRIST - NOT FOOTBALL!). I admire what his family has done and continues to do to help others less fortunate. In my heart, I know God placed him in this world at this time for a specific purpose - to glorify Him and His Children! I would like to personally thank the Warner's for being good and faithful servants! I pray God blesses each and every one of you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and funny - not what I expected!

    I received a trade paperback version of this book from Tyndale for review. When I got it, I wasn't sure when I'll start reviewing it. I wasn't sure how long it will take me to review it. I browsed through the pages, looked at the beautiful coloured photos. I decided to start with the Forward by Jesse (their eldest daughter) just to get a feel of the book. After the Forward, why not continue with the Prologue by the authors and after the Prologue, I challenge myself to just read chapter one to get a feel of the book as I really need to complete the other book I have with me. Before I know it, I'm halfway through the whole book! In total, I read this book in less than 2 days!
    For a non-fiction, it was an engrossing read. It was like Kurt and Brenda just fling open the door of their lives and share with us their family stories. It wasn't so much as a parenting guide book with their recommended do's and don'ts but more like a how they actually live the lives of the being a Warner and how they are guided by the 'rules' they established for themselves. However, the interesting thing is that they do not always agree on these 'rules'. For example, Brenda says Kurt is not to sign autographs when he's with his family and she gave her reason why (which I don't really agree with but nevermind). On the other hand, , Kurt sometimes still does it as he feels that it brought so much joy to his fans.
    Each chapter has a theme and then we have Kurt's version and then there's Brenda's version. Sometimes, I enjoy reading the different perspective to a situation. However, sometimes I was annoyed when there's repetitive in both versions which made me just a bit impatient in wanting to move along. This could be due to editing.
    The Warner also introduced us to the different characteristic of their kids. In total, they have 7 kids with 2 from Brenda's earlier marriage. Each kid has different personality and brought different parenting challenges to Kurt and Brenda. The writing is light with humour thrown in here and there and is really a fun book. I really enjoyed reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    Great Read!

    First Things First was a very easy read. It gave you a first hand look into the life of the Warner's. I'm kind of embarrassed to say that I really knew nothing about Kurt or Brenda Warner before I read this book. I'm the kind of person that doesn't really watch the game unless my team is winning. LOL. However, just by reading this book I feel like I know who the are better than I ever could by watching the game on T.V. . I really enjoyed reading this book! They are a Christian family with many helpful suggestions for family life. There isn't much information on his football career included in First Things First because it's mostly about his family and charity work.
    What do I love MOST about this book?
    I love that each chapter begins with Kurt's point of view and then switches to Brenda's point of view. I love to see each of their point of views and how they use them to successfully work together.
    This is a very inspirational book, one that I HIGHLY recommend.




    Tyndale House Publishers has provided you with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    First Things First

    First Thing First by Kurt and Brenda Warner is a very special book. It's written by a couple who have seven children.

    This book is somewhat an autobiography of the family. Told in a very mesmerizing and quirky way by Kurt and Brenda Warner.

    Kurt is a two-time NFL MVP-winning quarterback of the Arizona Cardinals Brenda Warner on the other hand is an ex-Marine turned stay-at-home mom who collects coats for low-income kids and rocks babies to sleep at a hospital for chronically-ill infants.

    Being married alone in this modern era where loads of temptation and challenges around is not an easy task. What more if you have 7 children from various stage of growing up with you. In this book, Brenda and Kurt tells the story about how they manage their marriage and nurture their children. This book tells people that children and family must come first, no matter what you do.

    This book also demonstrate that with proper structure, love, discipline as well as faith, things can never go wrong, even though there's rough spot along the way. Through this book, I learn a lot. One of it is that coupled with love, families must stick together and work together as one unit to make things work.

    This is a good book for both parents and children to read. There's a lot of things you can learn for this book.

    I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars, and would recommend this for people who are in need of a little boost and motivation in handling both their marriage and family in a fun way.

    I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers for an advance reading as part of their blogger review program . I was not required to write a positive review and therefore, the book review is 100% my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    A great story of family and togetherness

    Lighthearted and yet very touching. It is just a great story the warms the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Wonderful Real Family

    This book was inspirational in how this family has tried to keep it real. They aren't false in thinking they are perfect but just tell about some things that have worked for them. It was a reassuring an inspiring book from a wonderful Christian family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    The Warner's seem to be genuinely good people.

    This book reads like a series of their motivational speeches which were put together in order to create a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    He is a great man, Brenda on the other hand???

    I could not wait to purchase this book. I have been a fan of Kurt's for many years. He did not disappoint me. I found his prospective to be from the heart, selfless and sincere. He is a wonderful husband, father, friend and Christian. Brenda, on the other hand, comes across as a self-absorbed, vain and controlling person. She has major trust issues and insecurities stemming from a failed first marriage. She even manages Kurt's emails. It's hard to believe he tolerates it. All her rules for him have to do with his stroking her ego. She mentions how she was the cute sister growing up, which is hard to believe, and that she is "hot" now. Well anyone can be hot with the same enhancements. She talks about having household help who did not dress appropriately around Kurt, yet at the book signing in NJ, she had on a very low cut dress around our husbands. Double standard?

    The format was good, he said, she said. The photo spread on each child was also enjoyable. It was just disappointing to realize who the true Brenda is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2