Customer Reviews for

Five Flavors of Dumb

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss out on this one!!

3 words - READ THIS BOOK! Great story, interesting characters, not just for young adults. The premise and the cover reeled me in, but once I started reading I was hooked and I did not want the book to end. It's about high school, music, family, friendships, finding you...
3 words - READ THIS BOOK! Great story, interesting characters, not just for young adults. The premise and the cover reeled me in, but once I started reading I was hooked and I did not want the book to end. It's about high school, music, family, friendships, finding yourself, and much more! I don't want to spoil it by telling too much, you just have to read it yourself - you'll be glad you did!!

posted by 172615 on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Headline

Um so wat r the five flavors of dumb

posted by 10466305 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Not a book to put aside

    If it even slightly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Read this! AMAZING BOOK!! :)

    This book was amazing. It took you into a world where your voice should be heard and can be heard. This is a book out overcoming your issues and breaking through.
    This book is good for eleven years old and up. Its got a bit of romance and a music prospect...
    Once again amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Title

    The title refers to the five unique members of the band, Dumb, which is in this book. Geez people! I haven't even read the book and I can tell you that!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    R

    Not a good title

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Loved it :)

    I definately reccomend this book! It has an awesome plot and twists -one of my favorite books so read it :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Purchased as a gift - can't review.

    Purchased as a gift - can't review.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Love this book

    This book is amazing because it compares life with music and it shows you that music is not just a beat its a story that anybody can read as long as they feel the song in their souls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew dumb could taste so good?

    I hesitated to read Five Flavors Of Dumb for many reasons. The cover seemed to cool to be true, and sometimes I find that intimidating! I read a lot of favorable reviews which you'd think that'd be a good thing, but oftentimes that makes me worry that I might have a defective gene and won't like it as much. Anyhow, safe to say, it was dumb of me to wait this long to pick up a copy because Five Flavors Of Dumb is everything but dumb. Piper makes for an excellent narrator - and can I say that I love her? She's a little intimidating at first - quick to argue, slow to apologize or say thank you, deaf but definitely capable of speaking her mind. Which makes it hard to know how exactly to approach her. Granted, I cannot blame her for feeling angry at her parents for giving her baby sister a chance to hear or her dad refusing to learn ASL at all. If anything, Piper is a little passive-aggressive - and when she's gets aggressive, she gets rather brutal in her honesty. Yet she starts to melt when she becomes the "mother hen" to the band members. Socializing outside her comfort zone changes Piper for the better, and it serves as a turning point in everyone's lives as they start to make compromises instead of war. Five Flavors Of Dumb is a little misleading in having you think there are only 5 flavors - or characters - to get to know. Prepare yourself to handle at least double that number. I think Antony John does an marvelous job at introducing each character and providing multiple facets to their personalities that literally blew me away. Piper's parents, for instance, almost steal the show away - and I desperately wanted to know more about them and their pasts. Her mom starts off as Piper's strong advocate, but slowly and unexpectedly turns against her. Her dad never seems to see Piper as Piper but someone disadvantaged, but sneakily redeems himself by the end. How many flavors is there of dumb? I think Five Flavors Of Dumb will definitely answer that question quite adequately, and I'm sure the answer will vary from sweetness to tartness to bitterness to melts-in-your-mouth-goodness. Not as edgy as I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone or teeny-bop as AUDREY, WAIT!, but just as enjoyable with a memorable narrator who can easily be the next best thing since Please Ignore Vera Dietz entered the scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Missy's Reads & Reviews

    I'm going to try to write this review without gushing too much about how it's one of my favorite reads of the century. I'm also going to try to prevent myself from ranting about how a GUY excelled at writing a book from a GIRL's POV. It makes me wonder if we females are getting a little too predictable/readable... Hmm.

    I digress.

    Okay, so, Five Flavors of Dumb IS on my list of best YA books of all time. I have backing, too. It's won the Schneider Family Teen Book Award and for good reason. Piper, your main girl in the story, is deaf. That doesn't make Piper an outcast in any way. She adapts well with reading lips and signing. As a matter of fact, Piper is pretty average yet strongly unique at the same time. What do I mean by that? She's smart, independent and funny, but she's not popular and never catches the eye of the popular boy at school. She sounds ordinary, yet she somehow manages to shine through on every page with her fierce determination and witty comments. She's also very human in that she has to deal with making mistakes, learning, moving on and struggles to understand her two parents who seem to put more time and effort into her infant sister than her.

    The story grips you not in the way that most books do by its action, but rather its intense emotional roller coaster that you go on with Piper as she grows and finally breaks out of her shell. Just when you think she's going to give up, she pulls out more strength that you never realize she has and saves the day.

    The supporting characters were all just as amazingly written, each with their own issues and quirks. I think the only ones I was annoyed with in the story was her parents, who drained Piper's funds given to her by her grandparents for college all so they could give her little sister a "chance to be normal" with a cochlear implant. The way they went about it was completely inappropriate and devoid of any concern for how it may affect Piper. If you ask me, it was almost selfish ... like they just couldn't bear the idea of having two deaf daughters. Thankfully, they do somewhat redeem themselves in the story. The love interest in the story completely blindsided me, although looking back I can say that it was there - I was just too wrapped up in other things to notice all of the hints at it within the story. I think of all the characters, Piper's brother Finn ended up with my heart. The love interest was all well and good, but Finn showed that he was much more than what met the eye - and my heart was pretty much jello there at the end.

    I don't think that I can do this book justice by just writing a review. Instead, you should go out and buy this book. Read it for yourself, and I dare you to not fall madly in love with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Five Flavors of Dumb

    This book is freaking awesome!
    Obviously, I was drawn into it because of how the synopsis is basically like, a deaf girl promoting a music group...So I was thinking, 'how is that possible...?' until I opened the book and READ. I honestly read this pretty fast, a lot faster than I've been reading other books. Mainly because of how great not only the writing is, but how great the plot itself is! You cannot not love this, I don't think.
    Words were woven into intricate sentences that just seemed to fit. Piper (the MC) was definitely someone to love and adore--she was so strong, and I loved her to bits. I didn't love her father though--he seemed to be an a** half of the time, and I was even pissed at parts, when he would say something insensitive that hurt Piper.
    Antony John is now the proud owner of a spot on my Authors-to-Look-Out-For list, and hell, I really can't wait to see what else he has to say!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Five Flavors of Dumb

    As soon as I heard this story was about a rock band with a teenage band manager as the protagonist, I knew I wanted to read it (Okay, so the cover was the first reason, but that was the second). Add the fact that the protagonist also happens to be deaf and I was very intrigued. What I found was a fun story with a big heart. It was much more emotional than I first expected, in a very good way.


    Piper was a fabulous character that I easily clicked with. She had many layers to her. When she is challenged to find the band a gig by the end of the month she takes it on. She needs the money for college, since her parents drained her college fund paying for her baby sister's cochlear implant. I felt all the emotions Piper felt about her sister getting the implant. This story isn't just a rock band story. It's also a story about family, and all the issues that come with it.


    Piper had great chemistry with the band, which made for a lot of great scenes. The band members all had their own traits and personalities. Sometimes with these stories, a few supporting characters are just there and flat. But each supporting character in Five Flavors, especially Piper's family members, are fleshed out and important to the story. The setting for Five Flavors is Seattle, the birth place of grunge rock. I enjoyed the music references that this added to the story, like when the band visited Kurt Cobain's mansion.


    The only complaint that I have was that I wasn't immediately drawn into the story. The first few chapters could have moved along a bit faster. But once the story got moving, I was completely invested. So if you find yourself thinking the same thing with the first few chapters in this book, stick with it. It picks up.


    I am so happy I decided to read this fabulous story. Don't let the title fool you. Five Flavors of Dumb is much bigger than just a rock band story. If you enjoy contemporary YA, you should definitely pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    5 Reasons to love Five Flavors of Dumb

    1) A family relationship made more complex because of Piper's deafness, younger brother Finn's low sense of achievement because of being compared to his older sister's brain power, innocent baby Grace's place in the family because her deafness has been treated w/ a cochlear implant that Piper's college money was used to pay for, and parents you still like in spite of them "borrowing" Piper's college fund. 2) Piper's fierceness in everything she does. She considers herself an outcast, but the teacher's all hail her as a superior student, her parents acknowledge that she's the rock of her faltering family (Dad's out of a job, Mom's overworking to compensate), she's a ferocious chess player, that last skill helping her to strategize the future of the band Dumb, and, finally she isn't afraid to take steps to put herself out there and live every day. 3) Piper and Ed Chen's love story. Tender, stumbling Ed is so much more mature than the band he agrees to help mentor - and eventually join - all for love of Piper. He joins the chess club (a game at which he sucks) to be with her although Piper remains oblivious. Plus he gives up valuable rehearsal time - he's principal percussionist of Seattle's Youth Orchestra and intends to pursue music as a career - to help Piper improve both the band's musicianship and their band spirit. Double plus: he takes marimba lessons and sign language lessons and makes a very pretty cup of espresso. 4) Watching the band come together, fall apart, and reform into something completely different and stronger was great fun as was going along with them as they traveled around Seattle to acquaint themselves with rock history by visiting both the houses of Kurt Cobain and Jimi Hendrix. The bonding of such sublimely different girls as Piper, Tash and Kallie will make teens aware that they're all alike under the skin. 5) Come on...the heroine is DEAF...and she's managing a band called Dumb. How great is that!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4