Customer Reviews for

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

The Book for Team Effectiveness

Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is a book I enjoyed which Pat Lencioni wrote the foreword for. I found Lencioni's foreword intriguing (apparently I was the one person who hadn't heard of him). So, I decided to check The Five Dysfunctions out, and am so glad that I did.

T...
Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is a book I enjoyed which Pat Lencioni wrote the foreword for. I found Lencioni's foreword intriguing (apparently I was the one person who hadn't heard of him). So, I decided to check The Five Dysfunctions out, and am so glad that I did.

This book explores the fundamental causes of organizational politics and team failure. Lencioni does an outstanding job showing a team that's going through some typical, real-world sticking points, yet is able to maneuver through them successfully. The central premise is that any team can work together effectively once they understand and overcome the five dysfunctions.

The Five Dysfunctions are:

* Absence of Trust,
* Fear of Conflict,
* Lack of Commitment,
* Avoidance of Accountability, and
* Inattention to Results

I'm now using The Five Dysfunctions with my work group with great success. They were already reading the EI 2.0 book, and didn't skip a beat when I threw this one into the mix. Highly recommended.

posted by Lencioni_Fan on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

It's easy to be successful in fiction

This is a quick, fluffy read, suitable for hip managers to hand out at motivational meetings. The author paints a great picture of a new leader cajoling her 'team' into a position of trust, constructive conflict, etc. Of course, since the book is a 'fable', there is n...
This is a quick, fluffy read, suitable for hip managers to hand out at motivational meetings. The author paints a great picture of a new leader cajoling her 'team' into a position of trust, constructive conflict, etc. Of course, since the book is a 'fable', there is no question that she will be successful. The author is head of his own management consulting firm, but apparently hasn't actually been the leader of a successful business outside of the management seminar field. If he were, he'd understand that real world teamwork problems cannot be broken down into five simplistic catagories. The reader's money would be better spent on books that examine successful teams in the real world.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    5 Dysfunctions of a Team, is written so that someone with either

    5 Dysfunctions of a Team, is written so that someone with either a high school education or a masters degree can understand how to achieve an optimally run team within any office.  Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to learn how to be a successful part of a team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Great Book!

    I had to read this book for school....however, I would recommend it highly! It provides great direction for team building. Easy to understand and a quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    everybodies been there, nobody tries to make it better.

    I liked it, it is alot easier to read the storie with a lesson than some of these other leadership books that just go on and on.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Oustanding

    Wonderful piece of writing. Beneficial and useful to not only professionals, but students and lay people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2009

    Great read, especially for those in the business world

    Lencioni's book is very good insight into the workings of a team. Like some of his other books this is a business fable, in which he talks about some troubles a business may run into. Lencioni himself has a lot of business experience, so he obviously knows what he's talking about.

    The book itself talks about a fictional company, one with very big name characters (in their world). However, despite their heavy hitters their company isn't doing as well as it should be. A new CEO is hired and she spends some time watching the other staff members to see what problems they are having. She realizes that despite the fact they're all very good at what they do, they do not work together. She goes through explain the five dysfunctions of teams, such as absence of trust and lack of commitment, in order to hopefully turn around the company. Very good book and should be a must read for those who deal with team problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Inspiring and Vivid Novel

    Lencioni has provided readers with an engaging and thoughtful that inspects teams of all natures. This is a quick and easy read for the business professional to the high school athlete. Lencioni clearly highlights the importance of teamwork and provides readers with an application of teamwork, or lack thereof, in the business setting. He is able to paint a clear image by portraying a simulation of a corporate environment, and more importantly, he still retains clarity of his message on teamwork breaking down his philosophy into easy to understand points. Lencioni provides a great foundation for anyone interested in business however, his points should not be used as the ultimate ruling in any real team situation. Although he uses great characterization in this novel there are still many flaws. Lencioni provides readers with a great foundational tool, nothing more. People are not as single-dimensionally as some of the characters found in this novel and problems are not as simple. If you are business savvy or you¿re not, this is still a great read for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    very good read

    This was a great book, an easy read that was packed with information and suspense. After reading the fictional part of the book, I found the in depth descriptions of each dysfunction at the end of the book very important and informative. Also what makes this book so good is the fact that almost anyone in any team building situation can relate to the book. As a high school senior who is involved in sports, is involved in many activities at my school and who has a weekend job that is focused around teamwork, reading this book has been beneficial and inspirational to me. As I look back at things I have done and been involved with and also ahead to future endeavors, I realize not only the importance of teamwork but how to take the idealistic thought of a perfectly functioning team and turn it into reality. Almost anything that you do has some sort of team aspect. If you can conquer the 5 dysfunctions by taking conflict head on and trusting others while at the same time doing not what is best for you but what is best for the team, I think that you will truly understand and retain the true meaning and importance of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Easy to Relate Too

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book not only for the lessons about team building that I have learned but also for the interesting story of Kathryn and her challenges on taking on a failing business. This was an easy to understand book filled with significant information about the problems that occur in teams and various ways to take on these dysfunctions in hope to correct them. Although this book was based on the correcting of a failing business, it applies to all teams and is significant to me as a senior in high school. As captain of several sports teams, I know the importance that teamwork has on the team as a whole and the challenges of keeping a functional team. This book has given me the insight to how to better lead others and cope with/fix the dysfunctions of any future team activities I will be involved in. Also I have learned that there are many different people with different personalities and characteristics that need to be dealt with in different manners using different techniques. I recommend this book to all people in the business world and anyone who interacts with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Excellent Insight

    When I first picked up this book I had some mix feelings about how well it could be. I looked at the front and it said it was a leadership fable. As a high school senior I was unaware of any books of that nature. But I began to read the book and I found it very easy to read and understand. The author Patrick Lencioni creates a great story and teaches you the concepts of a team and dysfunctions of a team. And as a high school senior about to enter college and major in business I learned a vast amount of things from this book. I learned the downfalls of most groups which come from five things, the absence of trust, fear of conflict, lack of commitment, avoidance of accountability, and inattention to results. After reading this book I feel like I am one step a head now when it comes to working in group business project. I will take many of the things I learned from Patrick Lencioni into the real world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Very applicable to many groups in my business life and personal life.

    I have used the concepts highlighted in this book and have recommended the book to others. Team work is essential to the work and home environment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    Good, Simplified yet very Practical Fable

    Building a team is a very challenging task. Though the overall direction of the group is set making a team out of the group is very difficult. The dysfunctions in a team can occur at different levels including at the highest leadership levels of organizations. Each leader knowing the overall organization direction can drag the events to different directions leading to severe damage to the interests of the organizations. We can build work groups that are motivated to achieve a short term objective such as a single project or a specific task needing special attention at a specific moment of time. Building a team that works on both short and long term goals is a tough task. Team work represents a value system that encourage the members of a group towards active listening, responding constructively to the other members view points, understand different perspectives, providing support within and deal with issues objectively than personally. The values built within a team to bring up collective wisdom form the base for higher performance than that comes out of individual brilliance. Five Dysfunctions of a Team is a fable that covers the aspects of making an effective team which identifies itself beyond individual brilliance by bringing up the five important aspects that cause dysfunction of teams. Teams made out of brilliant performers need not always make brilliant teams. A successful team displays a set of attributes that make it a functional and performing team. Patrick Lencioni presented a management team of a fictional company which is very close to industry leadership but is not able to break the barrier of becoming the best. The team has excellent people and they are all committed to bring in success for the organization. Despite the individual brilliance and commitment, Decision Tech still remains below the competitors which apparently does not consist of any hard hitters to take them up through brilliant individual performances. Good simplified fable with lot of practical relevance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    Powerful Guidance

    As the principal of a public school, I found the strategies and tactics applicable. Public educators commit themselves to matters somewhat different that profit and the "bottom line." As a result, we sometimes can be distracted into thinking concepts and ideas which are applied in a business setting don't apply to us. That in itself is a reflection of the dysfunction in public education, to the extent it is present in a particular school. "5 Dysfunctions" is as applicable in schools as in business.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3