BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Fistful of Charms (Hollows Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 576 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(388)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

posted by Ozzy12 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Serieskm

This book was recommended to me by a friend because I like books with strong female characters. I think the author does a good job of writing urban fantasy, and she doesn't choose sex over plot. I'm gonna be bummed when I have to wait for the next book in the series a...
This book was recommended to me by a friend because I like books with strong female characters. I think the author does a good job of writing urban fantasy, and she doesn't choose sex over plot. I'm gonna be bummed when I have to wait for the next book in the series after I catch up! If you liked Laurel K. Hamilton but wanted more plot/less sex, I would recommend this series.

posted by Whitelightertrev on June 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 579 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sizzling hot and powerful, nothing can stop Rachel now

    Obviously I would not recommit this book to anyone who has not read the previous three installments, this series is so mouth wateringly good that you cannot miss a beat; it would truly be a loss for anyone to read this out of order. That aside I will keep the narration of this book short and sweet, ruining or giving anything away is the worst favor anyone can do with this series, the surprises emerge like spring flowers through the snow and action builds up with no sights set up on stopping anytime soon. This book does not disappoint, there's drama, action, love and lots of good old fashioned fighting. I was enamored with this story and where it took the characters, it promises a good story continuation from here on! <BR/><BR/>Rachel is still amongst the living even though her luck has been stretching thin and what is in store for her in this novel is a big chunk of adventure. Kim Harrison really puts her all in her books, from the moment I open each novel I feel the warm welcome of the cozy church Rachel, Ivy and Jenks live in. The big kitchen with the wooden counter, large windows overlooking the pixy garden and the pots and pans, brownies baking or pizza sauce simmering and constant foods and spells Rachel is cooking up makes he hungry, she also simmers smells and makes charms, while I can't make those, at least reading about her cozy cooking makes me feel teleported into her world. The real charm of these books is the strength of characters and their bond with each other; Rachel the bounty hunter,then there's Ivy, her slinky hot vampire roommate with her almond shaped eyes, wearing leather and always defending her territory like a lioness and Jenks, mischievous and charming pixy with a great attitude, they are all familiar to but but they have a new problem on their hands. Nick, Rachel's missing ex-boyfriend is in trouble, and it includes an island bathed in mist, occupied by wild packs of werewolves. This book made me salivate and drool; finally the vampires make some room for the real monstrums in this book and with the help of some black demon magic, something that I can just tell will bite her back later, Rachel does the unthinkable, she finds a way to transform into a werewolf. I can not saying one more thing, the tale was sizzling and intense and things that happened between Rachel and Ivy almost made me fall out of bed. Hot hot hot....Something is happening between the powers of the wolves and the vampires and Rachel finds herself in midst of a huge new conflict. Read this and you will know it all! <BR/><BR/>I was thinking that my only complaint would be how long this book was, but honestly, after I read the last page I was looking up across the room for book five and then at the clock, then decided that 2;30 am is not the best time for starting a new Harrison book, it might lead to reading till my eyes fell and having to call out of work, not fair to others, so here I am, sitting here and trying to restrain myself from devouring the next installment. It's always a battle to try and hold on, the author is not only a generous and wonderful woman but she writes with so much love and humor and passion I hope she lives to be a thousand and writes millions of these books. She's funny like Xena, you know the warrior princess with brains and brawn, well she's just like her but a whole new combination of strong and cool, something you want in a writer that will knock you socks off. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Fun Serieskm

    This book was recommended to me by a friend because I like books with strong female characters. I think the author does a good job of writing urban fantasy, and she doesn't choose sex over plot. I'm gonna be bummed when I have to wait for the next book in the series after I catch up! If you liked Laurel K. Hamilton but wanted more plot/less sex, I would recommend this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent fantasy

    When half of the human population of the world was decimated by a genetically engineered virus, the Inderlanders, those creatures of myth and legend such as vampires, werewolves, shifters, pixies and witches came out of the closet. Rachel Morgan a witch, Ivy a powerful living vampire and Jenks a pixie are partners in a runner (similar to Bow Street) agency Vampiric Charms. When Jenk¿s son Jax disappears and then calls for help Jenks and Rachel rush to Michigan to pick him up. --- He tells them that Rachel¿s ex-boyfriend Nick the thief is being held on an island populated by Weres because he double crossed them after finding an artifact that has gone missing for centuries. After using a spell to shift into a wolf form so she can fight an alpha were for their freedom, she wins the battle and they manage to escape. However Nick has the artifact in his possession and the Weres will do anything to retrieve it. Somehow, Jenks, Rachel and Ivy who joins them later must find a way to elude the Weres and stop Nick from stealing the artifact otherwise a vampire/Were power struggle will break out with many people injured in what eventually will become a war. --- Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris and Kelly Armstrong are going to love A Fistful of Charms. There is plenty of action, a bit of romance and enough death defying escapades to the please fans of many genres. Rachel is a conflicted individual who isn¿t always sure of her own feelings and actions and sometimes strays into the dark areas of magic to do the right thing. Kim Harrison is a great world builder, who creates fascinating characters and puts them in a realm where humans and Inderlanders live together, not always in harmony. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Fantastic!

    This series is a must read! She has a way coming up with more amazing adventures that will keep you on the edge and wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Love this series!

    Love the Rachel Morgan character. And I think "Big Al" is one of the best supporting characters written. Must read series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Great read

    I love this series and all the great characters involved. The author does a great job drawing you in and keeping you entertained throughout.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Couldn't put it down!

    As with the first three Rachel Morgan books, I had a hard time turning off my nook! Kim Harrison does a wonderful job of mixing action with information and ending the story with just enough wonder to make a person search for the next in the series but not so much that it feels unfinished. I would definitely recommend this book as well as the first three. Looking forward to the next in the series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    Love it

    I love the whole series so far, she is a fantastic writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Great book

    Love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    A Fistful of Charms is the fourth book in The Hollows series by

    A Fistful of Charms is the fourth book in The Hollows series by Kim Harrison. While I love this series, this particular novel was not my favorite. This one features werewolves, but I didn't like Harrison's take on how they function together. They are all after something Nick stole, so Rachel has to help him. The whole idea of this item and what it does is just strange to me. I can't be more explicit because I don't want to spoil the book for anyone.

    The main characters are here, Rachel, Al, Jenks, and Ivy; who gets more involved than usual, which was interesting. I really enjoy how Harrison grows each character throughout the books. As in real life, they change their personalities and views on issues as things happen.

    The story slowed down in places, like when they hung out at the hotel trying to figure out what to do. The whole big scene on the bridge was sad and a little weird. It didn't leave me completely satisfied.

    I still love the series. In my opinion, they need to be read in order to get the full benefit of the stories and the characters. So read this one, but maybe don't expect as much. They do get a lot better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    The charm was lost on me. Maybe I need to remove the stake from

    The charm was lost on me. Maybe I need to remove the stake from the nape of my neck, devour a clove of garlic in less than 12 seconds, follow it up with some red Kool-Aid, douse myself in holy water, and then shoot a silver bullet up my bum. Or maybe I should tell all the werewolves, witches, pixies, and vampires to suck it, and that I’ll handle the trials and tribulations of dangling from a rope myself. Instead of plunging a few of my fantasies into ecstasy, I was left with a look of horror on my face, and a belief that I somehow showed up to the wrong party on the wrong day and with the wrong date. I’d equate it to watching a chicken with boxing gloves beat the crap out of a coyote.

    The Hollows kept me firmly in the shadows. Flipping the pages was like dragging my knuckles through glass and battery acid, reading the dialogue caused multiple convulsions, and listening to Ivy whine in time would have instigated trips to multiple psychiatric specialists and probably more than one straightjacket stint. At the Turn I wanted to burn a stake through my heart, roughly somewhere in the middle of Inderland where black spells and hexes and disguise charms and demon curses forced me to question the limits of my own sanity.

    I suppose vampires might inhabit Cincinnati, but I can think of plenty of other places I’d rather reside were I to wake up one morning and enter the land of the undead. Even within Ohio, I’d rank other major C cities Cleveland and Columbus higher up the residential map. But, hey, that’s just me.

    Sure, there was a plot, but I have no idea what the heck happened. If I were to get shot in the foot, whacked over the head (and knocked unconscious), strapped to the front of a wooden roller coaster at Cedar Point, and then shoved against a brick wall at over ninety miles an hour, I’d probably have an easier time describing what happened to the authorities (assuming I miraculously survived).

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Was thrilled with the service I received on the phone with B&N. The person who assisted me was friendly and extremely helpful. I was bowled over when I realized the extra fast rush rush shipping would be free since I am a B&N member. Thank you for a wonderful transaction and experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Awesomeness!!!!!!!

    Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great book

    The forth installment was better than the rest but I know I will love the rest...found my new author to look forward to...not gonna say anymore because people hate spoilers and they will have a hissy fit..what a bunch of losers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Fun

    A great series. Fast paced and fun with nary a dull moment. The author does tend to bog the reader down with spell details and skip writing other scenes I would like to have read. Rachel's relationship with Ivy is starting to annoy the hell out of me. As is Ivy's brooding character. Someone stake her already so I can enjoy the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    ...

    First I wasn't to say that I absolutely love Kim Harrison. This is my favorite series! She has built a wonderful urban fantasy. Great characters. I find my self annoyed with the character sometimes, but I find annoyance with people I love in my own life too. I absolutely love that her focus is not sex. She actually has plot. A Fist Full Of Charms, is still a good read. However it is not the best Hollows book. It is still important to the series in building characters on the other hand. I have to admit I scanned a lot in this one it was a bit slow going, still worth every star I gave it. Can't wait to get to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Love this series and author!

    Love them all! Own them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Wow must read Rachel Morgan series Kim Harrison

    Fantastic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Bleh

    These books are so annoying because they could be so much better if the main character weren't so ridiculous. Rachel is easily the least likable of all the characters and since she is the focal point it drags everything else down. There are literally a dozen other female writers in this genre that do what these books try to do...only better. I'd read another horrible L.K. Hamilton book before i buy another one in this series. As much as she has ruined the Anita Blake series at least Anita is an interesting character, unlike Rachel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 579 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29