Customer Reviews for

First Truth (Truth Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantasy at its finest!

Before Alissa's father disappeared he would tell her stories about a legendary fortress called the Hold. It was a type of university where human Keepers learned magic from the Masters. They were just stories before bed. She never believed any of it was real. ............
Before Alissa's father disappeared he would tell her stories about a legendary fortress called the Hold. It was a type of university where human Keepers learned magic from the Masters. They were just stories before bed. She never believed any of it was real. .......... When her mother realized that Alissa had inherited her father's magical abilities, she sent Alissa away from their farm to search for the Hold and begin her training. Her small bird, Talon, went with her. On the way, they met a wandering musician from the plains named Strell. Even though the farmers and the plainsmen did not get along well, they traveled together hoping to locate the Hold before the snows began. ........... Bailic was the only Keeper left in the Hold. The power hungry man had sent all the Masters, except one, away on a wild goose chase and then killed the other Keepers. The only Master left was trapped in a hidden dungeon. Bailic searched for a book filled with spells and power called First Truth. When two travelers appeared at the gate, he could sense that one was a latent Keeper, but could not tell which. Regardless, he would use them. Once no longer needed, they would die! ......... ***** Here is an AWESOME new author and I expect her to become very well known fast! Dawn Cook has created a magical world with amazing characters. .......... I quickly found myself engrossed in the the story line and was irritated every time I had to stop reading. I wanted nothing more than to dive back into this book filled with magic, dragons, and danger. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

posted by Anonymous on March 24, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Thumbs up, but sometimes a thumbs down

If you're a truly devoted fantasy enthusiast and have already been around the block and discovered your favorite series, I think that by the end of First Truth you'll find yourself saying 'so-so.' However, the book is by no means bad. It is well written, and while there...
If you're a truly devoted fantasy enthusiast and have already been around the block and discovered your favorite series, I think that by the end of First Truth you'll find yourself saying 'so-so.' However, the book is by no means bad. It is well written, and while there are a few discouraging elements of the story which you'll pick up on, there are a few great points to acknowledge as well. While many fantasy novels are dripping with overdone histories, maps, races and cryptic languages, First Truth is refreshingly and appealingly simple. There are no major factions of the world battling one another, no years-long journeys, and it is a great escape from all the tiring epics out there. Without a whole world to worry about, you can enjoy the dialogue, character development and story line. Also, there is only a handful of characters you need to focus on, each of which is very interesting, well-examined and entirely unique in comparison to the others. The story primarily takes place in one important location, so you won't have to worry about the typical, endless fantasy roving. However, there are the downfalls. The first is the romance: our main character Alissa finds herself beginning her journey with only a pet falcon and a male traveler named Strell. It is very obvious that a flirtatious relationship will arise between these two lead characters, but it isn't taken as far as romances are in other novels. If you don't like raunchy sex scenes, don't worry--you won't come across anything of the sort. On a more positive note, because First Truth is the first in its series, readers can look forward to the development of the relationship in the next few books. Second, the short length impairs the quality of the story development in some cases. The journey to the Hold itself seems very rushed, something which could have been more detailed, and once at the hold, Alissa and Strell aren't truly ardent in searching for the book. More often than not, we stumble upon Alissa and Strell flirting in the kitchen or fighting with one another, not looking for the First Truth while the villain plots away. Overall, I'd say that First Truth is worth a try, but don't be disappointed if it doesn't quite live up to your standards. You know what novels you love and consider as classics when it comes to fantasy, so the book might not be your cup of tea. But, if you're just beginning to read the fantasy genre, then the Truth series is more than a great place to start!

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Fantasy at its finest!

    Before Alissa's father disappeared he would tell her stories about a legendary fortress called the Hold. It was a type of university where human Keepers learned magic from the Masters. They were just stories before bed. She never believed any of it was real. .......... When her mother realized that Alissa had inherited her father's magical abilities, she sent Alissa away from their farm to search for the Hold and begin her training. Her small bird, Talon, went with her. On the way, they met a wandering musician from the plains named Strell. Even though the farmers and the plainsmen did not get along well, they traveled together hoping to locate the Hold before the snows began. ........... Bailic was the only Keeper left in the Hold. The power hungry man had sent all the Masters, except one, away on a wild goose chase and then killed the other Keepers. The only Master left was trapped in a hidden dungeon. Bailic searched for a book filled with spells and power called First Truth. When two travelers appeared at the gate, he could sense that one was a latent Keeper, but could not tell which. Regardless, he would use them. Once no longer needed, they would die! ......... ***** Here is an AWESOME new author and I expect her to become very well known fast! Dawn Cook has created a magical world with amazing characters. .......... I quickly found myself engrossed in the the story line and was irritated every time I had to stop reading. I wanted nothing more than to dive back into this book filled with magic, dragons, and danger. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Entertaining and Insightful Read

    In addition to being an entertaining and original twist on the unexpected magician tale, this novel expertly tackles issues of racism and prejudice. Aside from it's social contributions, the plot was solid and generally unpredictable. A young girl, Alissa, goes on a search for the location central to her father's stories about magic. She finds an insane magician whom she has to outwit in order to obtain a precious book of knowledge and free a master magician held captive. Elements of the supernatural are woven into the tale in the guise of a city of cursed souls which she must also find a way to free. All of this while trying to keep herself and her traveling companion, Strell, alive. Alissa and Strell are from opposite sides of a very strict racial and geographical divide, the result of which is addressed through their prejudices towards each other upon initial acquaintance and periodic awakenings of true insight about the prejudices that have kept their cultures apart. The series as a whole is intriguing and ofttimes poignant with a love triangle that endures through to the end and themes of loving a person for all of the facets of their personality. I would deem this book and those that follow appropriate for teens but not necessarily geared towards them. I especially enjoyed that small details from this book were significant in the further books, almost as if they were all written at once. I was initially drawn to this author because I enjoyed books written under her other pen name, Kim Harrison. If you are a Kim Harrison fan because you enjoy the urban fantasy genre, then this will not be what you are used to. If however, you enjoy fantasy in all of its forms as I do, you will enjoy this book series very much. As a technical side note, there were no outrageous typos on the nook ebook version though there was the occasional "wordsrunningtogether" phenomenon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    A Thumbs up, but sometimes a thumbs down

    If you're a truly devoted fantasy enthusiast and have already been around the block and discovered your favorite series, I think that by the end of First Truth you'll find yourself saying 'so-so.' However, the book is by no means bad. It is well written, and while there are a few discouraging elements of the story which you'll pick up on, there are a few great points to acknowledge as well. While many fantasy novels are dripping with overdone histories, maps, races and cryptic languages, First Truth is refreshingly and appealingly simple. There are no major factions of the world battling one another, no years-long journeys, and it is a great escape from all the tiring epics out there. Without a whole world to worry about, you can enjoy the dialogue, character development and story line. Also, there is only a handful of characters you need to focus on, each of which is very interesting, well-examined and entirely unique in comparison to the others. The story primarily takes place in one important location, so you won't have to worry about the typical, endless fantasy roving. However, there are the downfalls. The first is the romance: our main character Alissa finds herself beginning her journey with only a pet falcon and a male traveler named Strell. It is very obvious that a flirtatious relationship will arise between these two lead characters, but it isn't taken as far as romances are in other novels. If you don't like raunchy sex scenes, don't worry--you won't come across anything of the sort. On a more positive note, because First Truth is the first in its series, readers can look forward to the development of the relationship in the next few books. Second, the short length impairs the quality of the story development in some cases. The journey to the Hold itself seems very rushed, something which could have been more detailed, and once at the hold, Alissa and Strell aren't truly ardent in searching for the book. More often than not, we stumble upon Alissa and Strell flirting in the kitchen or fighting with one another, not looking for the First Truth while the villain plots away. Overall, I'd say that First Truth is worth a try, but don't be disappointed if it doesn't quite live up to your standards. You know what novels you love and consider as classics when it comes to fantasy, so the book might not be your cup of tea. But, if you're just beginning to read the fantasy genre, then the Truth series is more than a great place to start!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Series!

    As a whole, this series is one of my favorites! I absolutely love the characters and will likely remember them for many years to come. Nothing particularily "epic" happens in this book, but I found myself completely entertained the whole way through, and the plot just keeps getting better and better as the series progresses! Definitely worth reading :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    Finally, a fantasy worth reading!

    Wow, and I thought classic fantasy had disappeared! For the longest time I've been searching for a book with nothing but adventure and no politics, and finally, FINALLY, I found one! The humor, light romance, and twists in this book make it a definite favorite of mine, and I love all the characters. The antagonist is just as believable as the main characters, and makes the whole thing thoroughly enjoyable. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Fantastic

    The first part of the first book starts off a tad slow. However the series is phenomenal. One that i will read over and over again. Its fresh and original. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book. I have read the series several times o

    Really enjoyed this book. I have read the series several times over the years and I recommend it for someone who wants some light reading. If you like fantasy books with magic, dragons, female heroines and a dash of romance then definitely give it a try! I am actually very disappointed in the new covers for this series. The original covers were amazing and beautiful. I am happy that I got the books before they changed them as now they are....ugly. I do not in any way connect the girl on the front cover with Alissa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Enjoyable read - enough to read the entire series!

    You know when you just want to read a specific type of book, and you look for hours for one that fits the bill? I wanted one with someone that was learning magic, travelling, learning things about themselves, with a bit of shy romance thrown in. Well, this was perfect. A nice relaxing read, but the ending was a little flat. I kept expecting some serious stuff to happen, but it continues with the next book, which I thought was better. All in all, I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Wonderful book!

    One of my favorites series. I love all of the characters and truly wish she would write more books in this world. It is an easy fun read that you wont want to put down. I also love the fact that the books arent all about war and fighting like a lot of fantasy out there. It is a nice change from the typical fantasy books. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    deceptive reissue of old book under new title and author

    This book is a publishers reissuing of an old book written under a pseudonym. The book was written by Kim Harrison and was released a few years ago by another publishing company.

    Be careful you might have already read it.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Excellent Fantasy with a touch of romance!

    I picked this book up by accident looking for something fresh and different. I was getting tired of all those long drawn out multiple fantasy sagas with about fifty main characters and hundreds of others. This is an excellent read for those of you who like four well-developed characters who act like normal people as well as heroes. Cook's world is well drawn and likable, even her villian has some good points to him, and there is enough mystery and adventure as well as romance to keep you coming back for more. She is descriptive without being overly so and the violence is not graphic(for which I am very grateful! It seems as though today's fantasy writers seem to think it isn't enough to just say a person was killed, they have to add all these gory details about entrails, blood and various hacked off body parts--please!)And her raku are very well done too--they aren't your average dragon by any means!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    The best

    I loved this book..the mixture of mystery, suspence, fantacy and with a little touch of love is amazing i can't wait to read Hidden truth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    Outstanding debut destined to become a classic

    This is an excellent story of magic, friendship, and love. Wonderful choice for those who enjoy stories about people just coming into their power. It has some elements of a quest novel, lots of humor, and just a touch of romance. My favorite novel of 2002.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb fantasy

    The world is divided into two groups of people who barely tolerate each other, but depend on one another to survive. The people living in the foothills are farmers while those who live in the plains are crafters. Alissa is a half-breed born of a plains mother and a farmer father disliked by both groups. <P>When Alissa turns nineteen her mother realizes she has inherited her father¿s magical talents and sends her to the Hold where as a keeper she will learn to control her magic from a master. On the road she meets Strell, a wandering minstrel born into a plains family. They join forces and journey together to the Hold where they meet an insane keeper waiting for them to find what he needs to conquer the world. They will defeat him or die trying. <P>The two protagonists of this novel are very brave and admirable people because they know they are walking into danger yet do it anyway. They learn the folly of divisiveness and see first hand how good can conquer evil when people work together. Though FIRST TRUTH may be Dawn Cook¿s debut novel, readers will place this excellent tale on their keeper shelf. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3