Customer Reviews for

The Five Love Languages of Teenagers

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    The author has been a marriage/family counselor for over 30 year

    The author has been a marriage/family counselor for over 30 years who addresses relationship issues from a Christian worldview. His main premise, that we all need unconditional love and that we all have a certain "love language" as part of our personality by which we most like to give and receive love. The trick is to discover your teen's primary love language and to express it as often as possible. I always wondered why my mother never gave me hugs and kisses, but lost buttons would magically appear re-sewn onto my clothing and the best portions of meat would show up on my plate (Acts of Service). I used to wonder why my father-in-law seems so materialistic, giving us lots of gifts all the time (Giving of Gifts). I used to wonder why my former boyfriend always had to hold my hand *all* the time (Physical Touch). I wonder why I feel closest to my husband after doing somethng fun on a nice date (Quality Time). You get the picture. The last of the 5 love languages is Words of Affirmation. This idea of the 5 love languages has hit the secular counseling circles and is in our best interest to learn something about it to improve our relationships.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Book

    This book has been helpful at times

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿ ISBN: 978-0-8024-7313-4 ¿ Gary Chapman¿s The 5 Love Lan

    ¿






    ISBN: 978-0-8024-7313-4

    ¿
    Gary Chapman’s The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: the Secret to Loving Teens Effectively discusses how parents can help their teenagers make a smooth transition from childhood to adulthood by speaking the correct love language to their teens. Chapman explains that teenagers need to feel connected, accepted, and nurtured. Knowing a teenager’s love language helps to keep his “love tank” filled.


    The five love languages are the same as Chapman’s previous books on love languages, but this time he focuses on how teenagers are changing and how they speak a different dialect of their language during this period of seeking independence and self identity. Each love language is explained and illustrated with examples, but the best part is that at the end of each chapter on a particular love language Chapman gives you a list of ideas on how you can implement that love language with your teen. Chapters on anger, dealing with teens when they fail, responsibility, and freedom are also helpful in providing ideas in showing your teenagers that you love them. Chapman devotes a couple of chapters to single parents and blended families and how parents in these situations can best show love to their teens.


    This book is also helpful to teachers in the classroom. Teachers are most effective when students are able to connect with them and when students feel loved. Each of the love languages discussed in Chapman’s book is easily adapted to the classroom. For example, the love language of quality time can be when a teacher takes time to listen and talk to students outside of class or takes extra time helping them with a concept. Another application for teachers is the section on rules which they can use to review what happens in their own classroom. Chapman recommends rules to be few, clear, and fair and that they should have clear and consistent consequences that are administered with love. Because teachers spend so much time with their students, The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers is a beneficial read.(reviewed by E.Myers, Upper School English & Literature Instructor)


    DISCLOSURE: Complimentary copies of Gary Chapman's "The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers: the Secret to Loving Teens Effectively" were provided by Moody Publishers for the purpose of review by faculty of ACS. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer. The faculty of Alamance Christian School will be studying various "5 Love Languages" books by Gary Chapman in in-service training.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Deyst

    Ow ow ow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    To mark

    Go to result fifteen pleas

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Rein

    They said this was open but il move)) Rein looked up then muttered "Everything in my life" then covered her face with her hands.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Gcb c

    C bcbcb,ry ereuet

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2