Customer Reviews for

Five Miles South of Peculiar

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Hunt wrote a great Christian fiction novel with a small town fee

    Hunt wrote a great Christian fiction novel with a small town feel that is unique to the South. Five Miles South of Peculiar tells the story of the three Caldwell sisters who all end up living at Sycamores estate that they grew up at. Darlene is afraid of living in her Broadway star sister, Carlene’s shadow. Carlene has lost her singing voice after an operation fails and Magnolia had her heartbroken and cannot move on. Reading about the family dynamics and learning about each sister’s past was so interesting. I liked all the characters and was cheering for them from page one. Much of the story was about the sisters opening up to each other and sharing their heartache.
    Angela Hunt did a great job endearing the characters to the reader. She also did a spectacular job with detail and description. I felt as if I could see the story taking place. This novel teaches the importance of family and openness. Sisters would love this book and could relate to the situations described. I give this book five out of five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Angela Hunt is a very popular writer in the Christian fiction ge

    Angela Hunt is a very popular writer in the Christian fiction genre. Her newest novel is Five Miles South of Peculiar.
    Synopsis:
    Darlene and Magnolia have lived in the old family house for years. Darlene has raised a family and is a pillar in the community. Magnolia (Nolie) shares the house but has mostly her dogs and the aprons she makes for people in the town of Peculiar. Then there is Carlene who is Darlene’s twin but has lived away from home in New York with a fabulous career on Broadway. Carlene receives the call to come home and celebrate her and her twin’s birthday. Will it be a real celebration? Then there is a preacher who has fallen on hard times that takes a job as the handy man at Darlene and Nolie’s house. Will he survive these sisters? Will he have wisdom for them and the future?
    My Thoughts:
    I hadn’t read anything recently by Angela. I looked forward to this new novel. I understand well the conflict between sisters since I have one. I loved the way the conflict between the sisters’ is woven into the context of the story. I also loved the recipes included at the end of the novel. The characters are memorable and humorous throughout the book.
    How do you feel about your sister? Do you have a great relationship with her? What would you do to make it work? These are themes discussed in Five Miles South of Peculiar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    Angela Hunt writes beautifully and becoming embroiled in the cha

    Angela Hunt writes beautifully and becoming embroiled in the characters' lives happened before
    I noticed. The story unfolded at a pleasant pace, sort of like life in a small town.

    The plot was subtle and effective. You know revelations are just around the corner, but you're so
    caught up in each moment that surprise hits you at the same time it hits the characters. That's not
    to say there isn't a degree of predictability, but it doesn't knock you over the head.

    The characters are developed in a phenomenal fashion. I became so exasperated with one of
    them that I told her what was on my mind. Yes, I talk to characters. It's one of the side effects of
    being a writer.

    Overall, this is a lovely book and I highly recommend it to anyone who seeks out literary
    gems over categorical genres.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    fun, revealing read!

    I have read nearly all of the books this author has written and find them surprising, enjoyable, informative and fun.

    This particular book was close to my heart as I could relate to one of the characters. It was a great character study and would be an amazing book for discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    awesome book!

    This was a great novel. Ms. Hunt does a superb job of developing her characters, especially the main ones. Five Miles South of Peculiar explores in depth each character’s past, why they are the way they are, how they got to be where they currently are, present, the life that they each created for themselves, and ends with a glimpse at each woman’s future.

    This book has a nice happy ending for each woman, making this a nice light beach read. There are some heavy things in this book as well; the loss of love, family dynamics, and a different dysfunctional past for each character even though they are siblings and all grew up together. Five Miles also looks at life in a small town and what that is like for those living in it.

    There are many other characters in Five Miles that add to the story including but not limited to a Pastor who was let go from his church after a divorce and the mayor of the city. There are also many plots and sub-plots that make this novel the kind of story that you do not want to put down. Nothing gets old or boring in this book, there are no slow parts that you just want to skim over.

    There is no sex, but there is the mention of sex when one sister’s dysfunctional past comes out. This incident is not glorified in a positive way, and it is not descriptive, but it would be up to you whether you would allow your kids, maybe in upper High School to read this book, if they so desired. I would recommend this book mostly to women, especially those with sisters or at least are interested in the family dynamic that comes with having a sibling.

    I received this book as an ARC. I do not get paid to review books; I do so in order to assist you in recognizing books that you might enjoy.


    Please read more of my reviews on my blog: sarahereads(dot)wordpress(dot)com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Our relationships with our sisters are biased by our perspective

    Our relationships with our sisters are biased by our perspectives

    Five Miles South of Peculiar

    by Angela Hunt


    The Caldwell sisters are a different as can be but they are bound by one thing, the family's estate Sycamores located just south of Peculiar, Florida a town nobody has ever heard of.

    Darlene has spent her whole life at Sycamores. She raised her family and buried her husband there. Charlene left Peculiar as a teenager to embrace a singing career on Broadway. Nolie, the youngest, has always called Sycamores home and is known for her aprons.

    But each sister has a personal heartache. Darlene felt that she was an after-thought when Charlene was around and that any love she was given was what was left after first being offered to Charlene. Charlene is hiding the fact that she has had career ending throat surgery. Nolie's heart was broken by the man that she gave it to.

    When Nolie and Henry Hooper decide to throw a town wide surprise party for Darly's fiftieth birthday, they extend an invitation to Carly. When Carly accepts Nolie has hopes that her sisters will recapture the closeness they once had. But past misunderstandings keep getting in the way of their reconnecting.

    But when all three sisters finally admit the truth about the secrets they carry they are able to live their lives and move forward. Opening their hearts to each other, they open their hearts to love; the love of family and the love of friends.

    Five Miles South of Peculiar is a book for sisters. Read it together and use it as a growing experience in your relationship with your sisters.

    I found Five Miles South of Peculiar to be an enjoyable reading experience. It is an honest look at how family dynamics are shaped by our point of view and no one ever views something from the same point of reference.

    I received a copy of this title from the publisher through Glass Road Public Relations in exchange for my honest review of Five Miles South of Peculiar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Five Miles South of Peculiar by Angela Hunt is a poignant yet jo

    Five Miles South of Peculiar by Angela Hunt is a poignant yet joyful novel of a Southern family finding its way home. The Caldwells of Peculiar, Florida have always lived in their estate The Sycamores, but in 2018, exactly fifty years after the death of the family founder, all of the property will pass into the hands of the city. Despite this looming deadline, Darlene and Nolie Caldwell continue living life at The Sycamores as it's been lived for the past fifty years, without thought of social networking or computers. Nolie spends her time sewing beautiful aprons and dreams of the day when she'll meet a good man to help ease the wounds of a past love. Darlene is a force of nature within Peculiar, running most of the town's groups, while almost having a relationship with the mayor. When Darlene's twin sister Carlene returns home from a successful life on Broadway (and hiding a secret), Darlene is at first thrilled to unite with her other half, but the twins were in love with the same man, who became Darlene's husband, and that wound is still tender and deep in them both. The three women are all looking for something, but they each need to heal the pain between them before they can find it. Hunt has created another powerful novel filled with people you not only want to know, but feel like you've met. This story may not have a time-traveling serial killer or vampires falling in love with ghosts; instead it has heart and a deep understanding of people. Hunt doesn't have to use flashy storylines to create a novel that is impossible to put down. The story of the Caldwell sisters will stay with me, because of Hunt's ability to craft such fully fleshed characters. I love the author's work, and this novel will certainly gain her some new fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story about sister living in the South

    I love to read any book that is set in the South as I live in South Carolina myself. So when this book came alone I wanted to read and review it, so thanks to Glass Roads for sending me this book free for my review.

    The story starts out in Jackson County, Florida when old man Caldwell drew his last breath on July 3, 1968. Darlene was only six when her grandpa passed and she loved him and thought him to be a genuis in the things he could do. As the years passes Darlene lived and raised her family in the same house her grandpa had died in. She was right as rain being the "Queen" of the community until her twin sister returns home.

    Then her sister Carlene lost her career as a Broadway star when she could no longer sing so she returns to Sycamore where she had lived as a child. Then alone came the other sister Magnolia when she torn apart by a broken romance. Nolie the other sister had never left Sycamore and never wanted to, she just wanted to stay put and care for her dogs.

    How will these sisters ever get alone? I laughted and cried alone with them and wish I still had my sister to disagree with. I had six siters but they are all gone now and I feel so alone sometimes. I really enjoyed this book, I have read other of Angela's books but I believe this is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1