Customer Reviews for

Five Days in Skye: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Five Days in Skye swept me away to Scotland! Against the craggy

Five Days in Skye swept me away to Scotland! Against the craggy beauty of the Isle of Skye author Carla Laureano weaves a story of
love between an American businesswoman and a Scottish celebrity chef. Fans of the movie The Holiday are sure to enjoy this
contemporary r...
Five Days in Skye swept me away to Scotland! Against the craggy beauty of the Isle of Skye author Carla Laureano weaves a story of
love between an American businesswoman and a Scottish celebrity chef. Fans of the movie The Holiday are sure to enjoy this
contemporary romance. Laureano's voice is deft, seamless, and wonderfully accomplished. An exciting newcomer to the world of
Christian fiction!  Congratulations, Carla, on your debut novel.

posted by BeckyWade on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short but good

I thought it was written well. I like how they interacted with each other. Overall, good quick read.

posted by 5841426 on July 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Five Days in Skye swept me away to Scotland! Against the craggy

    Five Days in Skye swept me away to Scotland! Against the craggy beauty of the Isle of Skye author Carla Laureano weaves a story of
    love between an American businesswoman and a Scottish celebrity chef. Fans of the movie The Holiday are sure to enjoy this
    contemporary romance. Laureano's voice is deft, seamless, and wonderfully accomplished. An exciting newcomer to the world of
    Christian fiction!  Congratulations, Carla, on your debut novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommend

    The story was well written. I couldn't put in down till down reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Short but good

    I thought it was written well. I like how they interacted with each other. Overall, good quick read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    great

    A well written true love story. Makes you want to be one of the characters. Love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Loved this book.  I couldn't put it down.

    Loved this book.  I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Recommended

    A great read. Very descriptive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano Andrea Sullivan: rising exe

    Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano

    Andrea Sullivan: rising executive on the verge of Vice President of sales for her company. Suddenly she finds herself in the doghouse in Scotland. Scotland where it's "cold, it's miserable, and the food is horrible."

    James MacDonald: world famous celebrity chef from Scotland. He owns six restaurants, written four cookbooks and has his own cooking show. He loves a challenge. When he meets Andrea Sullivan in one of his pubs, he doesn't disclose who he is. Andrea reveals her aversion to Scotland, and James takes it as a challenge to change her opinion of his beloved homeland. He only has five days to change her mind. Can he accomplish his task? How long will Andrea have to put up with the selfish celebrity or is that just the image that has been woven for the public? Read Five Days in Skye and get lost in the beauty of the story.

    A mythically beautiful setting with authentic characters. This was a delightful read. I loved getting lost in the Scottish highlands. First time author, Carla Laureano, does a brilliant job. I am eager to read more of her work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    loved this book

    These "five days" inspired me to book my next adventure. Well written. I was smitten with the characters from page one and found myself heartbroken that they only existed on the page. Biggest draw back is that it doesnt have the lend me feature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Beautiful story

    Loved this story - brought back wonderful memories of my trip to the stunning Isle of Skye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    FIVE DAYS IN SKYE was one of my absolute favorite reads of 2013.

    FIVE DAYS IN SKYE was one of my absolute favorite reads of 2013. I'm pretty sure I read it from cover to cover until I was finished--at 3 a.m. It's one of those books that stays with a person long after he or she (but--let's get real--probably *she*) reads it. 

    I loved the descriptions in this book, the raw, endearing humanity of James and Andrea, the dynamic of every relationship, and the magical setting. This story has a quality to it that doesn't pull any punches, something I think inspirational romance needs. Authors like Carla Laureano who honestly portray characters' rocky pasts and show how those events affect the characters' present have the ability to make the message of redemption that much more powerful. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Berk

    Yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Clover

    Wait go to the next result. Im madison. Can you be a shapeshifyer?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Just finished this nice romance.  I enjoyed both of the main cha

    Just finished this nice romance.  I enjoyed both of the main characters and loved the visit to Scotland I took in this book.  Romances aren't big on my reading list but this one was well written, good light-reading, and kept my attention until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    This book captivated me not only with the scenery, but the dialo

    This book captivated me not only with the scenery, but the dialogue and chemistry between the two main characters. Carla truly made each page come alive. If you enjoy witty characters, a great romance, or have ever visited--or wanted to visit Scotland--you'll love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Nice Book. Recommend.

    Nice book. Enjoyed. Recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    This is a good Christian novel.

    I liked this book because it was interesting to read about Scotland (nothing boring) and also it had something a little different with the theme of what celebrities face and also about women working in a man's world. Nice romantic side too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    More,please More, please

    Reading this book was a wonderful escape at the close of a busy day. Isle of Skye tops my travel list. I also am left wanting more to read from Ms. Laureano. A story of Ian, perhaps?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Wow

    This book is a must read! From the first page its got ya. The characters are well written you feel like your watching a movie . Grab your glass of wine a comfy couch and turn on your lamp light it will be a all nighter! You won't want to put the book down. Can't wait till the next one from this author ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Moonflower

    This is Banishedclan a place for cats banished from there clan or thrown out. U might even have just had ur clan stop.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2