Customer Reviews for

Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook: Feasting with Your Slow Cooker

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Finally! Simple Ingredients I have on Hand!

If I wanted to spend alot of time preparing sauces and pre-cooking ingredients, I wouldn't be unto Crockery cooking. THANK YOU for giving me recipes with simple ingredients like canned creamed soups that when added to the right main ingredients and perked up with the s...
If I wanted to spend alot of time preparing sauces and pre-cooking ingredients, I wouldn't be unto Crockery cooking. THANK YOU for giving me recipes with simple ingredients like canned creamed soups that when added to the right main ingredients and perked up with the simple herbs and spices that I keep on hand, make a delicious meal. I can put together a meal in 5 minutes on my way out the door!

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

AWFUL UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET SICK OR FAT

I bought this book after reading some online reviews and have never been so disappointed in a cookbook. Just about every recipe includes high-sodium, high-fat, junky canned and/or processed food ingredients such as cream of mushroom soup. I simply don't eat that way and...
I bought this book after reading some online reviews and have never been so disappointed in a cookbook. Just about every recipe includes high-sodium, high-fat, junky canned and/or processed food ingredients such as cream of mushroom soup. I simply don't eat that way and wasn't about to start just so that I could use my new slow-cooker. In all fairness, many crockpot cookbooks use these ingredients, I've learned, but this one doesn't even seem to have been put together by an expert. It appears to be a compilation of solicited reader submissions and reminds me very much of a community potluck fundraising cookbook. For instance, there are several recipes titled 'pot roast,' each submitted by a different person and no pictures, not that pictures would have changed my opinion of this book. When I purchase a cookbook, I'm trusting the author to have created or at least tried the recipes in the book and to present the best one. Not the case here. I went in person to my local B&N, returned the book and and sat there with a pile of cookbooks, reading through each to determine which one to buy. By the way, 'Fix it and foget it lightly' wasn't any better. My selection was 'Not your mother's slow cooker cookbook,' which presents recipes using only healthy ingredients that I would actually eat.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Finally! Simple Ingredients I have on Hand!

    If I wanted to spend alot of time preparing sauces and pre-cooking ingredients, I wouldn't be unto Crockery cooking. THANK YOU for giving me recipes with simple ingredients like canned creamed soups that when added to the right main ingredients and perked up with the simple herbs and spices that I keep on hand, make a delicious meal. I can put together a meal in 5 minutes on my way out the door!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Fix it and Forget it

    This is the most used of all my cookbooks. My husband works crazy hours. I never know when he will be home. So I turned to my new crock pot. It is the most used item in my kitchen. The little cookbook that came with it did nothing for me. So I started looking for a cookbook with lots of different and easy meals . I happened to see this one and liked what I read. So I purchased it. Well the first meal I fixed my husband loved. Our favorite once a month meal is the Easy Turkey breast. It turns out so moist.

    The next is Buffalo Chicken chili. I tweeked up one of the chili meals. Everyone loves it. The lamb chops turn out wonderful also. I give this book to many people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Great Slow Cooker Ideas!

    This is without a doubt my "Go-To" book for slow cooker ideas. There is a recipe for everything and with several variations of some recipes, you can create your own slow cooker meal if you like. I like the fact that the recipes are from real cooks around the country, so you know they've been "tested in the trenches" and they'll work. I have used this book to make food for parties, potlucks, company, and even everyday dinners. I have even given this book as a gift to other busy folks who need some slow cooker inspiration. They have loved it too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    Versatile!

    While the duplication of types of recipes might be bothersome, I found it great because frequently I don't have all the ingredients on hand on a particular day for one recipe. Then I can try a different way to prepare the same food with ingredients I do have at the time! My son said "Thank you for the great supper!" after I prepared my first recipe from the book. Sold!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Just love this cookbook.

    My husband bought the book to ge some different slow cooking ideas. We then bought it for our son away at college and I just sent one to my parents. Great for people on the go so many fix an forget meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    One of my favorites

    I received this book as a wedding present years ago and love it so much that it is one of my go-to wedding gifts now. Its layout isn't the best, but the recipes and tips are wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    LOOOOVE IT!!!!!

    My favorite recipe so far has been the Bread Pudding recipe on page 237. I have a 5-quart crockpot so I have to double the recipe. It turned out perfect and smelled awesome! A girlfriend at work borrowed both this one as well as 'Fix-It and Forget-It Recipes for Entertaining'. She loved them so much she bought them both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    I love this book!

    This book is great for people who are too tired to put together a big meal when they get home from work. Quick to throw together in the morning, they taste GREAT when you get home! My whole family has loved each and every recipe we've tried so far. I bought my daughter her own copy and my best friend has purchased it, too, after trying mine. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    I love the chicken recipes

    I hunted high and low for a slow cooker cook book with quick recipes for a working mommy. So many of them had recipes too involved to do on a hectic morning while I'm getting myself and my daughter out the door. And I was desperate to find good chicken recipes. This was the answer to my prayers. Now I am always trying a new recipe and during the day I know I can look forward to a hot home cooked meal when I get home!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Couldn't be easier

    Hundreds of fixable recipes to suit every skill level of cooking. I dare you not to find recipes that will become instant classics with your family..and the house smells so good when you get home after a long day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    The Best Cookbook I have

    I have over 500 cookbooks and this is the best one of all. I love the quick recipes and the desserts. I made the Cherry Delight and brought it to work. Everyone wanted a copy of the cookbook. I have now picked up 22 copies for friends and to give as gifts. When my son came home from college he looked at it and wanted a copy because he loves crockpot cooking. I highly recommend it to anyone who is busy but still wants to make yummy dinners for their family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Excellent Value - Great Recipes

    My gift crockpot sat idle for a year after my wedding, but since I got this book, I cook with it once a week! I like the variations on recipes, the number of recipes per page are numerous (good value) and the meals I've made have all been winners. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2001

    What a time and money saver!

    Wow! What a God-send. This cookbook has been perfect for my ultra busy life-style. It has saved me tons of money as I often was just too tired to cook and ended up taking the family out to dinner many evenings. Am planning to give this gift of time and money savings to all my busy friends this Christmas season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2001

    The Best of What's Out There

    Very helpful and insightful. I had no idea slow-cookers were so versatile. This IS the intelligent holiday cookbook alternative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2001

    The Best Slow Cooker Cookbook yet!

    I love this cookbook! So many recipes! The recipes I've tried so far are fast, easy & delicious. The format is easy to read and I like that these are tried and true favorites from slow cooker users. I have lots of slow cooker cookbooks and this is my favorite. I'm ordering another one for my daughter. Don't pass this up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbook Helps Hurried Homemaker!

    As a busy wife and homeschooling mom of 4 kids, I rely a lot on my crock-pot! Fix-It and Forget-It has been a wonderful answer to the dinner dilemma that often plagues me during the week. The recipes are easy to understand, simple to put together and delicious. There are even dishes fancy enough for company! This is a definite helper for anyone with a crock-pot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2001

    Perfect gift!

    Recipes galore! Something for everyone! I love this cookbook and give it as a gift often. I included this cookbook with a crockpot as a recent wedding gift. This is one way to keep the newlyweds out of the kitchen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1