Customer Reviews for

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable

Average Rating 4
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

The Book for Team Effectiveness

Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is a book I enjoyed which Pat Lencioni wrote the foreword for. I found Lencioni's foreword intriguing (apparently I was the one person who hadn't heard of him). So, I decided to check The Five Dysfunctions out, and am so glad that I did.

T...
Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is a book I enjoyed which Pat Lencioni wrote the foreword for. I found Lencioni's foreword intriguing (apparently I was the one person who hadn't heard of him). So, I decided to check The Five Dysfunctions out, and am so glad that I did.

This book explores the fundamental causes of organizational politics and team failure. Lencioni does an outstanding job showing a team that's going through some typical, real-world sticking points, yet is able to maneuver through them successfully. The central premise is that any team can work together effectively once they understand and overcome the five dysfunctions.

The Five Dysfunctions are:

* Absence of Trust,
* Fear of Conflict,
* Lack of Commitment,
* Avoidance of Accountability, and
* Inattention to Results

I'm now using The Five Dysfunctions with my work group with great success. They were already reading the EI 2.0 book, and didn't skip a beat when I threw this one into the mix. Highly recommended.

posted by Lencioni_Fan on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

It's easy to be successful in fiction

This is a quick, fluffy read, suitable for hip managers to hand out at motivational meetings. The author paints a great picture of a new leader cajoling her 'team' into a position of trust, constructive conflict, etc. Of course, since the book is a 'fable', there is n...
This is a quick, fluffy read, suitable for hip managers to hand out at motivational meetings. The author paints a great picture of a new leader cajoling her 'team' into a position of trust, constructive conflict, etc. Of course, since the book is a 'fable', there is no question that she will be successful. The author is head of his own management consulting firm, but apparently hasn't actually been the leader of a successful business outside of the management seminar field. If he were, he'd understand that real world teamwork problems cannot be broken down into five simplistic catagories. The reader's money would be better spent on books that examine successful teams in the real world.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Book for Team Effectiveness

    Emotional Intelligence 2.0 is a book I enjoyed which Pat Lencioni wrote the foreword for. I found Lencioni's foreword intriguing (apparently I was the one person who hadn't heard of him). So, I decided to check The Five Dysfunctions out, and am so glad that I did.

    This book explores the fundamental causes of organizational politics and team failure. Lencioni does an outstanding job showing a team that's going through some typical, real-world sticking points, yet is able to maneuver through them successfully. The central premise is that any team can work together effectively once they understand and overcome the five dysfunctions.

    The Five Dysfunctions are:

    * Absence of Trust,
    * Fear of Conflict,
    * Lack of Commitment,
    * Avoidance of Accountability, and
    * Inattention to Results

    I'm now using The Five Dysfunctions with my work group with great success. They were already reading the EI 2.0 book, and didn't skip a beat when I threw this one into the mix. Highly recommended.

    40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    Must Read for Aspiring and Seasoned Leaders

    Leadership is a complex phenomenon and effective leadership even more so. In this book, Lencioni simplifies complex issues in leadership and teambuilding. In most organizations, leaders are afraid of healthy debate and being challenged by their staff/team. In this book, Kathryn encourages such debates and uses it as a ground breaking tool to bring her team together. I liked the book because it portrayed Kathyrn as a confident leader who was open to challenges. She was objective, not easily moved by emotions, and she made tough decisions that needed to be made for the betterment of the team. <BR/><BR/>In addition, the book brings out the concept of false harmony, where colleagues don't challenge each other when it comes to accountability. It's a book that encourages leaders to encourage their team to be honest with themselves and each other, to hold each other accountable, to hold the leader accountable, and to ultimately work together for a common goal. To bring a team together as Kathyrn did, leaders must let the team know that they are broken, understand why they are broken and stand firm on the goal to bring them together. The book shows how it is not easy to break cultural norms and that resistance to breaking those norms will be prevalent. <BR/><BR/>I recommend this book to seasoned and aspiring leaders like. Seasoned leaders who ignore the dysfuctions of their team can learn a thing or two from this book but they must be willing to break the cultural norm. Aspiring leaders should get this book because it can help them to stop a dysfunction before it begins

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Teamwork Better Profits

    As a corporate human resources director, I am continually searching for material that will enhance our organizations team skills. Somewhat like another management book that I recommended Our Iceberg Is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions, the author uses fictional tales to deliver truthful insights into our business practices. I found the book to be a very intertaining and fun read along with a ton of valuable information. <BR/><BR/>The concepts within the book can be easily implemented and will result in continual improvement in your team building endeavors. The value of teamwork within the modern corporate structure is sometimes a hard sell in the real world. Managers need reference material and books that contain much needed advice if they are going to `prove' the value of teamwork to the CEO. Like communication, everyone says it is important but the rubber rarely meets the road. <BR/><BR/>The part of the book that details the "five dysfunctions" is a great reference guide and also a topic that sounds eerily familiar as all seasoned managers have been down that road. The `five' are: <BR/><BR/>1. Absence of trust, <BR/>2. Fear of conflict <BR/>3. Lack of commitment <BR/>4. Avoidance of accountability <BR/>5. Inattention to results. <BR/><BR/>I recommend this book because I believe it will be a valuable addition to your bookshelf and certainly one that will be referenced again and again through the years. Michael L. Gooch, SPHR

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Help is just around the corner

    My colleagues and I have been struggling with changes in leadership in the workplace. A dear friend recommended this book as a resource, so I went out and bought it that day (and a second copy for one of my work colleagues). The majority of the book focuses on the 'fable' of the team who has acquired a new leader. The remainder of the book is an easily read discussion of the 5 dysfunctions, how they impact the overall team/work of the group, and strategies for changing to a more effective approach. We're getting ready to use the book in some support sessions from our HR department. And my husband can't wait to read it next (I already lent it to someone else). Overall, an easy and entertaining read that has some real 'meat' in it -- reading it has given me the opportunity to identify some behaviors in myself that I'll be working to improve.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Shadowkit

    I am a ninja too!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The best book on teamwork

    Patrick Lencioni does an outstanding job in this book of showing a team that's going through some typical, real-world sticking points, yet is able to maneuver through them successfully. By understanding and overcoming the five dysfunctions, any team can work together effectively.<BR/><BR/>Another book I recommend that I really enjoyed and I purchased after seeing Patrick Lencioni wrote the foreword for it is The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    A Must Read!! This book offers lots of valuable information fo

    A Must Read!!


    This book offers lots of valuable information for any team.  Lencioni puts it all into an easy to read story then breaks it out at the end of the book.  The story puts all the information into context and 'The Model' is something you can keep referring back to. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Great book on team building!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I gained much insight into interpersonal dynamics that I will be putting into practice in my business and my home life. Easy to read narrative style - the author paints a picture that is rich and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable by Patrick M

    The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Leadership Fable by Patrick M. Lencioni examines five obstacles to effective teamwork. Focused on the executive team, Mr. Lencioni illustrates the harmful effects diminished teamwork has on an organization's effectiveness. He then prescribes actions that can be taken to overcome these obstacles thereby increasing overall organizational performance.

    I believe that an organization can only perform effectively if there exists a cohesive, aligned, action-oriented executive team guiding it. I like The Five Dysfunctions of a Teambecause it highlights the common barriers to effective teamwork and an actionable process for overcoming these barriers. While the process presented focuses on an organization's executive team, we believe the same principles can be used to improve teamwork at all levels of the organization. Additionally, Mr. Lencioni's recommended actions support what I believe is key to sustained, superior success; shared vision, focus, and commitment.

    As a business novel, The Five Dysfunctions of a Team presents its principles for improved teamwork through a believable, vividly illustrated, and easily related to story of an organization's struggle to improve performance. Many of the best practice recommendations found on the StrategyDriven website compliment the actions prescribed in The Five Dysfunctions of a Team; making this book a StrategyDriven recommended read.

    All the Best,
    Nathan Ives
    StrategyDriven Principal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Graystripe

    Who wants some cat stuff?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    BALLSTARS STORY

    Read the legendary bio of a legendary cat at aun result1-2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Bluepelt

    May i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Cresentmoon

    Pads to a tree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Ghostwind

    Yawns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Fawnstar with sword

    •---|=========>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    On Target

    Lencioni will hold your interest with this book in which he helps the reader discern barriers to having a good team.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Recommended

    A presenter showed the primary diagram from this book and it caught my interest so I got and read the book--if you have problems in a work, church, school or other team--the premises in this book will help identify and suggest some ideas for resolution. It seemed odd to start with a "fable" but it really helped to illustrate the issues and resolutions. Easy read that needs some follow-on thought to process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Great read

    Well written with concise ideas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    For EVERY team/system in your life!

    Your work is a team, your family is a team, your church is a team, your knitting circle is a team!!! This book's principles can and should be applied to every team in your life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5