BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fit for Life

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This book has helped me lose 35 pounds! 15% of total weight!

My wife bought this book to see if this book would help her lose weight. I thought...great, another diet of cardboard and water. My whole life I have been a meat and potatoes kind of guy, not liking most vegetables. This book has changed how I view and eat food! I s...
My wife bought this book to see if this book would help her lose weight. I thought...great, another diet of cardboard and water. My whole life I have been a meat and potatoes kind of guy, not liking most vegetables. This book has changed how I view and eat food! I started out this diet at 235 pounds and after 3 months, I was down to 200 pounds and have kept at that weight for about 2 months now! I lost almost 15% of my total body weight in 3 months! The menu in the back of the book tells you what to cook and how to make it, so it is almost idiot-proof. I now eat almost any vegetables now (still no lima beans). The reason why? The recipes in this book make vegetables taste good, while being very healthy! And isn't that a problem with diets, bland foods that don't taste good? This book isn't a diet at all, it is a different way to prepare foods and cook. The only piece of advice for the recipes in this book is to cut back on the lemon juice in almost all recipes, it ruins many of them. I bought this for my parents, and I have suggested buying this book to anyone that wants to lose weight or just eat healthier!

posted by Blowing_Away_in_Amarillo on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sounds great, but didn't work for me

Everything in the book makes allot of sense..I was glued to it, and had to keep reading. I was very enthusiastic about the diet. However, after trying the diet for over 3 weeks, this is what I noticed: I felt VERY drained, both physically and mentally, it was harder ...
Everything in the book makes allot of sense..I was glued to it, and had to keep reading. I was very enthusiastic about the diet. However, after trying the diet for over 3 weeks, this is what I noticed: I felt VERY drained, both physically and mentally, it was harder to wakeup in the morning, and weight-training was SUPER TOUGH. Eating only fruit until Noon was easy and tasty, but it made me feel like I did not have a breakfast, and trying to concentrate or do physical activity was tough. 2 days ago I resumed my regular diet of eating cereal or waffles in the morning, drinking skim milk and taking in more protein, and I FEEL AWESOME!!!FULL OF ENERGY!! I have always been a breakfast person, and after trying eating only fruit until noon for a few weeks, I realize that breakfast is a very important meal, and needs to consist of items other than fruit. NOTE: I don't want to push negativity about this book, since things that work for me don't necessarily work for others..and vice versa. I was enthusiastic about what this book had to say, applied it to my life, and it did not work. Good Luck!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    This book has helped me lose 35 pounds! 15% of total weight!

    My wife bought this book to see if this book would help her lose weight. I thought...great, another diet of cardboard and water. My whole life I have been a meat and potatoes kind of guy, not liking most vegetables. This book has changed how I view and eat food! I started out this diet at 235 pounds and after 3 months, I was down to 200 pounds and have kept at that weight for about 2 months now! I lost almost 15% of my total body weight in 3 months! The menu in the back of the book tells you what to cook and how to make it, so it is almost idiot-proof. I now eat almost any vegetables now (still no lima beans). The reason why? The recipes in this book make vegetables taste good, while being very healthy! And isn't that a problem with diets, bland foods that don't taste good? This book isn't a diet at all, it is a different way to prepare foods and cook. The only piece of advice for the recipes in this book is to cut back on the lemon juice in almost all recipes, it ruins many of them. I bought this for my parents, and I have suggested buying this book to anyone that wants to lose weight or just eat healthier!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    NEED A REPEAT RESULT

    I tried this method '20+ years ago' when the book first came out--when I didn't need it & it worked! Lost 6 pounds in 2 weeks without trying. The 8-hour cycle method is easiest to learn & incorporate into any lifestyle and schedule. Now I really need it! Loaned the book to a co-worker who never returned it. Glad I found it again--will keep it this time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    Works Wonders!

    This book is great. It was hard getting used to only fruit in the morning, but after 10 years, I can't imagine eating anything but an only fruit breakfast. If you stick to it, this book (and diet) will not disappoint you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    The most sensible plan I've seen

    I purchased this book at my chiropractor's office when I was living in Australia. I had gained over 30 pounds in only one year and, since I was over 50 years old, I decided to do something before it got out-of-hand. In only five weeks on the Fit for Life plan I lost 28 pounds and felt GREAT. Don't think for one minute that this plan isn't one of the best out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Can't say enough, most helpful book I have ever read!

    This book has changed my whole outlook on food, nutrition and supplements. I passed it on to both my daughters and they have also dramatically improved their health. I highly recommend this book to anyone especially anyone with health issues!

    The section on Autism was a real eye opener don't pass it by!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    This book changed my life! A must read for anyone with health questions/ concerns!

    Harvey Diamond is truly a health genius! Before I started reading his books I had no idea how little I knew about my own well-being and how to maintain it. I also had no idea how easy the changes in my lifestyle would be to improve the way i felt drastically! Harvey takes complex concepts about the body and makes them so easy to understand and apply in your life. He covers a wide array of subjects in this book from diet to disease and even Autism!
    Excellent reading that will change your life. Harvey has relly taken it to the next level with this release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    Changed my life

    Short and sweet. I read this book when I was nineteen and proceeded to lose 120 pounds in one year. I have now kept the weight off for twelve years and I attribute it to the fact that this book is about lifestyle not diet. Fit for life is a great system and plan to change the way you eat and live, to maintain a VERY healthy lifestyle without sacrafice of the food you like. It also also includes a 28 day sample menu that is easy to follow and you do not feel deprived in any way. If you are someone who is looking to have a life changing experiance and move on to a healthy and prosperus life then this is the nutrition book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    Sounds great, but didn't work for me

    Everything in the book makes allot of sense..I was glued to it, and had to keep reading. I was very enthusiastic about the diet. However, after trying the diet for over 3 weeks, this is what I noticed: I felt VERY drained, both physically and mentally, it was harder to wakeup in the morning, and weight-training was SUPER TOUGH. Eating only fruit until Noon was easy and tasty, but it made me feel like I did not have a breakfast, and trying to concentrate or do physical activity was tough. 2 days ago I resumed my regular diet of eating cereal or waffles in the morning, drinking skim milk and taking in more protein, and I FEEL AWESOME!!!FULL OF ENERGY!! I have always been a breakfast person, and after trying eating only fruit until noon for a few weeks, I realize that breakfast is a very important meal, and needs to consist of items other than fruit. NOTE: I don't want to push negativity about this book, since things that work for me don't necessarily work for others..and vice versa. I was enthusiastic about what this book had to say, applied it to my life, and it did not work. Good Luck!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    I book that inspired me to lose 75 pounds!!!!

    This book is wonderful. I lost 75 pounds just putting the basic principles to use. I have never had so much energy. Truly for people sick and tired of being sick and tired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2002

    Awesome !!!!!!

    A friend bought this book for me and basically saved my life ! I would recommend it to anyone. I have so much energy after reading this book and applying it to my lifestyle. I can eat and not be hungry. I look good and I feel great. My self-confidence is high again, and I walk with my head up. I have even started walking on the treadmill and rebounding on the mini-trampoline for 10 minutes per day. Fit For Life talks about rebounding for only 10 minutes a day with handheld weights and the results are incredible. I am buying this book for other people as gifts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    One of the most important books I have ever read!

    I have read many health and diet books during my study of nutrition and the human body but never have I found a book that so simply and clearly maps out the true way to a healthy and vibrant life! It is the ultimate self teaching book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    A Must For Your Fitness Library

    This book is outstanding! It's all about understanding your body and not poluting it. Anyone trying to lose weight MUST START HERE! Understand these basic principles and the ball WILL START rolling. After having my first baby, I ballooned up to 230 from 139. I went on Fit For Life and the the weight just dropped off. Stick with Fit For Life and you'll win for life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2000

    Naturally Healthy and Fit

    Fit for Life is also a great educational tool of how to naturally take care of our bodies. I didn't necessarily need to loose weight, but I did need to change my eating habits. After reading Fit for Life I feel educated about eating right. Now I eat naturally healthy and keep my body clean (on the inside).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    FIT FOR LIFE CHANGED MY BODY AND LIFE

    The book FIT FOR LIFE changed my life. I am 27 years old. I got this book as a gift from a vegeterian friend of mine. Being a meat eater, I was sort of turned off a little, but I decided to read it anyway. I HAVE LOST 26 POUNDS IN 1 MONTH AND A HALF, just by following the 28 day program. I love it. The food is great. I've gotten both my sisters into it, 2 WEEKS later...one sister went from 143 to 132, the other from 151 to 141. IT IS UNBELIEVABLE !!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2