Customer Reviews for

The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Average Rating 4.5
( 1358 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(864)

4 Star

(303)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

A Gift to the Soul -- Highly Inspirational!

The "Five People You Meet in Heaven," by Mitch Albom, conveys a riveting story about a maintenance man, Eddie, who works at an amusement park known as Ruby Pier. Eddie feels trapped in a meaningless life filled with loneliness, sadness, and regret. Years go by, and, as ...
The "Five People You Meet in Heaven," by Mitch Albom, conveys a riveting story about a maintenance man, Eddie, who works at an amusement park known as Ruby Pier. Eddie feels trapped in a meaningless life filled with loneliness, sadness, and regret. Years go by, and, as the park changes, he does too. However, on his 83rd birthday he dies trying to save a little girl from an amusement ride malfunction, thus changing his mundane life forever. He finds himself in heaven, but it is not as he expected it to be. Eddie discovers that it is a place where your earthly life is explained to you through five people in heaven. Each of these five people was either a loved one or a distant stranger interconnected with Eddie, who at some point changed his life forever. One by one, Eddie's five people put his life into perspective and show him that his life was not as meaningless as he thought. Eddie finally realizes the importance of interconnection, sacrifice, forgiveness, love, and life. As the story unfolds, the book flashes back to Eddie's birthdays, giving the story purpose and readers a deep connection with Eddie and his past. As each person passes, Eddie desperately searches for the answer to his last action of redemption on earth: Did he save the little girl? I would recommend this book to anyone who is searching for a quick read with a meaningful and inspirational message about the significance of life. Once you open the book, you will have difficulty putting it down. You will find yourself wondering what is going to happen next. If you like this book, you will enjoy "Tuesdays with Morrie," also by Mitch Albom.

posted by Taylor_Murphy on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Pretty trite!

I just finished this book and can't see what all the hoopla is about. It's pretty trite and about as lightweight as 'The Bridges of Madison County'. Definitely not worth the hardcover price.......I'm thinking of taking it back for a refund. If you insist on reading i...
I just finished this book and can't see what all the hoopla is about. It's pretty trite and about as lightweight as 'The Bridges of Madison County'. Definitely not worth the hardcover price.......I'm thinking of taking it back for a refund. If you insist on reading it, borrow a copy, don't waste your money.

posted by Anonymous on January 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    It's good writing. Very interesting.

    Since I am a strong believer in Jehovah God and the Holy Scriptures, I found it to be quite a stretch to find all those people in heaven pictured as they were. Albom has quite an imagination and interesting way to express it. I was curious to read the book and Albom kept me interested enough to finish it. However, my understanding of the Scriptural heaven remains intact.
    I plan to read another of Albom's books, "Have a Little Faith" as I am curious to see how he presents this stru story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Review

    Great book and is very sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Interesting Point of View

    Albom has an interesting take on the no-man-is-an-island-theory, but, to me, the story seemed contrived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    So-so

    I read this after my partner picked it up at the library. Finished it in a couple hours. The writing is a bit simplistic, overwrought, euphemistic.... expected more i guess. Glad i didn't buy it! It did have a couple of thought provoking moments buried beneath some very simplistic writing. So-so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Not what I expected...

    It was okay, just not worth buying. Go to the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    Mawkishly Sentimental Allegory

    I was confused when I read many of the previous reviews of this book. It seems as though -- like it or not -- many readers expected a literal description of heaven. Um, hello? It's an allegory, OK? -- a story that uses fictional devices to illustrate a principle or principles, not a book about the afterlife or even about one person's perception of what it could be like. This story is supposed to teach Important Lessons (five of them, natch) about life, learned by the protagonist after his death. As pointed out by many others, this is not a long book, nor is it particularly difficult to read. Unfortunately, it is also not particularly good -- many of the lessons are of little to no practical value. Author Albom seems to have settled upon conveying some kind of new-age spiritualistic ideas about love and family, but frankly I can't remember any of them mere days after finishing the book, and I doubt anyone else can either. The book has very little impact, other than the mawkishly sentimental moments best suited to a Lifetime Channel Section of the Week. Go ahead and read this if you are inclined to such selections (and if you rely on books like this to guide your life, heaven help you), otherwise avoid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    TOO SWEET AND POORLY WRITTEN

    I THInK THIS BOOK, WHICH I HAD TO READ FOR SCHOOL, WAS SOMEWHAT TOO SWEET AND LAME IN A WAY. IT HAD SOME REALLY GOOD MOMENTS, BUT fake. I MUST SAY mitch albom IS NOT A VERY GREAT WRITER, BUT PERHAPS A GOOD STORYTELLER. I DIDNT FALL FOR THIS ONE, THE CHARACTER eddie IS SOMEWHAT TENDER AND CARING, BUT HIS LIFE LACKS IN SOME WAY, A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF CREDIBILITY IN MANY MOMENTS. THE WORST PARTS COME IN THE WAR, THE BEST PARTS ARE WHEN HE SHARES WITH HIS WIFE, AS WELL AS THE BIRTHDAYS. TERRIBLE ENDING, NORMAL BEGINNING, PERHAPS good MIDDLE. Grade: C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Bad

    I didn't like the book very much, easy to relate to, but it seems like it doesn't give a good lession.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    Overrated

    Mitch Albom is clearly a very intellectual man. His book The Five People You Meet in Heaven is a good indicator of that. However, that's all the skill he portrays in this novel. I did not hate it. I just thought his scarce quotes at the end of each segment when Eddie's life is explained are the only profound things in the novel. They belong in some quote book somewhere out there, but not in a novel. The suspense is totally lacking which, in any genre of novels, makes for a pointless read. I truly did find his quotes to be thought-provoking but the meaningless filler pages were totally unnecessary. Read it and you'll understand when you're going through the book looking for those quotes. I have heard nothing but great reviews for this book when I truly thought it was anything but amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    The Five Reasons not to Read this Book

    1. If you need a reason to justify your existence, don't waste your time looking at this albom... try doing volunteer work or something productive. 2. The text is a formula that is even more dissapointing that the protagonist's life. 3. There are many other interesting and worthwhile books screaming for your attention, i.e. Atonement. 4. There is no such thing as heaven. 5. Tuesdays with Morrie is all you need to read to see the values in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Meh.

    I expected so much more because everyone I talked to told me it was their favorite book, it was the best book, it was so interesting. The plot is diffinetly original and interesting but the author carried on the story horribly. I fell asleep while reading this book at one point. I think the movie is way better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    A simple book for simple people.

    And really, that says it all. Shallow, predictable, with cheesy guaranteed-to-make-you-cry drivel that is guaranteed to sell. If you want something meaningful to read, this is not it. Aim higher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    cliche

    I had heard so many positive things about this book and author that I probably expected too much... It is a simple and cliche story of a man who finds the meaning of every-day occurrences in life. While the book was not poorly written, it completely lacks depth and originality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Disappointed

    Truly disappointing. I'd heard so much about this book, but I found it very boring. I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    BORING

    I HAVE HEARD SO MANY WONDERFUL THINGS ABOUT THIS BOOK . HOWEVER; I WAS TRUELY DISAPPOINTED, IF YOU WANT TO READ A BOOK ABOUT AN AMUSEMENT PARK , THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    puts the sap in sappy

    Sometimes I'm completely surprised at how 'easy' people are when it comes to sentimentality. Take a book full of cliques and sprinkle, no... POUR on the fuzzy feel-good syrup and bingo... a hit. This book tries to hide these flaws by setting the story in heaven as 'creative' misdirect. It simply doesn't work. I give it 2 stars for the promising 'old man' character in the first few chapters. Unfortunately, when he dies... so does the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Tuesdays with Morrie was better..way better

    You should read this book first before Tuesdays with Morrie. coz if you don't, you won't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2004

    Bad Chicken Soup for the Soul

    After reading this book myself, I am convinced there can be only two explanations for its stellar reviews: either Mitch Albom's PR people paid someone off, or else no one actually read the book before reviewing it. I simply cannot believe that any critic of respectable reputation read this book and liked it. Beware, readers. The critics are lying. It is not uplifting or heartwarming; it's saccharine. It is not inspirational; it's preachy. Albom's characters are slaves to a contrived plot. The problem is, Albom is *trying* to be heartwarming, and he's *trying* to make us cry, and we can tell. The only thing worse than a manipulative tear-jerker is a would-be manipulative tear-jerker that can't even do its job. The result is a book that reads only slightly better than a daytime soap opera. We see the wheels of the plot grinding, and we understand where Albom is trying to take his story, but he never gets there. Please don't ignore me or write me off as a heartless cynic, because I'm not. It isn't hard to tug on my heartstrings. I cry during commercials for Walt Disney World and AT&T. Half the books on my shelf have tear stains splashed across their pages. I'm an emotional, romantic person - a sucker for a good tearjerker - and I really wanted to like this book. But I did not shed a single tear for Eddie, or any of the other poor characters trapped inside this novel, and that's because Albom never got me to care. This novel is bad chicken soup for the soul. Spare yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    DISAPPOINTING AND DEPRESSING

    I DIDN'T CARE TOO MUCH FOR THIS BOOK. IT HAS A FEW WORTHWHILE CHAPTERS, BUT THAT'S ABOUT IT. EDDIE IS A LIKEABLE CHARACTER BUT I GOT TIRED OF 'TODAY IS EDDIE'S BIRTHDAY'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Started but never finished.

    I bought this book because I thought 'Tuesdays with Morie' was so great. I have read it about 3 times and liked it move every time. But I didn't even finish 'The Five People You Meet in Heaven.' I have been reading for 55 years and have probably not finished only about 3 books that I started. This was one on them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3