Customer Reviews for

First to Fight (Starfist Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good if you like Action

    Starfist: First to Fight by the writing team of David Sherman and Dan Cragg is a really good book! It is a book with a lot of action and descriptive backgrounds. You can tell where everyone is at any time, and that's always a plus. It isn't for the faint of heart either. It's got a fair amount of cursing and sometimes, the death scenes can be a little too descriptive for my taste. However, the plot is very thoughtfully developed and the characters definitely broke the molds. If you want a book that'll make you sweat, strap yourself in for this roller coaster and hold on tight!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    For anyone who is a Marine or knows one

    I originally got this book because I needed somthing to read on my lunch hour and because my older brother was in the USMC. Well half-way through lunch I was cursing that I had to go back to work. I know that when my brother was in the marines it changed him and I wanted to see if this book would satisfied my curosity about Marines. I loved this book so much I immediately went out and bought the next six books. The way these two gentlemen write lets you follow all of the Military aspects without watering it down. This is a very good book and a great start to a compelling series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Yep

    Yep

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Military SCI-FI at its best.

    Great story written by guys who actually served our country! This is an exemplary book. You will hate to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    History, military traditions, and the future.

    ¿First to Fight¿ (ISBN 0-345-40622-2) by David Sherman and Dan Cragg is the first book in the series dedicated to the infantrymen who will risk their lives on the battlefields of the future. The authors use their personal experience as infantrymen, David Sherman in the United States Marine Corps and Dan Cragg in the United States Army, from boot camp to actual combat and the technical advances to project one possible future of the ground forces of the world. With the advances of space technology the people of Earth have expanded to over 1000 worlds forming the Confederation. The first 500 settled worlds' form the core of the Confederation, with over 500 more worlds that are at various stages of settlement or are being explored for future settlement. During this expansion the Confederation has three main military branches that help hold the worlds together and they are the Army, Marines, and Navy. Each service has traditions, histories, and roles that can be traced back to military forces of Earth. ¿First to Fight¿ focuses on the Confederation Marine Corps, with a history, tradition, and role that can be traced back to those of the United States Marine Corps and the British Royal Marines. When trouble occurs on a world the Confederation¿s first choice is calling in the Marines. The book ¿First to Fight¿ focuses attention on Staff, formerly Gunnery, Sergeant Charlie Bass, Ensign Baccacio, Private First Class Joe Dean, Fredrick Douglas McNeal, Rackman Claypoole, and other members of the 34th Fleet Initial Strike Team (FIST) L Company Third Platoon of the Confederation Marine Corps based on Thorsfinni World, a snow world on the frontier of Confederation space. Further, the book brings out how the people in a military unit react to the dangers encountered on the battlefield. The 34th FIST is sent to the world of Elneal on a humanitarian mission. Elneal is a backwater world that has one important natural resource needed in the construction of starships. A charismatic leader, of Elneal¿s most powerful warrior clan has stopped all mining operations and caused a worldwide famine. The Marines of the 34th FIST L Company Third Platoon find that they have more than one challenge to face on this mission.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Best book most read

    I was in the military great to see a military man writing felt like i was there and there fighting next to them. Really if u dont read this you some help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Great read

    Definitely piqued my interest in the Starfist series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Great Book!

    This is an excellent book for anyone who likes to read military type books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yikes Imaginative and well written but Yikes!!!

    I'm not one of those reviewers that love to say negative things about a book. However I really disliked this book. It was well written and easy to track and read hence the 3 stars. I guess Im just not a war story lover. I found this book to be to graphic in some places for my taste and when it wasn't vividly describing the horrors of war it was on about military life and the politics involved. It did have large portions of good action I just didn't think they were enough to out weigh the negative aspects of this book. Now I realize this was a military book about space Marines and, like real life Marines they don't exactly live a life of warm fuzzy flower fields and happy times unless happiness is a warm gun for you. So in the aspect of proving that war will be war even in the far future the author does a great job. I can honestly say this is one of the few books I have ever read that would have made a better movie. I would not say don't read this book I would just state that if your like me and read books to get away form the horrible things in life be aware this book is prolly not the one for you. I seriously doubt I will be reading anymore books from this series. I just want to say again that this book is well written and imaginative it just wasn't for me I guess.

    Thanks for reading this review and remember reading is a privilege, so take advantage of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2002

    Good Book

    The book is very good. It is exciting and makes you feel like your in it. But it swears a little to much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Captures the true everyday life of a grunt, both past, present, and future!

    As a former Marine NCO myself I have to say this is by far the best series of books written about the Marine Corps in the future. Written by a former Marine with years of experince in the infantry and real-world combat experince. What really did it for me in the book was the fact that David Sherman captures the true meaning of 'Espirt de Corps'. From the recruiting office to the Fleet to the feild, Sherman delivers unmatched skill and knowledge in his writting. A master storyteller. If you have been there and done that, and read the book you know what I mean!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Amazing

    I read a lot of star Wars books and i love any book about space science ficition. The book cought my eye and i dicided to give it a try and now i own all 4 books and am read the sceond as i type this review. For any one who like a good scifi stoy the has elemnts of warfare i do suggest this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4