Customer Reviews for

First Things First: To Live, to Love, to Learn, to Leave a Legacy

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    A real thought provoker

    I liked this much better than 'Seven Habits of Highly Successful People'. It includes most of 'Seven Habits' but focuses more on your personal wellness. I often use the metaphors and examples in helping others with problems. Covey has presented some personal challenges for me and I'm still trying to work through them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    excellent book

    Ever since I read this book; I constantly tell myself that ¿I am not in control of my life; principles are¿! The only thing I am in control of is making choices about the actions that I will take. The result is not necessarily going to be the one I expect or want it to be. I can relate to this through my everyday issues in life. I must say this book has helped me a lot as a College student, a sister, a daughter and a wife to be. The author has given some excellent principles to help us be wise managers of our time and it has unquestionably worked for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended- You will be glad you read this book!

    This was exactly what I was looking for, it helped me to focus on the important issues and get time management into prospective. An issue I have struggled with all my life, but I now can have the tools to live,love, and leave a legacy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    First Things First: creating mission from vision

    First Things First is not a book about time management, it is a book about leading a life of purpose and mission. This book will teach the attentive reader how to identify the truly important things in their own life, and then shows how to develop a sense of mission, and the methods needed to prioritize one's life to assure that the bulk of one's life-time is spent doing what is important, and not merely urgent. To call this time management is incorrect; this is time leadership, which as Covey explains, is a matter of doing the right things (management is: doing things right). I have been engaged in a life mission for more than fifteen years now, and can honestly say that I have been most productive and of greatest service when my focus has been on my core mission. This is not a panacea, nor an easy way to wealth and glamour; rather, it is a method for making the dirty, sweaty workings of daily life have purpose and direction that keeps the spirit whole and the day to day routine worthwhile. Don't simply read this book; embrace it, engage it, practice its' principles, and follow your vision towards the mission of your higher calling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Make Room for Your Heart in Your Life

    I find this book to be an essential for my library, one that I reread occasionally to refresh my memory and commitments. While I appreciated the 7 Habits book, this second book is more value-based. The Merrills add a lot to the mix and the 7 principles are broken down, examined and defined very clearly, with real-life examples. It affirms my belief system, not many organizational books can claim that distinction. On a par, if not better than, Ordering Your Private World, by Gordon MacDonald!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Only slightly better than the 7 Habits

    This book can be summed up like this: 360 pages that should have been condensed down to 50. However, that is not Mr. Covey's style. He is long winded, and at times very boring. Every chapter I would come across a couple 'Aha' statements or quotes. Beyond that, it was just plain difficult to get through. Some of the stories are almost laughable in that I find it hard to believe people even have those sorts of conversations. I really wanted to like the book because, while not a fan of the original 7 Habits, the First Things First habit is, to me, the one that applies the most. But that chapter from the original book is not worth an entire book on its own. There is not enough material there to expand upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    Great follow-up to the 7 Habits

    This book provides useful, profound, and much-needed advice to people who are over-worked, stressed, fatigued, have poor relationships, and feel helpless and hopeless in general. Most people think that to be more effective they have to give up sleep, exercise, friends, and work more and faster. This book provides a revolutionary solution to problems that so many people suffer from. By putting First Things First, you can be more effective while working less and feeling better. First Things First has its roots from The Seven Habits, which I would recommend reading first. The 7 Habits is more general and fundamental, while First Things is more dynamic, practical, detailed, and specific. Read them both!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1