Customer Reviews for

Five Years to Freedom: The Story of a Vietnam POW

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    Great Book

    There isn't much to say that the other reviews haven't already said. This is a powerful and deeply touching book about the author's experience as a P.O.W. It is unlike anything else I have ever read or seen, I have never looked at movies thinking they were capturing the actual conditions, but to hear this story of 5 years of imprisonment from the source is amazing.

    The best way I can describe it, is it puts you 'in the driver's seat' and connects the reader with information many of us war/Vietnam buffs already knew but can never truly understand if we weren't there. This is a very intimate and touching book that captured me and no doubt many others. I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Excellent Read

    An excellent book by the father of modern military survival techniques. This will touch you by the time you are halfway through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    An excellent read about the reality of Vietnam POWs.

    I first read this book soon after it was published -- not so many years after Rowe regained his freedom. Those of us who lived through the Vietnam era may view his story through different eyes than Gulf War or current war contemporaries. That will not change the profound affect that this book will have on anyone who reads it.

    We've heard the stories and seen the movies. Most recently, "Rescue Dawn" was billed as brutally graphic; it hinted at what Rowe lived through, but still compares as a walk in the park. If you want a better understanding of the horrors of the Vietnam "conflict" that many individual soldiers went through, why so many of them suffer from flashbacks and PTSD, why they all came back changed men and women, read this book. It is a testament to the courage and strength of America's soldiers. James N Rowe defines the word "hero."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Five Stars for James N. Rowe

    This book is outstanding in every way. The truth presented here is undeniable. I could not put it down. It should be required reading for the 'America is wrong all the time' crowd. It is especialy relevent today with so many (in our own country even) accusing America of torture and mistreatment. After reading this, I never want to hear that insane accusation again.I coul not help but notice that the propaganda used by the Vietcong to try and brainwash POWs is almost word for word the same as the arguments used by the 'America Haters' in this country. Go figure. Read this and wake up America.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2006

    Breathtaking and chilling grips of reality

    An outstanding book that places the reader right beside, James Rowe, every step of the way. You feel every ache, itch, pain, torment and desire for freedom that he lived thru! Incredible, absolutely incredible, I couldn't stop trembling as he was lifted to freedom! Should be recommended as a reading requirement for History class! What a HERO!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Fabulous

    A great read emotional bravo
    AND WELCOME HOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    five years to freedom

    Lost lots of sleep reading this great book because i could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    One of the best books I've ever read, recommended by the cadre o

    One of the best books I've ever read, recommended by the cadre of the Special Forces Survival Evasion Resistance and Escape school, founded by the author based off his experience. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Really enjoyed the book. Nick was a remarkable, strong man. Resi

    Really enjoyed the book. Nick was a remarkable, strong man. Residing within the military myself, this man is a true hero and role model that every soldier should aspire to be. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Great Book

    First book I have read about Vietnam. Excellent book that educated me on the political philiosophys of the Vietnam communists and how they subjicated their countrymens' desire for individulaism, family, and nation. Forcing them to accept communist theory or die. Also an excellent portriat of what being a POW of the war was like. Nick Rowe's strength, desire for fredom, fight against communism brain washing is inspiring. I saw the Vietnam War in a totally new way. Now I'm hungry for more knowledge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Great PowerFul Book

    This is a very powerful book that everyone shod read. you should get the anti war protseters to read this to show that this is why we fight and this is what really happend to thousands who died in war crimes. this is the most powerful book I have Ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Amazing and inspirational!

    This book was by far the most inspirational and moving story i've ever heard. What Rowe went through is amazingly moving, the best book i've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Best book written by a real man and survivor

    Couldnt put it down. Great example of the power of mind over matter and the will to survive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2002

    this book changed the way i look at the treatment of p.o.w.

    this book is a must read i swear it.anyone who reads this will change there veiws on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2002

    the bravest man known

    i took the chance on reading this and im glad i did,cause once i started i couldnt put it down.i can't imagin the stuff he went through and reading this book i just was shocked at all the torture POWs went through this book should be a must for anyone who is in the service like i they will feel so honored to be fighting for what they believe in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2