Customer Reviews for

Five Golden Rings: A Christmas Collection

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Five Golden Rings is a collection of short love stories made all

Five Golden Rings is a collection of short love stories made all the more special for their Christmastime magic.

Christmas is my favorite holiday of year and so I devote a good deal of my reading time during December to Christmas themed books. I often find anthologies...
Five Golden Rings is a collection of short love stories made all the more special for their Christmastime magic.

Christmas is my favorite holiday of year and so I devote a good deal of my reading time during December to Christmas themed books. I often find anthologies will have at least one story that doesn't work for me, but this delightful Christmas collection of five stories was a joy to read, start to finish! Each and every story, in some way, touched me and brought to my heart that magical feeling of Christmas.

My thanks to Avon Books for providing me with a copy of this wonderful collection for review. It was such a pleasure!

posted by BookWormInCali on December 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

J

To the children here playing their kittycat games...this is a book review site, not a roleplaying site. Take your stupid games elsewhere. I come here for reviews on books, not to have to scroll thru all ur game playing crap. Grow up and take your games elsewhere.

posted by 8888649 on December 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    The collection of short Christmas stories were delightful. I enjoyed reading them during the holidays. The authors all did a good job.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Mistletoe Magic--Sophie Barnes I have tried to read this author

    Mistletoe Magic--Sophie Barnes
    I have tried to read this author in the past, without success. It's not because the writing is bad but I had problems connecting to the characters. I wanted to like Leonora and Connor but couldn't manage to work up much enthusiasm for them. It wasn't dissatisfaction with the characters actions but more towards apathy. The interest to know more about them was not there.

    His Perfect Gift--Karen Erickson
    I finished this story but did it grudgingly. I wished the heroine had shown more backbone towards the members of her family. Honestly, I was hoping the hero was playing a trick on the heroine and was in fact going to leave her and her horrible family in the dust. What really upset me was that the hero paid off the father's debts and accepted the assumptions of her family that he would take care of them and any other "problems" (i.e. the father's gambling debts) in the future. Really! I was incredulous that he accepted this as part of his due for loving Eleanor; and Eleanor (who before thought not to be a burden) was smiling and happy to have Ashton take care of all the family's problems.

    War of the Magi--Rena Gregory
    This was a cute enemy to friends story. I wished there had been more explanation on the hero's background. I had trouble understanding why exactly he was in this town (as opposed to one of the others his family had holdings in) to look for a potential bride. If it was explained, I completely missed it. I understood where Ginny was coming from and I give props to her taking charge of Phin and trying to show him the light. She could have been snooty and mean with the lesson but she was kind and firm and funny.

    Her Christmas Knight--Sandra Jones
    This, too, was another instance where I was apathetic towards the characters. Additional information on the heroine and hero's shared past might have peaked my interest, especially since it was such a defining moment in both their lives. I also didn't like the the sister Serena and saw no reason why the main heroine was so accepting of her.

    Tempting Mr. Weatherstone--Vivienne Lorret
    This story was my favorite. Immediately I connected with Pen and her desire for more out of her life. What person hasn't woke up one day, realizing that they're stuck in a rut and wanting to change? The author's voice was a good one as well; I liked the pacing of her words. There was an exact balance between drama, humor, romance, and intimacy. I will definitely be on the look out for more of her work in the future.
    *Review copy provided by publisher through Edelweiss for honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Short and sweet (LVR)

    Historical romance quick reads for the busy holiday season. Had a few issues with historical language and accuracy, but overall nice stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    I really enjoyed these novellas--I thought them almost too light

    I really enjoyed these novellas--I thought them almost too light and had the same problems with them as dnneal but for late night relaxing enjoyment they were great! I thought the last story was the best and really cared what happened!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Fine short reads

    These short stories are modestly satisfying and can be easily completed in bed before drifting off. I agree with another reviewer that the last in the compilation by Vivienne Lorette raises the standard. Its one of those stories that keeps the reader in tender hooks full of delightful anguish waiting for the characters to discover and commit to their hearts desires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Alohamora

    She looked around at the clouds and ran off of the head, falling into the black abyss.

    Alohamora

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1