Customer Reviews for

Fitzwilliam Darcy, Rock Star

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Tattoo'ed Darcy? Oh yeah!

My Review:
Okay, I probably should preface this review by saying that I am not a HUGE P&P fan. I like the story okay, have read the book a couple of times, own a couple of movies, but never really understood the horribly stand-offish attitude of Darcy. This book was a ...
My Review:
Okay, I probably should preface this review by saying that I am not a HUGE P&P fan. I like the story okay, have read the book a couple of times, own a couple of movies, but never really understood the horribly stand-offish attitude of Darcy. This book was a really, really good twist on the story though. And amazingly, it managed to tell a really fascinating story while staying VERY TRUE to the original. I am really impressed.

Like the original book, it takes a while for the characters and story lines to get established, before you get caught up in the story. I would guess that I was about 25% into the story when this happened for me.

In this version of the story, Fitzwilliam Darcy, Charles Bingley, and Richard Fitzwiliam make up the mega star rock-band, Slurry. They are two weeks away from heading out on a 7-month tour and have lost their third opening band (there are rumors that they are impossible to work with and that's why no one stays.) They are trying out a new girl band, Long Borne Suffering, which is made up of Elizabeth & Jane Bennet, and Charlotte Lucas. The girls are thrilled to join the tour, but before they even begin, Elizabeth overhears Darcy warning the guys not to sleep with any of them, because the girls will just use them as a step on their way to fame...and the normal P&P story continues from there.

I really, really enjoyed the way that the story has been re-interpretted into the modern rock world. So creative!! The characters are the same. The overall set-up is the same. It has just been re-invented into the modern rock world. I don't know how Heather Lynn Rigaud did it so seamlessly!

*Lady Catherine de Bourgh is the record label exec in charge of the backing for both bands.
*George Wickham is a former bandmate of Slurry who was kicked out of the band and now makes music videos.
*Mr. Collins is the lackey from the label whose come to oversee things with the bands so that they don't screw up.
*Both Lizzy & Will are swimmers and often unwind after concerts by swimming in the hotel pools. A wet Darcy...yes, he's wet a LOT in this book.

The best thing is that this is Pride & Prejudice with HOT SEX!! OMG, they are rockers and they don't hold anything back. It's really fun to see them going at it!

Overall, I really enjoyed this one! Like I said, I am not a huge P&P fan, but it kept my attention and was definitely entertaining!!

A tattoo'ed Fitzwilliam Darcy who's 6'5"....that's an idea that I can get behind.

posted by SmittenWithReading on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Pride and Prejudice

I have been looking forward to this book for 3 months, and I finished reading it last night. I liked the concept of the rockstars, but to me it was more like a romance novel, it take the characters and whores them out. Little dissappointed...love is not sex and sex i...
I have been looking forward to this book for 3 months, and I finished reading it last night. I liked the concept of the rockstars, but to me it was more like a romance novel, it take the characters and whores them out. Little dissappointed...love is not sex and sex is not love. I love the original and will read that again.

posted by ruafreak3801 on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tattoo'ed Darcy? Oh yeah!

    My Review:
    Okay, I probably should preface this review by saying that I am not a HUGE P&P fan. I like the story okay, have read the book a couple of times, own a couple of movies, but never really understood the horribly stand-offish attitude of Darcy. This book was a really, really good twist on the story though. And amazingly, it managed to tell a really fascinating story while staying VERY TRUE to the original. I am really impressed.

    Like the original book, it takes a while for the characters and story lines to get established, before you get caught up in the story. I would guess that I was about 25% into the story when this happened for me.

    In this version of the story, Fitzwilliam Darcy, Charles Bingley, and Richard Fitzwiliam make up the mega star rock-band, Slurry. They are two weeks away from heading out on a 7-month tour and have lost their third opening band (there are rumors that they are impossible to work with and that's why no one stays.) They are trying out a new girl band, Long Borne Suffering, which is made up of Elizabeth & Jane Bennet, and Charlotte Lucas. The girls are thrilled to join the tour, but before they even begin, Elizabeth overhears Darcy warning the guys not to sleep with any of them, because the girls will just use them as a step on their way to fame...and the normal P&P story continues from there.

    I really, really enjoyed the way that the story has been re-interpretted into the modern rock world. So creative!! The characters are the same. The overall set-up is the same. It has just been re-invented into the modern rock world. I don't know how Heather Lynn Rigaud did it so seamlessly!

    *Lady Catherine de Bourgh is the record label exec in charge of the backing for both bands.
    *George Wickham is a former bandmate of Slurry who was kicked out of the band and now makes music videos.
    *Mr. Collins is the lackey from the label whose come to oversee things with the bands so that they don't screw up.
    *Both Lizzy & Will are swimmers and often unwind after concerts by swimming in the hotel pools. A wet Darcy...yes, he's wet a LOT in this book.

    The best thing is that this is Pride & Prejudice with HOT SEX!! OMG, they are rockers and they don't hold anything back. It's really fun to see them going at it!

    Overall, I really enjoyed this one! Like I said, I am not a huge P&P fan, but it kept my attention and was definitely entertaining!!

    A tattoo'ed Fitzwilliam Darcy who's 6'5"....that's an idea that I can get behind.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Could have been better

    I think if the author had kept it clean the book would have been better. I for one don't think sex makes a book better. You can have it without going into the details and the book is better from my point of view.

    I did like how some of the story was reworked I liked the overall idea of this book. The author took the themes of the original and made them her own in this book, some were weaker than others but it was a new telling. Not just the exact same thing as the original. So good attempt but it could have been better. If you don't mind reading about sex the the book would be 4 stars.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    loved it

    its like reading an updated version of pride and prejudice. i loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. I am reading it again. P&P is one of my faves and this fresh, mondern take on it is fabulous. I was completely enthralled in the story and each of the characters. Like i said...I must read it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Love Pride and Prejudice and you will love this story.

    Absolutely loved the way the characters were developed in this story. The story line was great...the end a bit unbelievable but fantasy is what love stories are made of. I look forward to reading anything else this author writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Great modern day take on an old classic. Wonderful read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Not Pride and Prejudice

    I have been looking forward to this book for 3 months, and I finished reading it last night. I liked the concept of the rockstars, but to me it was more like a romance novel, it take the characters and whores them out. Little dissappointed...love is not sex and sex is not love. I love the original and will read that again.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic read!

    When I first came across this Fitzwilliam Darcy, Rock Star by Heather Lynn Rigaud I wasn't sure I wanted to read this novel. As some of you know I'm a huge fan of anything Jane Austen but trying to picture Mr. Darcy as a rock star was a little hard. In the end my curiosity won out. Not only did I end up really liking this novel, I would also classify it as a hard to put down novel.


    If you're not familiar with Jane Austen's characters from Pride and Prejudice it really doesn't matter for this novel. Heather Lynn Rigaud has put a contemporary spin on this classic book. The story line is about two bands who are on a tour together. Slurry is the name of Darcy's band. His band mates are Charles Bingley and Richard Fitzwilliam. They've been around for awhile and are hugely popular. They embark on a lengthy tour with the newbie band Long Borne Suffering which includes, Lizzy, Charlotte Lucas and Jane. I absolutely love the name of their band. I don't think Rigaud could have come up with a better name. It's absolutely brilliant. Both bands start the tour with little complications however as certain members of the band grow closer it starts to get complicated.


    I really liked the story line. Riguad took little details from Pride and Prejudice and incorporated them into this modern day retelling. I was a little shocked the first time Lizzy dropped the F bomb. I said out loud "Lizzy, no! You're not suppose to say that!" I had to let go of my preconceived notions of regency Lizzy and embrace the rock star Lizzy. I know that sounds really prudish but I'm so used to proper Lizzy. Once I did that it was all good. The characters in this novel also have quite a few steamy sexy time scenes. I also love that the author gave Charlotte Lucas a little more pizzazz and a very brazen attitude. Riguad managed to give the characters a sort of personality makeover without losing the initial core selves .


    Overall this book was really good. I picked up this book to read every chance I had. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes contemporary romance or Jane Austen. I'm so glad that I gave this book a chance. This is one of the best contemporary retellings I've read. It's definitely a 'To Read".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Fun and romantic

    This is a fun story to read. The modernization of Jane Austen's characters works well. I would have been okay without the graphic sex sections, but they weren't creepy or anything, just unneccesary in my opinion. The story uses the characters, but changes several plot points to make the story its own and not just a rehash of Pride and Prejudice. It was a cute and enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Great new take on an old story!!

    This story practically plays out just like the original "Pride and Prejudice" except it's set in the here and now. It's a little more graphic and explicit which adds a little more excitement for those who wanted a little more romance and grit out of the original story. If you liked the original, then this is a must read for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Interesting

    Love how she took Jane Austen's characters and rewrote them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Very enjoyable read and well worth the time

    I always enjoy the take offs of the P&P theme and this book fills the requirements - love, betrayal, family, and most of all the pairing of the two major couples - Jane, Bingley, Elizabeth, and Darcy. The side stories involving the rest of characters from P&P make this a very modern re-telling of a familiar story with just enough sex to ful-fill the interest of the modern reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good start, very weak middle, flop ending

    I am a huge fan of P&P and love discovering good retellings - sadly not the case here. The begining of the book was very good with character developement evolving nicely, though that started going downhill before page 100. I read a different review that said this was more a romance book more than anything else and I full-heartedly agree. Any nod of the head to P&P felt forced and almost like an after thought. The idea for the book is unique, but poorly executed. It was too steriotypical and too easy to guess what was going to happen next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Love it!!!!

    Great ending -- in my top three romance books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    I have read and re-read this book. LOVE it!

    I have read and re-read this book. LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Fantastic modern spin off of the characters in Pride and Prejudi

    Fantastic modern spin off of the characters in Pride and Prejudice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Sooo good

    This book is very very good. I would highly recomend it and it is definetly worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    Modern view of Jane Austins classic. I had my doubts about this book, but was glad I purchased it. I loved the story and couldn't put it down. Well worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Great

    Love the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    fantastic read

    This was a great book . I couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3