Customer Reviews for

First Trip

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    OMG this was a page turner.

    In the editors review, they talk of vicarious enjoyment. This reading was not vicarious to this old man who loved, absolutely loved the seventies. Most of what I have learned in my seventy years on this Earth were from the period. But I was really caught off-guard by Dawn's all too real experience with cannibals and did not realize they existed in this country. This was a terrific book and I would love to sit down with the author to relive some of Dawn's experiences. I feel like a born-again virgin after reading this. 1luckydog in Southern, Illinois

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    FIRST TRIP BY CHERYL TAYLOR

    I give thumbs up for this one,about 14 year old runnaway,kept me interested from start to finnish,Made me feel scared for the girl,made me happy when she was alright,kept me on edge of my seat wondering what else was going to happen to this child.cant wait for the next book.this is a must read,wheather you lived during those years or not. easy read not too long ,not too short, chapters just right.very well written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Trip down memory lane in the 70's

    The story begins with the adventures of a young girl who is but a shadow in the eyes of her peers. She chooses to strike out on an adventure that will lead her to experimenting with LSD. She dislikes school and runs away to explore real life not just textbook. Dawn comes across many different situations where she must decide to do right or do wrong. Her adventures take her into the era of rock and roll and the flower child age. Free love, free spirit. A must read to find out how this young girl grows from a child into a young woman who then must decide if settling down is in her blood.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This Coming-of-age Tale is A Highly Recommended Read!

    A troubled fourteen-year-old girl runs away in 70's California and meets an outlandish assortment of individuals including cannibals, warlocks, and bikers as she settles into a world of drugs, promiscuity, and life on the street in First Trip by Cheryl Taylor.

    Our heroine, Dawn, is a free spirit in every sense with her own unique way of managing diverse situations. Like runways from any generation, Dawn ran from a difficult home life. Her father left when she was a child and the relationship between her mother and step-father was tumultuous at best. Smoking and drinking become coping mechanisms as a preteen. With the seventies drug scene blooming around her it wasn't long before she indulged. She would sample everything from cannabis to cocaine, with acid being the choice drug for escaping home or from school where she also did not fit in. Stints in juvenile detention did little to discourage Dawn from skipping school or from not returning home at night.

    After continued friction and some shocking abuse at the hands of her mom and step-father, Dawn runs away for good. She follows her heart and the music of the time. Attractive and young, she has no problem finding rides to take her on her journey. However, the author has a knack for placing her protagonist into trouble and each chapter finds Dawn in another life-and-death jam. Dawn moves from man to man and from party to party, never staying with either for long. Men help keep away loneliness and are a source of drugs and in return she gives her body. Finally in San Francisco she gets involved in intravenous drug use and petty crime.

    Author Cheryl Taylor slowly reveals the pain that has driven Dawn to such a dangerous lifestyle. This wasn't a short book; however I was hooked from the opening pages and read it in one sitting. I couldn't wait to see how Dawn would handle or even survive her next quandary. This book is a time warp back to the seventies, however it is much more than a romp though that carefree decade. It is a coming-of-age tale of overcoming abuse and neglect that is both moving as well as entertaining. I would have liked a bit more descriptive narrative at times as I didn't always have a clear picture of secondary characters and some scenes. This was a minor problem as the author more than kept me intrigued with her quirky humor and fast pace. First Trip is listed as fiction by the publisher; however, it reads more like a memoir. Whether this story is entirely the author's imagination or is based on truth, it is a captivating book well worth reading.

    Highly recommended by William Potter for Reader's Choice Book Reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put it down until the end and wanted more

    I just couldn't put this one down. Each chapter begged me to continue on to the next. You will enjoy reading this one and will NOT be disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Will keep you entertained

    I enjoyed this short read. It could have been longer and more in depth, but for a simple read to occupy your time and take you on a an adventure, it wasn't half bad. The structure of the story leads you to keep turning the pages, to find out what is going to happen next. Kind of a weak ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    DO NOT waste your money

    The book was just awful. The main character was stupid and shallow. The other main characters were inane. The backup cast were fuzzy and without depth or any real consistency. The only believable part in it was the obvious familiarity the author had with the over use of drugs and sex. The (much much much) too easy main character Dawn dropped down to her knees if someone offered her a lollipop or a hit off a joint. This is too juvenile for adult readers and too mature a subject (sex drugs liquor) for the readers to whom the reading level for whom it would be suitable. It isn't quite as bad as SEE SPOT RUN, but it is not far from it in terms of plot devices and character development. The only way this is a book you can't put down is in the same way you HAVE to look at a train wreck. It is just so horrible you can't quite believe it is happening and you can't look away. Trash from page 1 all the way to the end. How in the world does crud like this get published? Oh by the way, to the reviewer who believed that Dawn had a "real" encounter with cannibals? This is a work of fiction. Bad fiction, yes, but fiction nonetheless. This is not a factual biography, it is a poor attempt at teenage entertainment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1