Customer Reviews for

Five Quarters of the Orange

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Read on a full stomach

    Harris has done it again--pulled some extraordinary writing out of ordinary lives during WW II German occupation of France. "Boise" is just 9 years old, but wise in some ways, childish in others as she tells the story of a mother hindered by migraines which can be triggered by the smell of oranges. (The recipes tucked into the story make your stomach growl!) The child dreams of catching the monster pike that lives in the river and devices some devilish means to catch the big one! But in so doing, tragedy occurs, again! Harris' characters come alive in full color; she can craft a delicious story. This is a real page-turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    Surprisingly Wonderful

    My husband bought me this book and I kept it on the shelf until I ran out of other books to read. Shame one me....this was surprisingly wonderful. All of the characters were wonderful. I enjoy books where characters are both good and bad....just like the real world. I could empathize with all of the characters and why they did the good things and bad things. It also has a twist that makes you want more....even when it's over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2002

    Another sensual title!

    She's done it again, but this time a little darker. Readers expecting the same fairytale quality as Chocolate might be initially disappointed, but as they read on they find that Harris challenges and surprises them with a tale rich in layers and satisfaction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Beautifully written

    I would highly recommend this book. It is a sad but intriguing story and beautifully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2001

    LYRIC DESCRIPTIONS AND A MESMERIZING TALE

    While her debut novel, Chocolat (1999), was delicious and followed by the ripely seductive Blackberry Wine (2000), Joanne Harris's third offering, 'Five Quarters Of The Orange,' is bittersweet and tangy. When 65-year-old Framboise Simon returns to the small French village of her birth she is unrecognized by the townspeople who a half century earlier, during the German occupation, had branded her family as ignoble traitors. With a menu composed largely of her mother's old recipes, Framboise open a small café. These recipes have been kept in an album, the repository of many memories and thoughts. When the café becomes popular and is discovered by a food writer, Framboise's brother, Cassis, appears on the scene with his son and daughter-in-law in tow. They want the album the mother, Mirabelle, kept so they can produce a cookbook, and profit by making public secrets long hidden in the family's past. As a child Framboise had been befriended by a young Nazi, Tomas Leibniz. The confused girl had been swayed by his attention, and lavish gifts. Was it so easy to almost unknowingly become an informer? The album will eventually reveal a trove of untruths and deceptions. Ms. Harris once again dots her narrative with lyric descriptions of the French countryside as she weaves a mesmerizing tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    A little strange, but interesting

    I read this book because it is on our High School's reading list. Even though my son graduated I am interested in seeing what they recommend kids read. I picked this one because I like historical fiction.

    It is an interesting story, flipping back and forth in time from the present day to WWII France. It presents a very different view of the war from occupied France than I have read before. And yes, it is a bit strange, but interesting. The war and occupation are told through the eyes of a 9-year-old girl, which is an unusual point of view.

    This isn't one of my top 10 favorite books, but definitely made me think a bit. Good poolside or beach reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    A field of dens

    I field of fox dens surround the woods about 20

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Loved this

    *

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Dark and depressing. I read all the great reviews and so I was e

    Dark and depressing. I read all the great reviews and so I was expecting to really enjoy this book but it just didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Read a chapter or two then decide if it's worth continuing.

    My book club read it in June. It was interesting but I found the ending flat. I was unable to attend the meeting so am unsure what the others thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    a favorite among many

    Joanne Harris is one of my favorite authors and I find this book to be one of her best- most interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Beware - not a happy story

    This is the first book I have read my Joanne Harris, though like most, I saw the film, "Chocolat," which I enjoyed very much. While the plot seems interesting enough: three children being raised on a farm in Normandy by their mentally unbalance mother during the beginning of the German Occupation of France, this is a dark story. Ms. Harris writes in a kind of lyrical style, but it took my reading the first 130 pages before anything really began to happen. While I am aware this book is very popular, it really never took off for me. There were no happy endings, really. The characters were pretty depressing and I am sorry to admit it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Interesting tale

    Interesting tale, enjoyed the characters. Showed a good insight into life during World War Two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Good read

    Enjoyed the book. It was a tragic story in many ways. How the yound "Boise" treated her Mother was unnerving. Harris made the characters so real. It made you think how hard it was to be a child during the German occupation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    odd but engrossing

    Good read. Sometimes hard to root for the main character but I love the setting of the French countryside and small village. The author makes it come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    A great read

    Joanne Harris never dissapoints and this complex, and admittedly sometimes slow novel, delivers with a twist at the end. I really enjoyed it as I did Gentlemen and Players.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2008

    Not outstanding

    The writing was beautifully lyrical, however the story itself was rather unsettling primarily because of Boise's (a 9 year-old's) unprovoked actions toward her sick mother. In addition, some of the other subject matter was a little too raw and seemed to lack emotional balance. Not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    I hated there was a final page...

    This is, to date, my all time favorite fiction. I have fallen for so many other great reads in the in between, but this fiction breaks my heart each time. Rich story telling, tragic characters, a hidden secret whispered amongst the village, a bit of madness, and all backdropped against a rural french community that has wounds it can not speak of with complete honesty. Harris masters her storytelling with this book unlike any other. I was locked in after the first page (just read the first page) and was so disappointed the story had to come to an end. Although it did, I felt I too carried the the memories the character carried and understood the secrets they couldn't tell as if they were my own. Wonderful, warm, dark and a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    Disappointed

    I am not really sure what went wrong with this book. Seemingly, it was all there. The plot was strong (French children caught up in trading information to Germans during the occupation of WWII). The characters were sort of interesting. There is Boise who has a childish fixation on one of the officers, a mean, hard mother with migraines who is addicted to morphine, and Paul who is a neighbor boy who stammers. (He is the one redeeming character in the book who I actually felt a connection with) The point of view was nicely contrasted from child to adult...but something went wrong. It failed to hold my attention when it should have. Throughout the book, Boise tries to catch a pike that supposedly causes bad luck. When she finally catches it, it is indeed the worst luck. (Predictable and contrived.)I did not really care about the future of the characters, nothing held me like it should have. Frankly,it was hollow. I was glad it was over so I could move on to something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    sensual and intriguing

    I liked this book. I loved 'Chocolat' and I am looking forward to reading Blackberry wine. Harris writes differently, the vein of culinary sensory magic gets ones tastebuds invloved in the process of reading and devouring the words....its a refreshing change

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4