Customer Reviews for

Five Mile House

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Disappointing

    I was really interested in this book when i first started it but midway through it became jumbled and a little too far fetched. I had a hard time liking any of the characters. Overall not my favorite read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    Great use of intertwining past to present..

    I haven't read a novel in a while, so when I was looking, I wanted something that would keep me turning the pages. This was a great selection. It was detailed just enough to make you wonder throughout , yet didn't tell you enough to ruin the conclusion. Leslie and Eleanor were both out to get answers, but both were destined for the same fate. The ending was favorite. I loved the unique style in the last couple chapters. The author intertwined the past and present with paragraphs, and at the end of each paragraph you were anticipating what was going to happen to Eleanor, and what was going to become of Leslie. I am sure that if you enjoy a book with current day witchery, drama, mystery, and murder, then Five Mile House is a book that will do no wrong!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very good spooky mystery

    Tense police detective Leslie Stone relaxes in a comfortable marriage raising two precocious daughters. However, the homicide beat is tearing her apart, especially the killing of children. One day, Leslie snaps after another murder of a child. Leslie enters the cage where the suspect is detained and shoots him to death. Her sympathetic peers arrest her. She is acquitted based on temporary insanity, but is remitted to an institution to heal before returning home to her family. <P> Leslie¿s spouse believes a change in environment will help Leslie recover. He accepts a restoration job in the small New England town of Wellington. The home, FIVE MILE HOUSE, is the place where a century ago, Eleanor killed her seven children before jumping from the tower. Leslie quickly hears of the local legend and some time afterward that a coven battles the Wellington family. Eleanor, a ghost haunting FIVE MILE HOUSE, believes her doppelganger Leslie will prove her savior when the war openly erupts between the Wiccan and the Wellington clan. <P> Leslie and Eleanor narrate the story line until their lives converge at the surreal climax. The story line combines a mystery with a supernatural intrigue that works because the key players come across as actual individuals. The humans and even the ghost intermingle in a realistic manner with authentic motives (not that this reviewer can confirm what entails a genuine spirit). The unique tale will remind readers of The Sentinel (the movie not the comic book) while challenging the audience¿s beliefs on several planes. Karen Novak proves she is a terrific storyteller whose voice provides a fascinating cross-genre appeal. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Okay

    This book was okay, but moved kind-of slow. The very beginning was good and pretty fast-paced. Then, it slows way down after the main character moves to a small town for her husband's job.

    I could not get into the characters and the plot was too slow and spotty to hold my attention. There were some minor grammar/spelling errors that were probably due to the electronic scanning process, rather than bad writing. I just did not like this book. Maybe a different book by this author would be better. But, I cannot recommend this novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Great story.

    This book is definitly a page turner. It is a good mystery ghost story with an interesting twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2002

    Best Novel Ever!!!

    Thrilling, entertaining, and pure brillance are the first words that come to mind after reading Novak's debut hit, Five Mile House. It was one of those books you just can not put down once you start, and I was delighted every minute of it. A good pick for story-lovers of any genre, I personally can not wait until the release of Novak's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Meh.

    Typos galore and a jumbled and disorinting plot made this book an arduous read. Lot's of potential, poor execution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    When you read this book, be prepared to dive into a world that i

    When you read this book, be prepared to dive into a world that is dark and twisted. It is a page turner that keeps you reading until the very end all the while wanting to take the main character, Leslie, by the shoulders and scream some sense into her. I loved how the biblical history entwines with wicca, and other legends. It's worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    hard to put down.

    Lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1