BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Five

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Full of adventure, lies, political power plays, and sexy men.

I received a free copy of the book from the author, but it doesn't affect my review.


THE SHORT VERSION:
I fully admit that I stayed up until 6 a.m. reading the last 60% of this book. I tore through it quickly, in only two days, so it's a fast and light read. Five ...
I received a free copy of the book from the author, but it doesn't affect my review.


THE SHORT VERSION:
I fully admit that I stayed up until 6 a.m. reading the last 60% of this book. I tore through it quickly, in only two days, so it's a fast and light read. Five has humor, spunk, and a thrilling imagination to it. Bits of the story were left unraveled at the end...bits that could have used explaining...but since it's the first in a series, I'd imagine we find that out later. While our main character's spunk made me love her, her resolve can be shaky and she occasionally acted in ways I thought were out of character. However, this book is full of sarcasm, quips, sexy men, and a political power play that adds an intriguing twist.


THE DETAILS:
I'm honestly not entirely sure where to start with Five. The Story itself is interesting because Rich has woven together two distinct worlds: ours, and the magical, hidden realm of Faeresia. While I'm not personally a huge fan of the name, her descriptions were delightful and imaginative and her creatures were vivid and real.

Our MC, Rayla, is a sassy girl that runs away from home to persue her dreams. She wants to be an artist, and she's actually really good. Her future is everything to her, and no one is going to take that from her. Well, that is, until several beautiful men start courting her. And by courting, I mean they're trying to kidnap her in the night because they're actually magical beings called fae, and she's the key to making them more powerful. Unstoppable, actually.

Scary. Too bad they're all drop-dead gorgeous. That's a little distracting.

So the characters are pretty well done. Though the men were initially a little bit stereotypical ("latin lover" and "jungle warrior"), they are unique and their personalities develop over the course of the book. Rayla and her best friend, Cassie, are a hoot. There's a ton of snark and humor that kept me glued to their development, and I loved the side stories that played within the book. The villains are, on the whole, also unique. And, damn it, they're sexy too.

There's an entire political undertone to Five that makes it more than chick lit and team-whoever reading. We discover why Rayla's being pursued, and why she's unique to anyone else that has also had to endure this strange courting process. We learn how some of the men want to use her, and we're constantly wondering if any of them actually care.

The pacing was pretty good, and any editing issues were minor and mostly unnoticeable while reading. The voice itself was strong and vivid on the whole, with just a few dramatic or flowery bits, and I just loved the imagination of the fae world, the trolls, and the magical beings. Styx is probably my favorite creature, and Zach my favorite character.

This is a good book. I mean, 4 stars and all. There were some plot developments that confused me, or led me astray in a way that was never explained or corrected. But there were several more moments where I laughed out loud, and the characters Rich builds are fun and very sexy. If you're a fan of a bit of sexual tension, power plays, self discovery, and a look into the magical, I think you'll enjoy this.

posted by thesmboyce on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

WARNING: CLIFFHANGER ENDING

Personally, I despise cliff hanger endings but if they don't bother you than I'd suggest this story. The take on Fae stealing humans is unique, and the main character's experiences feel real and are well described. The "instinctual draw" while maintaining a sense of dan...
Personally, I despise cliff hanger endings but if they don't bother you than I'd suggest this story. The take on Fae stealing humans is unique, and the main character's experiences feel real and are well described. The "instinctual draw" while maintaining a sense of danger is written better than the average.

posted by krystolla on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    WARNING: CLIFFHANGER ENDING

    Personally, I despise cliff hanger endings but if they don't bother you than I'd suggest this story. The take on Fae stealing humans is unique, and the main character's experiences feel real and are well described. The "instinctual draw" while maintaining a sense of danger is written better than the average.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Started well, but...

    The book started well enough, in spite of a few typos, but then it started to take itself too seriously, and it went downhill from there. The characters didn't always have consistent personalities, and while I liked the pace for most of it, it became rushed towards the end. The worst part, though, was the love triangle. The girl spends most of the book interested in one guy, but then she catches a ride with another guy, and after just a few hours staring into his eyes, goes into that "Woe is me! I love two men and can't decide!" nonsense. That sounded the death knell for the book, because I was so busy rolling my eyes that I could barely finish it. I won't be getting the sequel, even if it's free.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 of 5 stars. What¿s this mean to me? I liked the book. This is

    3 of 5 stars. What’s this mean to me? I liked the book. This is a good read and I enjoyed it while it lasted but won’t be revisiting its pages anytime soon. I will be reading the rest of the series.

    I can’t say that I was in love with this book from the moment I picked it up, however I can say that by the time I finished, I could not wait to get to the next book in the series. If you love a strong leading character who tries her hardest to fight for what she wants then you are going to want to read Five, by Christie L Rich.
    Rayla Tate, a feisty but naive young woman just entering college finds out that her life is not what it seems. She runs away from her overbearing Aunt and the small town she grew up in to go to college with her best friend Cassie.

    Seems simple enough right? Well, not exactly.

    Rayla immediately finds out that fate is going to play its card before she even steps foot on the college campus. As secrets are revealed to Rayla she discovers life is not as simple as black and white. She soon finds out that she is being targeted by a group of Fae lords, who are not just interested in her, but the powers that lay dormant inside of her; powers that are strong enough to change the world.

    You are going to run in to some grammatical errors that really put a hinge in the flow of this story. This can be a little frustrating, but really it’s worth over looking these errors in the long run. The only other issue I have with the story is Rayla’s reaction to finding out that Fae’s exist. To me, she seemed to accept this reality a little to easily. Even with these issues, I fell in love with Christie Rich’s Characters from Rayla to the Fae lords, they have you emotionally drawn into their lives so quickly you don’t have a chance to blink.
    Overall, this novel has pretty much everything you can ask for. It’s an emotional roller coaster full of many twits and turns. I suggest you pick up a copy of Five and join Rayla on her Journey to the world of the Fae’s. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book was okay. I enjoyed the characters. I wish we had more background. Im hoping the next book will give a little more of what brought us to where we where at the start of this book. I did enjoy the story and it is a fast read. I will be looking for the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 of 5 stars. What's this mean to me? I liked the book. This is

    3 of 5 stars. What's this mean to me? I liked the book. This is a good read and I enjoyed it while it lasted but won’t be revisiting its pages anytime soon. I will be reading the rest of the series.

    I can't say that I was in love with this book from the moment I picked it up, however I can say that by the time I finished, I could not wait to get to the next book in the series. If you love a strong leading character who tries her hardest to fight for what she wants then you are going to want to read Five, by Christie L Rich.
    Rayla Tate, a feisty but naive young woman just entering college finds out that her life is not what it seems. She runs away from her overbearing Aunt and the small town she grew up in to go to college with her best friend Cassie.
    Seems simple enough right? Well, not exactly.
    Rayla immediately finds out that fate is going to play its card before she even steps foot on the college campus. As secrets are revealed to Rayla she discovers life is not as simple as black and white. She soon finds out that she is being targeted by a group of Fae lords, who are not just interested in her, but the powers that lay dormant inside of her; powers that are strong enough to change the world.
    You are going to run in to some grammatical errors that really put a hinge in the flow of this story. This can be a little frustrating, but really it's worth over looking these errors in the long run. The only other issue I have with the story is Rayla's reaction to finding out that Fae's exist. To me, she seemed to accept this reality a little to easily. Even with these issues, I fell in love with Christie Rich's Characters from Rayla to the Fae lords, they have you emotionally drawn into their lives so quickly you don't have a chance to blink.
    Overall, this novel has pretty much everything you can ask for. It's an emotional roller coaster full of many twits and turns. I suggest you pick up a copy of Five and join Rayla on her Journey to the world of the Fae's. I don't think you will be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    decent

    It's not great and I don't lile any of the female main characters but Zack makes the difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I am Team Luke

    I don't care want you biased people think I liked Luke from the beginning and always felt that Zach was never truthful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    I cant understand

    I cant understand the description. Help?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Honestly a good read

    So much is in shadows that I can't wait to read the subsequent books to find out what's going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Interesting twist on the Fae. I became more intrigued as the story progressed. I especially liked the fact that Rayla is torn between two gorgeous men and can't really decide - of course the Fae are rushing her &

    she hasn't known them for more than a week or so. Lots of physical attraction and swoony kissing , so nice for teenage readers, although their sexual restraint less credible for adult readers especially considering the men are ancient Faerie Lords. Still, just the mention of the possibility of a lesbian Fae character was unusual, although a red herring. Wasn't sure whether this possible villainess & the "black"(?) male Fae that Rayla ends up hating are indications of author's prejudice or just that Rayla is young, unworldly, sheltered & inexperienced while being manipulated by a lot of glamourous male Otherworld beings who are ancient in age and have political agendas. The gradual revealing of power plots, political upheavel and the mad science/magical experiments give mystery and the promise of a more interesting tale than chicklit fantasy. I do wonder what will happen to Rayla & her endangered relatives and the other Elementals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Kasey

    Why

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Kasey

    Wht did i miss wats going on

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Five

    The problem I found with this book was that the characters were not completely thought out. I had a hard time getting into the book at first but it grew on me after a few chapters. Rayla, I think was a little paranoid about the darkness and someone following her from the Other World. Rayla and Cassie were always arguing not at all like the best friends they were supposed to be. Although I found it slow going I do want to read the next book. I do hope Rayla ends up with Luke and learns more about herself and the Fae. I do love the Fae.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2